Minnesota - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Kristieg

Autumn Spiced Butternut Squash Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Even my kids loved these! I replaced the shortening with 1/3 c. applesauce and 1/3 c. canola oil. This recipe made 24 nice muffins so I did the first dozen without nuts and the second with 1/3 c. chopped walnuts. They took 30 minutes in the oven at the same temperature. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristieg
Home Town: Rush City, Minnesota, USA
Living In: St. Peter, Minnesota, USA

Grilled Shrimp and Apple Skewers

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
yup yup yup.....this is a keeper....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I am just baking my bread as we speak. I have to agree with another review that says make it as stated in the recipe the first time. This is the only way to give a recipe a fair grade. Then if you decide to add and subtract ingredients and it is better or is a flop you know why. I just looked in my oven and mine is not quite done but it has risen good and I can not wait to try it. Happy baking I love the way my loaves look. I made these loaves as stated
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandie Barnett

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pillager, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND

Balsamic Pear, Chicken, and Asparagus

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Solid recipe. I went light on the chicken (meat is just getting so expensive!) and heavy on the ginger. I did not brown my chicken first and had no issues. I had no apple juice, subbing 'white cooking wine' seemed to work well. All in all a tasty meal for fall when I used green beans instead of asparagus as recommended! I loved the rosemary and might try some fresh next time, added closer to the end. I cooked mine for about 4.5 hours, any more and I think it would have been overdone. The dish was sweeter than I expected but nummy, thanks for sharing this unique recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Quick and Savory Tuna Burgers

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I thought this was a great basic recipe. I changed it up by using chopped fresh green onions, rosemary, and oregano, and Old Bay seasoning and dusted them with bread crumbs before frying. I also drizzled creamy Sriracha ( mix with a little mayo ) over the top before I served it. Will make them again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauralucy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND

Suki's Spinach and Feta Pasta

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Easy and delicious! Got DBF to go for seconds too. Don't change a thing...Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by ccks4ever2000

Macaroni and Cheese Southern Style

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Made it tonight for our hunting camp guys! It's is delicious! Very hearty. No changes to the actual recipe are needed in my opinion, unless maybe you're trying to cut fat content...but I suggest giving into the indulgence the way it is-just don't live on it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ccks4ever2000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Townsend, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Swiss Chard

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
This is a solid recipe that's been around for years. I add the vinegar at the table because my DH prefers it without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Nisswa, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Genae

Cheesy Chicken and Salsa Skillet

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Tasty, simple & easy! Few changes: added garlic & onion to chicken; added leftover homemade salsa, fresh cilantro, fresh squeezed lime, black beans and sour cream to the sauce. Super filling and not too bad for ya either! Served over jasmine rice (pic added) because we're really not a pasta family) but next time will definitely make with the pasta! Great find! Even the teens wolfed it down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Genae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet and Sour Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I really liked how light it was. The pork turned out so tender! Not like the dried up chewy pork from take-out. I will make this again. I did stray from the recipe and added bell pepper, carrot, and onion with the pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Faribault, Minnesota, USA

Easy Creamy Chicken Enchiladas

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
This was my first attempt at making enchiladas and they were great! Super easy to make and they were a hit! I will definitely make these again. I am also guessing that you could make these ahead and freeze for a future meal. I am actually excited to eat my leftovers at work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rice Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I sprinkled my 2.5-lb. pork sirloin roast with salt, pepper and chipotle powder about an hour before cooking. I didn't have broth so I used scotch ale instead. After shredding, I turned it back on high and took off the lid and it thickened up nicely. I also loved the toasted bun idea. Overall, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ande2994

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven Fresh Seasoned Potato Wedges

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Used four small red potatoes, rinsed the cut wedges and patted them dry before seasoning. Placed them on the baking sheet skin down and they cooked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ande2994

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Raspberry Oatmeal Bars

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
I like the overall concept and the simplicity of the recipe although I will not make it again as written because I didn't care for the yellow cake mix flavor. If I make it again I will use a lemon cake mix and perhaps add a bit more moisture or an egg to the crumbs for the base crust portion. I also think that less sugar in the fruit mixture would taste better as there is plenty of sweetness in the cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Faribault, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Oat Muffins

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Great recipe. I baked it in large muffin tins (6/tray) at 375 degrees for 20 min and they came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kopcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

Roasted Brussels Sprouts

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Like other reviewers, I too baked these at 425 degrees for only 15 minutes and they turned out wonderfully! I kept the oil and seasoning the same and just rolled the sprouts around on a bowl with them before pouring them out onto a baking sheet. To ensure even cooking, I took the "lazy approach" and just baked them for 7-1/2 min on the middle rack and then switched them to the bottom rack for the other 7-1/2 min. Terrific taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND

Bird's Nest Breakfast Cups

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
These were very tasty, and cute...execution did not work out so well for me though :( I only have one muffin pan, so I figured I'd do half a recipe worth of nests, pull them out and put aside, then bake the rest...but I couldn't get them out. So, I left the first half in the tin until the next morning and went ahead with the rest of the recipe. Slightly easier to get out with the egg making the cups a more solid mass to get a spoon under...the potatoes did not crisp up like I'd hoped, except the top edge. I did cut the salt in half per other reviews, and I used Canadian bacon (my favorite breakfast meat!). Worrying about the cups sticking, I used 3 T oil in the potato mixture, and used a pastry brush and veggie oil to thoroughly grease my muffin cups. Having some trouble getting my muffin pan clean now, so I am tempted to take the rest of the potato mixture and slap it in a pie plate...thanks for the idea but this just didn't work for me! Update: used the rest of the ingredients to make an 'eagle's nest' in my Pyrex pie plate and it worked much better :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by ONIOND

Grilled Onions and Potatoes

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Recipe Group: Perfect potatoes on the grill! And everyone ate their entire packet; that is a success. Red potatoes were on sale, so that's what I used; no other changes except I don't use cooking spray, so brushed olive oil on the foil instead. Nummy I need to make these again soon! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
My husband and I loved this! I didn't have a lemon so used a lime instead and it worked wonderfully. I followed other suggestions and put a little chicken stock in the bottom of the pan at the beginning with the garlic and doubled the ingredients for making the sauce. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyndy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Chicken and Zucchini

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Great dish! I used gluten free baking mix instead of flour. Worked fine,crispy and looked like family is used to. I will make this again for sure!!! Fun to use so many fresh garden goodies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brook Park, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States