Minnesota - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Ground Turkey Casserole

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I made some modifications,such as putting about 1 cup of chicken broth before adding noodles to baking dish so that the casserole wont dry up during baking process,diced onions and minced garlic in the ground turkey while cooking and instead of just plain tomato sauce I made it with spaghetti sauce,the cheese blend I did use light sour cream and Neufchatel cream cheese,but,followed the instructions,all in all it tasted very good, my husband enjoyed it,so,yes I would make this again,thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Barnesville, Minnesota, USA

Roasted Parmesan Rosemary Potatoes

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Delicious and easy. Two of my teenage boys really liked this recipe, one of whom is a picky eater. A nice side dish for grilled steak, burgers and brats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie S

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Andover, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mama's Asian Chicken and Rice

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Fabulous. Simple and tasty. Very much like chinese take out. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dglvr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Sloppy Joes

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I have made this recipe twice, once with the green peppers and once without. It's better with the peppers. They cook very nicely with ground beef, so you don't get an overpowering pepper taste. I add the salt and pepper to the ground beef while it's cooking to enhance the flavor of the meat. Some reviewers said it tasted too ketchupy. The longer you let it simmer, the more the ketchup will cook. I added about 20 minutes cooking time. I think it will be a good base recipe to customize, but I do like it just the way it is, and so do my teenage boys, one of whom is a very picky eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie S

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Andover, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND

Poulet a la Grecque

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Sooo delicious. Came together very quickly also. I did not have shallots, but did use more garlic. Also instead of two cups white wine, I used one cup of white cooking wine and one of homemade turkey broth. I did not cover while simmering, my sauce was still soupy a bit, but delicious. Loved the raisins, will make this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by ONIOND

Classic Greek Spinach

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
This is a wonderful blend of flavors! It does NOT fit in a medium saucepan, however... I did cut the oil in half. The only other change I made was to use instant brown rice, because I was in a hurry. Turned out a bit soupy, so I wonder if next time I could skip the last cup of water...otherwise this recipe turned out great! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Broccoli Chicken Divan

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I used cream of chicken soup and added a teaspoon of curry powder. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Gibson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by ONIOND

Picnic Marinated Summer Slaw

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
RECIPE GROUP: This was very good, especially when you throw in 'ease of use'...I made half recipe, and couldn't find shredded cabbage so chopped my own. Dressing was sweet and soooo tasty. Used a whole Roma tomato for the half recipe. Yum. Marinated two hours before supper, I look forward to further marinated goodness at lunch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by ONIOND

Whiskey Hamburgers

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Loved it! Used Guinness and Jack...what else is there? For those of you scaling the recipe to 4, that's 2 T of whiskey. Great with spinach and BBQ sauce on top....or just by itself....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Erin

Tortellini Bacon Broccoli Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I knew I was going to love this recipe from the moment I first saw it and now, after making it today, I am not disappointed. I followed the recipe EXACTLY, which I almost never do, and wouldn't change a thing. I've already eaten 2 bowls of this and I only made it not even an hour ago! So I can't imagine how much better it's going to taste once it's had a chance for the flavors to mix a little more in the fridge overnight! This one is definitely going into my recipe box. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA

Johnny's Spice Rub

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
SO GOOD! I used smoked paprika and it added a little bit of oomph. We rubbed this on ribs and they were the best I'd ever tasted. I've been looking for a long time for a good dry rub recipe...and this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Wilson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thief River Falls, Minnesota, USA

Manhattan Filet with Pan Sauce Bordelaise

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Wow! Just wow! This is the best steak I've ever had - and I cooked it. I actually made this for a family meal, and boy-o-boy did the family feel special. Drying the stead prior to cooking did help in creating a beautiful crust. The only thing I did wrong, was I did not use a low-sodium stock, so the bordelais was a bit too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
If I could give this 100 stars, I would! This review is mostly for the sauce: This is hands down the best, easy spaghetti sauce I've ever made. It's better than anything from a jar - and just as easy to use. The batch is enormous - so you can make it and freeze half, and have it on hand for those emergency dinners when you don't know what else to make. The first several times I made it, I followed the recipe exactly. I now triple the onion, double the garlic and basil, and add an equal part of oregano to the basil. Delicious and oh-so-flavorful. The meatballs are delicious and tender but no any better than any others that I've had. I do like that you cook them in the sauce, and it does add another flavor dimension to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Mushroom Chicken Barley Risotto

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
This dish is a hearty, filling dish that is easy to make vegetarian. The barley is an interesting substitution for rice that lends this towards a winter meal. I followed the directions exactly, and it turns out creamy, with just the right amount of chew. I'd recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Photo by ONIOND

Orzo with Caramelized Mushrooms and Wilted Spinach

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Fabulous. Thanks so much for this super easy but impressive little dish. Next time I'll add the extra garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Chicken Pot Pie IX

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
So much better than the frozen ones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

Easy Tomato Cucumber Black Bean Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
This salad is soooo delicious. I love, love, love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybug49

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Waynesville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marinated Rib-Eyes

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
It was okay. I would almost prefer a plain old steak with just salt and pepper then this though. The Worcestershire sauce was all I could taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

Erin's Cheesy Broccoli Soup

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I had some fresh broccoli that was slightly yellowing and so I searched for the right soup recipe and found this one. It's GREAT! Only giving it 4 stars because I too made some slight modifications. First, I used half the amount of Cream Cheese (4 oz) and doubled the Cheddar Cheese (2 c) and used butter instead of margarine. Also, Step #2 should almost be Step #1 as the Cream Cheese takes a bit to melt down. I love another reviewer's suggestion to add White Pepper, I used Black Pepper because I was out of White and I also sprinkled in just a pinch of Garlic Powder. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachelle Ruhland Wirtzfeld
Home Town: Eden Valley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dorothy Lynch® Style Salad Dressing

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
This does taste like "Dorothy Lynch" dressing. Great on taco salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay Childs

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States