Minnesota - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by ONIOND

Pierogi Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Nice comforting dinner. Though it's strange for me to say this, I think it needs a little more cheese and possibly more bacon as well...I made a half recipe in my 8 inch square pan, using whole wheat lasagna noodles. Next time I will 'salt and pepper to taste' the potato layers, not the top. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Make your own k-cups

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
We have a Kerig at work and I do like my tea. Tried this and it works well. Thank you for this Ali! I will be doing this from here on out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Made this last night for our church group, it turned out excellent! I added carrots, didn't add salt and did 50-75% of the bouillon, just because I don't like overly salty soup and it was just right. (Plus I'm not big on measuring and I think I added extra ham, so that probably made up for some of the salt content). Also let it simmer for about an hour at the end to break down some of the potatoes, worked great. Topped with green onions and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Negroni Dolce Cocktail

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Note: be sure to stir and not shake this drink. Shaking will cause the drink to become cloudy and lessen the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doc Simonson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Peter, Minnesota, USA

Aussie Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Followed others' advice and marinated the chicken breasts in worcestershire sauce and garlic, then sauteed the mushroom slices in the bacon fat before browning the chicken breasts. Left out the corn syrup. The sauce made way too much, I reserved half of it as instructed, but we didn't feel it needed it when it came time to serve it. I'll only make half the sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Irresistible Double Chocolate Muffins

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Although the ingredients seemed a bit strange, I trusted the high reviews. I followed the recipe exactly, except for using only 1/4 cup wheat germ cause that's all I had left. I don't understand how others reviewed this highly. These were flavorless and odd tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND

Coffee Cake. Literally.

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I made this for my birthday cake and we really enjoyed it! The only change I made was subbing yogurt for buttermilk, and I only made a half recipe/one layer. I baked in my convection oven at 325 and it took exactly 20 minutes. It was a bit more caffeinated than I expected, my son kinda looped out on me :) but very tasty, thanks ern for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Hazel's Meatballs

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
The sauce was a bit too sweet for my tastes but my two tear old gobbled it up so it's a winner in my book!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rhubarb Bread I

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
This is a lovely little quick bread. I used 2 cups of rhubarb, pecans instead of walnuts, and tossed in a chopped apple. It is moist and flavorful and toasts up beautifully. I got rave reviews on this one. As others have said - baking time is way off. Mine took 55 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Tater Tot Bake

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
A very quick and easy weekday meal. A family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suebesewing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Illinois, USA
Living In: Andover, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sanzoe

Crispy Panko Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
These are and were a huge hit at our house. The cooking process is perfect and it provides a juicy but crunchy piece of chicken. We have been using this recipe to make various other dishes, such as chicken farm, chicken dijon wraps, and just to eat plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Photo by sanzoe

Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies from Mazola®

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
We enjoyed these but they are not my favorite PB cookies. The texture was a little off to me and I assume that was from the oil. They felt somewhat tough to me. They were good the first day, on the second day my kids weren't as excited about them but still ate them. I prefer a more chewy PB cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Photo by sanzoe

Chocolate Applesauce Pudding

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
This was far from a hit at our house. The texture is very different and hard to get over. The flavor of the apple and chocolate just wasn't to our tastes and was disappointing. I was hoping the kids would like it but it was asked that I not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA

Easy Caramelized Brussels Sprouts

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I love Brussels sprouts but always looking for new, easy ways to enjoy them. My picky eater kids gobble up this sweet side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CopperGryphon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Wild Three Bean Chili

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I love the savory, flavorful taste of this chili. Gives you a warm, full belly without the unpleasant burning in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CopperGryphon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Cheesy Pumpkin Risotto

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
I made this almost exactly as is and it was delicious. I added a little more cheese but I'm kinda cheese obsessed. This was a great way to use all the pumpkin I have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lansdowne, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Alfredo Sauce

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
My husband is a huge fan of Olive Garden's alfredo sauce. This recipe is really close and I've made it many times. I use half and half instead of cream and add some regular powdered parmesian to thicken it up. I also double the garlic and throw it in with the melting butter. To save time, I use freeze-dried parsley. I double the recipe for extra sauce to spoon over chicken and broccoli. So nummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cicischwartz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Winsted, Minnesota, USA

Throat Coat Tea

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Very soothing. Not only will I keep this recipe, I will share with other sufferers. Thank you for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marbled Pumpkin Cheesecake

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
This was a scrumptious desert on Thanksgiving and provided a change for the more traditional pumpkin pie. However, I would highly recommend for the gingersnap crust to either purchase one or crumble the cookies in advance. What I did was use a heavy duty sandwich bag and a rolling pin to crumble them about 6-8 cookies at time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CopperGryphon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Jarod

Honey-Garlic Slow Cooker Chicken Thighs

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Easy and delish!!! I actually followed the recipe and served with steamed veggies and a sweet potato! We'll be using the recipe all winter! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jarod

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States