Minnesota - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by NoMoGMOCook

Fresh Broccoli Salad

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
As is it's great but I did substitute the raisins for cucumber the second time I made it and still absolutely loved it. I use all organic and non-gmo ingredients as well to make sure I am feeding my family the very best. I will also say this is even better if you let it sit in the fridge a little longer as everything really soaks up the flavor and the broccoli becomes tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NoMoGMOCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Pinto Bean Bonanza

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
A lot of works but makes a lot of food. I liked, but my husband did not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Henderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Cucumbers and Onions with Fresh Herbs

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Very good! I have never had warm cucumbers before, but it is just too cold right now so I decided to give these a try and am glad I did! I didn't have olive oil spray, so I brushed olive oil on the pan and used coconut oil spray on top of everything. I feel like the fresh herbs lost most of their flavor being in the oven so long, so next time I might add them when I turn everything. Also, needs a bit of salt, not a lot. Thanks for making up this unique recipe and sharing with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
really good soup; I added approx. a TBSP of chili powder & used frozen roasted sweet corn from Trader Joe's... yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Doc Simonson

Squash Stuffed With Dates and Onion

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Excellent recipe! I am glad that I grew buttercup squash this year. It means that we can have this again. The flavors are very good as in the recipe. I think if I were to make any changes they would be to salt the squash before stuffing, and to add a bit of sage to the stuffing as well as to replace the stock with white wine (pinot grigio or sauvignon blanc). Seriously, it is great the way it is. My wife is looking forward to the next time I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doc Simonson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Peter, Minnesota, USA

Uber-Braten Kielbasa and Sauerkraut Casserole

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly except that I used extra sharp cheddar cheese. It was fantastic. Perfect for these cool Autumn days. I sent half of it home to a friend and he thought it was wonderful too. I will definitely make again throughout the Winter. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker, Easy Baked Potato Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I loved this recipe. Very easy and really tasty! Only change I made was two cups of half and half instead on the recommended one. We will be enjoying this meal again on a cold winter evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BogeyBill

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Albert Lea, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Lemon Bars

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Just made these and they are awesome! My family (1 husband and 5 kids) love lemon bars. I normally do not...but I do love these! A lot of lemon bars I've had just taste kind of bland but not these, just a pure wonderful lemon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Ham and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Great recipe! I didn't have smoked ham, only packaged diced ham so I used that and I thought it worked out just fine. I kept everything else the same - the recipe is a winner as is! Next time, however, I think I will increase the flour to 1/3 cup so it is a little thicker. This soup made a wonderful lunch on a cool Sunday afternoon - I just wish I would've doubled it so there would be more leftovers for tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Kristieg

Autumn Spiced Butternut Squash Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Even my kids loved these! I replaced the shortening with 1/3 c. applesauce and 1/3 c. canola oil. This recipe made 24 nice muffins so I did the first dozen without nuts and the second with 1/3 c. chopped walnuts. They took 30 minutes in the oven at the same temperature. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristieg
Home Town: Rush City, Minnesota, USA
Living In: St. Peter, Minnesota, USA

Grilled Shrimp and Apple Skewers

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
yup yup yup.....this is a keeper....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I am just baking my bread as we speak. I have to agree with another review that says make it as stated in the recipe the first time. This is the only way to give a recipe a fair grade. Then if you decide to add and subtract ingredients and it is better or is a flop you know why. I just looked in my oven and mine is not quite done but it has risen good and I can not wait to try it. Happy baking I love the way my loaves look. I made these loaves as stated
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandie Barnett

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pillager, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND

Balsamic Pear, Chicken, and Asparagus

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Solid recipe. I went light on the chicken (meat is just getting so expensive!) and heavy on the ginger. I did not brown my chicken first and had no issues. I had no apple juice, subbing 'white cooking wine' seemed to work well. All in all a tasty meal for fall when I used green beans instead of asparagus as recommended! I loved the rosemary and might try some fresh next time, added closer to the end. I cooked mine for about 4.5 hours, any more and I think it would have been overdone. The dish was sweeter than I expected but nummy, thanks for sharing this unique recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Quick and Savory Tuna Burgers

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I thought this was a great basic recipe. I changed it up by using chopped fresh green onions, rosemary, and oregano, and Old Bay seasoning and dusted them with bread crumbs before frying. I also drizzled creamy Sriracha ( mix with a little mayo ) over the top before I served it. Will make them again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauralucy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND

Suki's Spinach and Feta Pasta

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Easy and delicious! Got DBF to go for seconds too. Don't change a thing...Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by ccks4ever2000

Macaroni and Cheese Southern Style

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Made it tonight for our hunting camp guys! It's is delicious! Very hearty. No changes to the actual recipe are needed in my opinion, unless maybe you're trying to cut fat content...but I suggest giving into the indulgence the way it is-just don't live on it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ccks4ever2000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Townsend, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Swiss Chard

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
This is a solid recipe that's been around for years. I add the vinegar at the table because my DH prefers it without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Nisswa, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Genae

Cheesy Chicken and Salsa Skillet

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Tasty, simple & easy! Few changes: added garlic & onion to chicken; added leftover homemade salsa, fresh cilantro, fresh squeezed lime, black beans and sour cream to the sauce. Super filling and not too bad for ya either! Served over jasmine rice (pic added) because we're really not a pasta family) but next time will definitely make with the pasta! Great find! Even the teens wolfed it down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Genae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet and Sour Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I really liked how light it was. The pork turned out so tender! Not like the dried up chewy pork from take-out. I will make this again. I did stray from the recipe and added bell pepper, carrot, and onion with the pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Faribault, Minnesota, USA

Easy Creamy Chicken Enchiladas

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
This was my first attempt at making enchiladas and they were great! Super easy to make and they were a hit! I will definitely make these again. I am also guessing that you could make these ahead and freeze for a future meal. I am actually excited to eat my leftovers at work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rice Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States