Minnesota - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Filled Date Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
I used fig and almonds substituted for the date and walnuts and upon my first taste I realized that they will quickly become my favorite cookie. It literally brought tears to my husbands eyes reminding him of the cookies his grandma made for him every year at Christmas when she was still with us. We definitely felt her with us in spirit tonight. Light and fluffy cookie, beautiful shiny filling had the perfect amount of sweetness when married with the baked cookie. These will become a Christmas tradition from this year on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking in Duluth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baby BLT

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Too much filling for the two dozen cherry tomatoes I had. I took others' advice and used garden vegetable cream cheese for half the mayo, I also added celery and dried chives. This is tedious, but certainly not difficult. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Smoked Salmon Mousse

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
This was great, my first try at salmon mousse. I skipped the roe and used fresh dill, otherwise I made it exactly as directed. I followed another reviewer's advice and made it in a mold, covered by smoked salmon slices (lox). It was beautiful, and a hit at the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND

Dry Buttermilk Ranch Mix

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Ooh I love ranch! This was great. I used dry milk powder, not having buttermilk powder on hand, and used it on pretzels and to make veggie dip (with sour cream, yogurt and mayo). Thanks Scotdog, this is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Pasta, Chicken and Artichokes

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Excellent - I added more of all of the veggies and used whole wheat noodles and it was delish! Good simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jarod

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cabbage and Corned Beef Chowder

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I followed the directions then added about 1/3 cup of leftover mashed potatoes, 3/4 cup leftover corn and 1/2 small leftover baked potato cut up. I also made some croutons out of some pumpernickel bread. I also added about 1/4 cup grated parmesan just for the heck of it. It was a winner! Very creamy and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Champlin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Angel Chicken Pasta

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I made this dish and maybe I added a little more wine but the result was amazing, the man raved and even went for seconds until he could not move, I was worried it would be too salty but once it baked it was perfect. We used whole wheat pasta also and there was no difference, the ONLY thing I might change next time is to double the sauce so when I have leftovers there is enough to cover the pasta ratio.. Thank you this one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Mattson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Red Wine Reduction Dessert Sauce

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I paired this with fresh berries and a goat cheese panna cotta as a dessert option for a recent event. It was very well received. Be sure to use a wine that you would like to drink because even with all the sugar and flavorings, the taste of the wine still comes through. I used a well-priced cab from Napa and reduced it to a syrup consistency. One change I will make for next time is to use a cinnamon stick instead of the ground cinnamon. Then I will fish it out before serving and not be able to see the "grains" of cinnamon in the sauce. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

Absolutely Delicious Green Bean Casserole from Scratch

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This was a great hit at our Thanksgiving dinner. I made another batch after Thanksgiving adding leftover turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jloney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

Sweet Potato Casserole II

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I had some leftover sweet potato mash that I didn't need for pies so I cut this recipe in half and quickly made it for Thanksgiving dinner a couple hours beforehand. It turned out to be the star side dish! I'll be making a large amount for Christmas. I drizzled honey over the top before baking as well for an extra layer of sweet flavor. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DSpaceNine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Luverne, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Taco Seasoning I

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Excellent! And thanks to instructions from GREGSGIRL63, I will never buy taco seasoning packets again. Just the right mix of seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie S

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Andover, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND

Butternut Squash and Cranberry Couscous

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
This was an interesting blend of flavors. Surprisingly, my boyfriend liked it best. I used fresh cranberries that I cooked down a bit in sugar and water, and used dried lemon peel and bottled lemon juice. Also, my couscous came with a flavor packet (garlic and herb), so I threw it in and am glad I did. I think the salad would have been a bit bland without. Only other change was to leave out the almonds, because DBF is allergic. Very pretty and would be great to bring to a potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Peanut Blossoms II

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Subbed butter for shortening and lowered the temp to 350. Baked 8-11 minutes, put kisses on each, baked another minute. If they come out and seem a little undercooked, not to worry; they do firm up to perfect cookies! PERFECT! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I love savory more than sweet, so I use the recipe part to a T, except only 1/4 cup of sugar. Then change up the process a bit. That's why I didn't give it a full 5. For southern style goodness, you want to use the whole stick of butter in the batter, and another 3 Tbsp in your 9" cast iron skillet. Keeps it super moist and, well, buttery! Heat up that extra bit of butter in the pan in the oven while you preheat it and mix the batter in a separate bowl, then carefully pour it into the hot, buttery skillet and bake as directed. The butter will ooze up the sides and over the top of the batter, making a beautiful crust. (If you get interrupted while mixing, though, pull out the pan so you don't scorch your butter.) Also key is the buttermilk...I don't keep that on hand, so I mix a half cup of plain full-fat ("traditional") Greek yogurt with enough whole milk (or even ranch dressing!) to make a cup, then stir in a Tbsp of lemon juice. Then, when you mix in the baking soda, it reacts and foams up really nicely, keeping the bread nice and fluffy. t's also great with some corn or chilis or grated cheese or all of the above...just stir it into the batter before you pour it into the pan. It's dangerous to have this around the house because I find excuses to have just one more piece (warm and toasty with milk or cream soaked in for breakfast? Yes, please!) so before I know it' it's gone and I have to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curryholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Potato Soup I

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Good base for a potato soup, but I need to adjust for my family's preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roseau, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Nat's Buttery Cashew Crunch

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
Mmmmm- yes very easy and delicious. Watch it close with your candy thermometer - mine went fast at the end. Tilt the buttered pan a little to help it spread thinner. Ignore it while it cools and then break into pieces - even looks special!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Ohden

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prinsburg, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Twenty Four Hour Fruit Salad

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I was so happy to find a recipe very close to the "24 hour salad" my mom and grandmother made for every holiday when I was growing up. It's kinda like a little dessert on your dinner plate. :) I had their recipe at one time, but lost it, sadly. Don't add poppy seeds -- they don't fit this salad. Do be careful when folding in the whipped cream and fruit - just FOLD in slowly., and make sure whatever canned fruit you're adding is very well drained, otherwise it will get soupy. Add the sliced bananas (needs 2 bananas) right before serving per the instructions, so they stay firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jamie's Minestrone

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I used a 28 oz can crushed tomatoes, 1 T.dried basil and thyme and one large unpeeled red potato. No wine, or spinach super flavors, next time I'll make it the day before. Then it will be super amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Day Before Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA

Cranberry Sauce

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
This was delicious! Used half white and half brown sugar and added 1/4 tsp cinnamon. This will be my new cranberry sauce recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA

Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States