Minnesota - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Mango Topping

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
This was a great way to quickly use up the mangoes that were getting away from me. A dollop of this, some fresh mango, fresh whipped cream, and angel food cake made for a great dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND

Parmesan Asparagus Rice

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2015
Decadent! I only had the microwave pouch of basmati, so I added it to the pan after sauteeing the onions, garlic and asparagus and just heated it up to temp. The directions have garlic but the list of ingredients doesn't; I guessed and used two cloves. This was a great side dish and easy too, thanks for the recipe CookingNut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by sanzoe

Randy's Slow Cooker Ravioli Lasagna

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2015
This is a great recipe for this nights where you need to do something about dinner but can't be at home to cook it. I keep cooked ground beef in my freezer so this was easy to pull together. I followed the directions and the timing was too long and resulted in mushy pasta. I like to give a recipe a fair shot by not doing any changes the first time I make. Next time I will cook for three hours and that will be plenty. The kids gave it 2 thumbs up so we will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA

Taco in a Bag

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2015
This is an excellent recipe for an old standby. Lots of variations. As a school kid in TX went across the street to the Harlequin drive-in & for a quarter got a "Frito Pie". Those had chilli over the Fritos & to this day when I serve chilli I put a Layer of Fritos in the bottom. At the fairs & celebrations up north here there's always a stand selling tacos in a bag. Kids love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CorkyF

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montevideo, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND

Oktoberfest Potato Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2015
Fantastic! The dressing had me licking the bowl! I made the dressing and potatoes the night before, then assembled before making the rest of supper--this went very well with brats and sauerkraut. Thanks for sharing your recipe, lutzflcat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Pan-Fried Swai Fillets

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
I tweaked this a bit to my own liking. I omitted the red pepper and added onion powder instead. Because I am impatient and lazy, I didn't refrigerate the fish. After I coated them they went straight into the pan. I had 4 large fillets to cook so I fried 2 at a time in 4 T oil. Didn't add the water as they already had enough moisture to cook. I completely forgot I had cornmeal until I found this recipe and went searching for it. Did you know you can use expired cornmeal from FY 2012 as long as it has not been opened? Super simple way to pan fry Swai. Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLORIA LEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND

Yummy Veggie Omelet

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
So yummy! And my first attempt at an omelet that didn't turn into scrambled eggs. Thank you for writing out the method in such an easy to follow format, Jen! I am having visions of all the different fillings I can come up with...mmmm....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Quick Chicken Marsala

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
This was so easy and very good. I improved it a bit by adding 1/2 a onion diced and sauted with fresh sliced mushrooms and 2 finely chopped garlic cloves. I cut down on the marsala wine and added a little chicken broth and about a 1/4 cup heavy cream. It was very worthy of dinner guest! I served it with sauted french green beans and Ukon gold garlic mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Anderson-Gibson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Grandma Moyer's Rhubarb and Strawberry Coffee Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
I made this exactly as called for, it is perfect. The whole family loved it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mousefrei

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
I first made this for a family gathering. It was an absolute hit! I have since made it for supper as well as breakfast. It never fails. The flavors mix well and the aroma that wafts through the house causes your mouth to water. I have made this with eggs and EggBeaters. It works well with both. Not all egg bakes work well with "fake" eggs. I highly recommend this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann McCaughan Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
Meatballs ONLY! I have not made the sauce because I like using my own. Before this recipe for meatballs mine were, well, meat shapes. I first made the recipe as is then started to add different seasonings to better fit my family's pallet. The original recipe is good on it's own. This is a very easy recipe to execute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann McCaughan Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
I made this for the first time last week. I had friends over for lunch and wanted to find a use for the abundance of strawberries I had on hand. It was delicious. I dry toasted the almonds in a small saucepan. That was the only change I made from the original recipe. Everybody loved it. I plan to make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Eclair Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
Very good and easy to put together! I used hot fudge topping instead of frosting and sprinkled some nut topping on top that I had on hand. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Red Currant Pie

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
This is amazing! I did as ANIMAP suggested and pressed the crust into the pan and let it rest in the fridge for 30 minutes before baking. Also, I halved the recipe and baked in 2- 5 inch springform pans and it turned out great. I loved this so much, and I'm not big on fruit desserts and I despise meringue, so it had to be amazing to overcome those.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Grove

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Alfredo sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sanzoe

Slow Cooker Risotto

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
For being a recipe in a slow cooker this is really good. Is it as god as the slow stove method, probably not but it's a great side dish for busy days. Toss everything in and forget about it. 5 stars for being family friendly and easy to make. This will be on dinner rotation going forward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA

Waikiki Meatballs

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
I don't want to rate this recipe since it is not original. It is in my Betty Crocker Cookbook (circa 1974). But I do want to thank you for sharing it. My family liked this a lot. But many years ago, I spilled on that page. As a result, I now have 2 pages stuck together and can no longer read it. Once again I can treat my family to this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by countrygirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pillager, Minnesota, USA
Photo by FNChef

White Chocolate Pound Cake

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
When a recipe gives you a dry cake, make trifle. (See my photos.) I had fun making the recipe in my new mini Bundt pans. The batter looked beautiful and tasted promising, but it did not deliver. Fortunately, I baked just a couple of cakes in the first go-round where I added the white chocolate chips. I've tried recipes in the past where the chips stuck to the pan and made for an ugly presentation. Glad I trusted my instincts there and ended up omitting them because, not only did they stick, they didn't add anything flavor-wise. In the end, I had beautiful, dry little Bundt cakes. What's a girl to do when she needs desserts: I turned them into mini trifles with berry sauce, whipped cream, and fresh berries. That was it's only saving grace (hence the 3 stars), or it would've been trash-bound.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Photo by ONIOND

Zucchini Scallion Frittata Cups

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
Yummy but very hard to get out of the pan! Used a pastry brush and veggie oil to thoroughly grease the cups too. Convect baked at 350 for about 25 minutes. Would add salt next time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Myra's Basil Chicken Stir Fry

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
Easy recipe and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barry Hansen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perham, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States