Apple Valley, Minnesota - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Mouth-Watering Stuffed Mushrooms

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Not bad. Just the right amount of "bite" in the cream cheese mix. The only problem I had was I had way too much filling, and I thought I followed the recipe exactly. Might make these again if the occasion presents itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rsmartcook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA

Banana Banana Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
FANTASTIC! This is my go-to banana bread recipe from now on. I did need to bake it a bit longer, but it was just the right texture and moistness inside, with the perfect crust. We let it cool on the deck in below-zero temperatures ... couldn't wait to eat it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rsmartcook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Very good vegetarian meal! I used frozen mixed veggies and thawed them in a pot on the stove before draining them and mixing with a can of cream of potato and the milk. I baked the bottom crust for 5 minutes before adding the filling and I'm really glad I did, it was the perfect consistency. I skipped the egg glaze and added several other spices. Next time I'll go a little easy on the spices, but that's my own fault. Definitely making again, and looking forward to my leftovers tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rsmartcook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA

Buttery Corn Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I have always made the recipe on the back of the corn meal box, but not this time. This corn bread recipe is superb. It is almost cake like, soft, moist and tender. I have saved this and will making this for years to come!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa.507

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kilkenny, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southwest White Chicken Chili

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Very easy to prepare and the dish is pretty good! My hubby and I prefer more heat, so I added chipolte seasoning and crushed red pepper. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Coconut Macaroons III

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I used to make the recipe on the back of the coconut package. Not anymore!!! These are grrreat! I took some semi-sweet chocolate chips melted them down and added a little vanilla and some sea salt to the top off these yummy cookies. Next year for x-mas I will be making a double batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa.507

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kilkenny, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crescent-Wrapped Brie

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I made this over Christmas for my family as one of our appetizers. Super simple and really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa.507

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kilkenny, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southwest White Chicken Chili

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This tasted amazing! However, it left a few things to be desired. There was too much chicken in ratio to everything else. There wasn't enough condensed soup (which I'm guessing was supposed to thicken and flavor it) and I had to add more water than called for just to have a soup rather than some liquid in the bottom of the pan. I only used one can of beans but I could definitely have used two cans. I also simmered the soup for about 15 minutes to make sure the chicken was cooked completely through and to mingle the flavors. Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rsmartcook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA

Shortbread Squares

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
These tasted very buttery and slightly sweet, but were very chalky in texture. I even reduced the flour by a cup after reading the reviews and they still turned out like chalk in my mouth. Very hard to swallow. I may make these again, if I modify the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rsmartcook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA

Best Black Beans

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This was great! I love black beans, and this was a fantastic way to prepare them. I modified the recipe slightly: instead of using the juice from the can, I drained it and used water instead. I also added one chopped tomatillo, a tablespoon of butter, and a 1/4 tsp of cumin. I used it as a filling in tortillas with lime juice, salsa, and a little cheese. Definitely making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rsmartcook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Regular Cinderella

Sopapilla Cheesecake

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I made this for our Mexican themed movie night and everyone really enjoyed it! I only melted two tablespoons of butter and used MAYBE one one of them. (I used a silicone basting brush.) I had to bake this for closer to 45 minutes. When I pulled it out at 30, it was still really doughy. Delicious, though and even the leftovers were a big hit! I'll definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Regular Cinderella

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream Puffs

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
These are very yummy, but only put 2 or 3 eggs in. 4 eggs is way to eggy! I have made them with chocolate pudding too and drizzled choc. sauce on top. Just make sure to poke them when they come out of the oven (20 mins) so they don't fall. Super easy and really fast to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kazigger

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Style Meatloaf I

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I am very picky about meatloaf, and I usually end up going back to my same boring recipe...until now. This was the best meatloaf I have made, and it was enjoyed by my entire family. I will definitely be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mama's Asian Chicken and Rice

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I have been looking for a great orange chicken recipe and my search is over. Thise dish is super amazing. I took the advise of others and doubled the sauce recipe but kept the red pepper flake at a 1/2 teaspoon and for the cornstarch slurry I used 3 teaspoon cornstarch and 3 tablespoons water,came out perfect. Also since clemintines are in season I used them since that is what I had on hand.Super delish will be making again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa.507

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kilkenny, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jenny's Grilled Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Great Flavor and Easy to make!! My friend who never likes chicken (cuz its to blah for him) had 2 chicken breasts!! This is also very healthy, so perfect for losing those holiday pounds! I would highly recommend making this recipe...Oh..marinate for about a half hour to an hour (depending on how much flavor you want) and poke the chicken breasts so the marinade can soak in..Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kazigger

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Award Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
These were good, but not 5 star worthy. I have had better Choc. Chip Cookies than these. You have to like more of a cake like cookie (flour tasting) to like these. I actually liked the cookie dough more than the cookie itself once it was baked. Everyone at my work agreed that they weren't Perfect..fine...but not special..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kazigger

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gnocchi I

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
These were amazing!!! I took the advise of others on this site and boiled the potatoes whole, let cool, and peeled. I used my food mill to rice the potatoes. To a pound of potatoes I needed 1 and 1/2 cups of flour. I got up and ate the leftovers in the middle of the night. Thanks for the simple recipe can't wait to mix and match sauces for these little bites of heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa.507

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kilkenny, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

No Bake Chocolate Oat Bars

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
VERY YUMMY!! if you like Chocolate and Peanut butter you will like these!! I only used 1/2 cup of butter and they turned out great. I also made a little more choc. PB sauce and drizzled it over the top....oh and it only took me 15 minutes to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kazigger

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brown Sugar and Pineapple Glazed Ham

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This is my all time favorite. When the ham is done I use the juices and ham drippings with a bit of yellow mustard, flour and water to make "Ham Gravy" to pour over the meat and mash potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA

Sugar Cookie Frosting

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and ended up with a bunch of sugar left over. With the addition of more milk, it took on a frosting consistency; however, the vanilla extract seemed pretty strong tasting. It was okay, but I'm not sure if I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rsmartcook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States