Bemidji - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Cindy's Coleslaw

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Fast and easy and just the right balance of flavors. Add a little garlic powder for an extra layer of goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karla Decker Sorby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gwinner, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Potato Chip Cookies II

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I work the overnight shift at an assisted living home....I absolutely cannot keep these cookies in stock! When I'm off for 7 days every two weeks, I get phone calls asking when I'm coming back (not that they miss me...more, that they miss these cookies!!!) Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri Rodney Mundhenke
Home Town: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Buffalo, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FROGHOPPER

Homemade Hamburger Buns

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
These turned out so good! I got 13 regular sized buns that I used for pulled pork sandwiches. I cute the initial rise to 1 hour (doubled in size in 1 hour) and let the buns rise for 45 minutes. I made these changes based on my first batch, I got 8 GIGANTIC buns. They tasted just fine and are now be sliced and used like slices from a loaf of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FROGHOPPER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA

Pickled Onions

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I agree with "Lucky Noodles", there is too much sugar and not enough salt in these. I used her idea (1/2 tsp. salt and 4 Tbsp. sugar). I do like a little of the red wine vinegar in them, but as Tamaralynn stated, they actually taste a better with some apple cider vinegar in the brine. With these adaptations, these are fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karla Decker Sorby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gwinner, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Gingerbread

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Made this for Christmas morning brunch - everyone loved it! I added a 1/2 tsp. extra cinnamon cuz I like cinnamon, but very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muffin5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream Cheese Penguins

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
My daughter-in-law made these for the holidays - she positioned them on a cream cheese covered tray in a semi-circle and had them all "staring" at a raw shrimp! It was pretty cute!! I thought they tasted yummy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muffin5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ninety Minute Cinnamon Rolls

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I was totally out of my element making these...first time in my 45 years making Cinnamon Rolls. They were a hit and a half! Many thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri Rodney Mundhenke
Home Town: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Buffalo, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bacon Broccoli Salad with Raisins and Sunflower Seeds

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Perfect, simple and classic. I am a CNA for an Assisted Living Home and cook a lot on the overnight shift. This salad was requested and this recipe was touted by all of the tenants! Many many thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri Rodney Mundhenke
Home Town: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Buffalo, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Favorite Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Absolutely a life saver! I work the overnight shift at an Assisted Living community, and part of our job is to bake cookies every night for our tenants. All from scratch - All the time. There are many many PB recipies out there...but this one - bless your heart - won over all the other night shift workers' recipies - hands down (and that came straight from our elderly residents, who, I might add, can be VERY unforgiving if we mess up their baked treats :) I doubled the recipe - came out PERFECT. Many many thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri Rodney Mundhenke
Home Town: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Buffalo, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amish White Bread

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I am a retired police officer - and although I am a female - I am NOT even close to the very worse baker in the world (I am so much more below that title :) I came home to live and help my aging mother who loves homemade bread. I was less-than-eager to attempt it. Thank you Peg for this remarkably easy and YUMMY recipe! I started it last week and have since made 6 loaves. I'll be baking more over this cold snap of Northern Minnesota (at a whopping 50 below zero) - and the smell of your Amish White Bread makes our cabin fever a lot more bearable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri Rodney Mundhenke
Home Town: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Buffalo, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CraigJamesMyran

Easy Garlic Broiled Chicken

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Best homemade chicken ever...if it didn't taste right for you...my guess is you did it wrong...this is so simple, it's downright scary...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CraigJamesMyran

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Herb Roasted Pork

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
This had great flavor. I did double the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FROGHOPPER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
These were so easy to make and they melt in your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FROGHOPPER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA

Baked Spaghetti Squash Lasagna Style

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
This was very tasty. I liked the little bit of crunch from the spaghetti squash. I used fresh tomatoes from the garden instead of canned - otherwise made it following the recipe. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muffin5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
I've never made bread before and this recipe is great! Never buying bread again! The whole family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyra.M.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Perfect Turkey

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Use this for thanksgiving, christmas, or just whenever! I love this recipe! I hosted my first thanksgiving last year and this was the test recipe, super tender and juicy, zero complaints and many compliments. :D Highly reccommend to anyone, especially those like me who aren't as confident in the kitchen area.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyra.M.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cherry-Blueberry Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
This was delicious, just the right amount of sweet and tangy! Followed recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muffin5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Burger Ever

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
These turned out pretty dry. Had to cop them up for the kids and serve it to them like meatloaf otherwise they wouldn't eat them. They were also surprisingly bland. If I make these again I will cut down on the oats and add pickle relish like another reviewer stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FROGHOPPER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Photo by FROGHOPPER

Classic Waffles

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
I followed the recipe but took one reviewer's advice and made it in my blender. It was really easy to make and they tasted really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FROGHOPPER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Loved it! I used chicken broth instead of the beer. It made a ton, but froze really well. When i reheated it i poured it over some rice and it was delicious! It was like a gumbo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littlefork, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States