Minnesota - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Cranberry Lemon Scones

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
I really like the combo of sweet and tart here. I tasted the dough before baking and thought it needed a little more tart, so I added 1/4 teaspoon lemon extract and kneaded it in. The dough is pretty loose, so kneading it a few times on a floured board is needed. Very tender and flavorful scone resulted. A real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

Luscious Raspberry Scones

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
Very good as is. After reading other reviews, I used seedless raspberry jam instead of raspberry syrup as I could not find raspberry syrup. I served the scones with some more jam along side. I think I would like to add almond extract to the dough (1/4 teaspoon to start). I also wonder when they come out of the oven the second time sprinkle some mini chocolate chips on top so they can melt on top of the scone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

Judy's Strawberry Pretzel Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
Have been making this for many years. The sweet of the strawberries & the salty of the pretzel crust. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Valentine Spratt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry and Spinach Salad with Honey Balsamic Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
I love salads & I don't like to buy bottled dressings. I only changed one thing--instead of strawberries, I used raspberries. DELICIOUS! This is a great salad. The dressing is not too sweet and compliments the berries, nuts and greens! Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Valentine Spratt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mixed Veggie Casserole(Erlene's)

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
What a wonderful and unusual combination! Easy to make and so tasty, I will make this again and again. Thanks nanny129!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

Fiesta Chicken with Rice

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
When I go to Chipotle or Qdoba I usually order mine "naked" so for this I spooned it over chopped lettuce and I felt like I was eating take out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Tiihonen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

CROCKPOT TACOS

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Love this super simple recipe. I've added a few chipotles in adobo sauce to this and it was just the extra kick it needed to give this a 5 star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Tiihonen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by ONIOND

Shannon's Oven Pancake

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
Excellent! Super easy and yummy. I baked in my convection oven at 400 for a bit over 20 minutes and it was perfect. Once I loosened the sides, it flipped right onto the plate, although unfortunately it left the brown sugar behind. I think I would enjoy this more in a 9 inch pan, I thought it was a little too thick. DBF and DS loved this for supper with some maple sausage patties and fresh cantaloupe. Thanks for the recipe, Shannon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by ONIOND

Lettuce Leaf Tacos

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
Recipe Group: This was yummy! I was feeling cheap so I subbed ground turkey for the beef. I loved the salt on the tomatoes :) The romaine didn't look so good at the store, so we used green leaf lettuce. Turned out messy but a fun and tasty take on taco night, thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Erin

Fresh Fruit and Yogurt Ice Pops

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Delicious! I had some vanilla yogurt and some fruit in the fridge, both of which were going to spoil in the next couple of days if I didn't use them up, so this was the perfect recipe. It took me no time to mix them up and get them in the freezer. I had the banana out and ready to put in the recipe and forgot it - but they still tasted amazing. I am excited to try out different fruits. What a great summer treat to have on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA

Beef Stew VI

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Found my new favourite Beef stew Recipe!!! I use to make the Betty Crocker recipe. But not anymore!!! The only thing I did different was I cut up leek instead of the onion and threw in a turnip instead of one of the potatoes. I halved the recipe for my family of 2 adults and 4 children age 5 and under.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by <3tocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayzata, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND

Roasted Brussels Sprouts

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Love these basic Brussels sprouts! I used olive oil with Tuscan herb flavor, yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by ONIOND

Mushroom Pesto

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Not very pretty, but absolutely delicious. I did not change anything and we loved this recipe! It doesn't seem like enough to serve 6, but it is quite filling; we will probably get 4 or 5 servings out of it served with pasta. The leftovers are also great. I would love to top a nice hot beef sandwich with this stuff. Thanks so much for sharing, Jewels Cooks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by LucyFitz46

Quinoa and Black Beans

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
I added quite a bit to this recipe, my favorite thing being mangoes. Yum!! I only used one can of beans, and added chopped mangoes and a bell pepper. The mangoes give it a great sweetness that goes well with the onions. The white quinoa I used didn't fluff up quite as much as I thought it would, but the rest of the ingredients kept it hearty enough that I didn't feel like it was missing anything (even with less beans). The spices were great, and really boosted the flavor. Next time I make this, I will definitely use mangoes again, and maybe add some avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LucyFitz46

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

Butterscotch Cheesecake Bars

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
I made this for the fellowship hour for church and they were a big hit. Several people asked for the recipe. Made as written, very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

Baked Chicken Spaghetti

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
This was great! I thought it might be too spicy so I left out the red pepper and didn't want to splurge for the celery. I used canned mushrooms and frozen pre-cooked chicken to save time. My hubby loved it! It definitely fills a 9x13 pan, though... ours bubbled over in the oven. Great family dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cupcake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olivia, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND

Banana Peanut Butter Muffins

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
Delicious! I used about 75% peanut butter chips, the rest mini chocolate chips, otherwise followed the recipe. I got a dozen regular muffins and a dozen mini muffins. The minis took 15 minutes, the regular took 18. I leave my bananas whole, throw all the wet ingredients in a bowl, and go at them with a potato masher :) Thanks so much for sharing anninlondon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

PeepSmoothies

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
Oh yeah! Made exactly as written..yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie S

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Andover, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Crisp - Perfect and Easy

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
added 1 tsp vanilla, dash nutmeg, and split sugar 1/2 brown , 1/2 white (cut sugar to 3/4 cup total) would be good with nuts or oats. very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA
Photo by RockstarSue

Cocktail Meatballs III

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
Sauce is great, but made with 2.5 tablespoons of Worcestershire sauce and 2.5 teaspoons of Frank's Red Hot sauce. I also used 1.5 cups of dark brown sugar. Sauce was delicious and tangy. Also meatballs were flipped after 10 min each in oven. They needed more time than the recipe suggests. I had to keep checking meatballs and putting them back in oven..I also found that the meatballs did not cook properly. They need WAY more time than 10-15 min. I actually had to take the meatballs out after being already immersed in the sauce twice. I took them out, cooked them an additional 10 min and they were still pink in the middle. At that point, I put a half a cup of warm water in sauce and maybe 2 tbsps or so of Half and Half to sauce mixture (in hopes that sauce would boil more in crockpot cooking the meatballs). The warm water and half and half enhanced the flavor of the sauce even more, but did not help in cooking meatballs all the way through. Therefore, I ended up repeating 10 more minutes in the oven, but they were STILL pink in the middle. Finally, I took them out of the crockpot a third time, put them in the oven for 25 more minutes on 400 degrees. They cooked perfectly, so I put them back in the crockpot in sauce on low. I served them at a party, and not one meatball was left. The recipe was fantastic after a lot of "doctoring" which is why I gave it four stars, not five.. With my tweaking, the sauce was tangy and tasty. My eleven year old daughter LOVED these meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RockstarSue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Sandstone, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States