Minnesota - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Upsidedown Spaghetti

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Really liked it and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Spring Park, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bread Pudding II

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
This is such a good, basic recipe. Great served hot with ice cream. I made it with whole wheat bread and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kopcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

My Favorite Sloppy Joes

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Sorry didn't care for these at all. I've been making sloppy joes the same way for years but wanted something different. Made a huge batch and we forced some down. Unfortunately the garbage disposal will eat the rest. They were also still so "sloppy" even after simmering for 45 minutes. I cut back on the Worcestershire, liquid smoke and mustard but still that's I could taste. So Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYG25

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montevideo, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Willmar, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cranberry and Cilantro Quinoa Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I added more bell pepper, almonds, and cranberries than called for but left out the carrots as I didn't have any. Totally loved it, though next time I might combine the lime juice with a little walnut oil and seasonings for the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINNY671

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kentucky Biscuits

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly as written, and these were delicious!! Very moist, looked very yummy as well. Love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kopcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Blujin87

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Wow! These are amazing! I have never made crab cakes before because I have tried them other places and didn't care too much for them. We had some left over crab legs, so I though I would give them a try. I am SO happy I did. My husband and I both loved them. I made the recipe the way it calls except that I didn't have any tarragon so I replaced that with basil. They turned out great! I cannot wait to make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chisago City, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cajun Style Red Bean and Rice Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Works perfect in the slow cooker: I left out the bacon and ham hock and used turkey keilbasa. I sauteed the onion, green pepper, and garlic and added it to the rest of the ingredients in the slow cooker. Cooked on high for one hour then on low for eight hours. It was phenomenal! Everyone loved it, even my very Southern MIL :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Andover, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Wadena, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sanzoe

Sweet and Spicy Salmon with Grapefruit Salsa

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
We liked the rub and it had a nice flavor. The grapefruit salsa didn't go with the fish at all for us. A different fruit subbed would be better. Not sure I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Photo by sanzoe

Pork Carnitas with Cilantro Tomatillo Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
We really enjoyed these but I did add more seasoning and used a hotter chili powder. We liked how the flavor a melded together and the salsa have it a bright addition to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Kooking Kim

Thanksgiving Leftover Pizza

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Surprisingly good! The mashed potatoes and gravy combo add a great creaminess to the pizza toppings. As a garlic lover, I might try this with garlic mashed potatoes next time to amp it up, but, the amount suggested in the recipe is likely perfect for others. We used Jay’s Signature crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kooking Kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plymouth, Michigan, USA
Living In: Britt, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
This was a great recipe and the cookies turned out perfectly soft and crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MNDiana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windom, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Meatloaf

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
So tasty, moist and tender. For those of you that have been following Chef John for awhile: you should know that he underestimates cooking times quite often because I don't think that he accurately times anything outside of his perfect prime rib recipe. Just use an instant-read thermometer and remove the meatloaf from the oven when it reaches 155 deg F. The addition of pureed veggies to the meat was essential for making it so moist and the Sriracha sauce added the needed kick for the glaze. I have enough leftover meatloaf to make cold meatloaf sandwiches for awhile. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FROGHOPPER

Homemade Hamburger Buns

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
These turned out so good! I got 13 regular sized buns that I used for pulled pork sandwiches. I cute the initial rise to 1 hour (doubled in size in 1 hour) and let the buns rise for 45 minutes. I made these changes based on my first batch, I got 8 GIGANTIC buns. They tasted just fine and are now be sliced and used like slices from a loaf of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FROGHOPPER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA

Asparagus Cashew Rice Pilaf

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Very yummy, simple and delicious! I cut back on the butter to 2 tbls and that was plenty. Also I wish I would have used the entire pound of asparagus I had on hand. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Chicken Piccata

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Both my husband and I epreally enjoyed this! One of the best dishes I have made in long time. Omitted capers due to personal taste. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tonkatsu / Katsu Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
We didn't care for this sauce at all. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancygibson33@gmail.com

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Best Potato soup ever

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I just had my 2 neighbors ask me for this recipe after sampling it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancygibson33@gmail.com

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Flan de Coco (Coconut Flan)

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I'm in charge of dessert for a girlfriend's weekend so decided to try this out. I'm so glad I did; it totally reminds me of the filling my Mom put in her custard pie. It was always a favorite of my Dad & I. mmmmm, comfort food! I'll be making another one next Thursday in anticipation of our Mexican fiesta dinner on Friday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lightning Gravy

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This is a great base but definitely needs some doctoring! I stuck with the 2 bouillon cubes and used Wondra for thickening. I added fresh ground pepper, garlic salt, parsley, Cajun seasoning and then whisked in some lite sour cream. It still wasn't quite right, so I added a couple drops of liquid smoke. Perfect taste just like it came from roasted chicken drippings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Absolutely delicious! The only thing that I did different was that I brined the pork chops in the fridge overnight so to ensure tenderness. Tip: If you don't have a large enough of a skillet: brown the chops in 2 separate batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States