Minnesota - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Satiny Chocolate Glaze

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
A bit on the grainy side... great flavor, will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ratatouille

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I've never had ratatouille before, so I wasn't sure what I was to be expecting-but it's a nice refreshing dish. I only made half of what the recipe originally called for. I left out the eggplant, the boyfriend and I just plain don't care for it no matter how we prepare it. Used two zucchini to kind of make up for the eggplant, plus we LOVE zucchini. I did not layer it, I mixed everything together and put the tomatoes on top. Added just a touch more cheese, like I do with practically everything. I think the biggest change I made that would help this dish is ADD some seasoning! Had I not, I feel I would have been rather disappointed. I served over some white rice. It's not a 5 star dish, but for the amount of effort it took it's something I would again make after a long day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Photo by ONIOND

Garlic Bread Popcorn

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Recipe Group: I will smell like garlic for days! So good! Popcorn is my favorite snack, and honestly I looked at all that popcorn and then at the 3 Tablespoons of butter and didn't think it would be enough...I was pleasantly surprised, however! Used garlic powder and table salt, and minced fresh rosemary. I had Romano cheese shreds and didn't think they would stick...again, pleasantly surprised. Couldn't keep my hands out of the bowl. Thanks for a great change of pace from Kernel Seasons white cheddar dust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by ONIOND

Marvel's Shark Bites

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Five stars for adorability...three for ease...this is, without a doubt, the most challenging recipe I have ever made from this website! Gelatin has never been my strong suit, nor patience, and carving up fruit is ... Well there were some four letter words used in the making of this cute little dish. I used a loaf pan, which was the perfect size. Also, had no dill, but thyme was a great substitute, and for fun I washed some polished rocks and used them for a seaweed base. Happy Shark Week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by RockstarSue

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
This recipe was easy and tasty!! I followed the recipe exactly as written. It was moist and delicious!! I made two loaves in 9x5 inch pans and froze one. This will definitely be my go-to pumpkin bread. Thank you Allrecipes.com for yet another fabulous recipe to add to my repertoire!! I HAVE TO ADD, TODAY I HAD A PIECE OF THIS MOUTHWATERING PUMPKIN BREAD THAT I MADE YESTERDAY!! EVEN MORE DELICIOUS SECOND DAY!! THIS IS THE ONLY PUMPKIN BREAD RECIPE I WILL USE GOING FORWARD. ALSO MAKING IT 5 STARS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RockstarSue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Sandstone, Minnesota, USA

Vegan Lentil, Kale, and Red Onion Pasta

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I made this with a few adjustments: cut the pasta in half (I think you could leave it out completely), substituted ground pork for the vegan sausage and chicken broth for the vegetable broth, added tomatoes and mushrooms, and use dried instead of fresh herbs. Use extra liquid as the lentils will continue to soak it up. Delicious and heated up well for leftovers - my husband and I both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharmedChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Relish I've Ever Had

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Awesome relish! (But maybe a little too sweet) I skipped the turmeric but did everything else as per the recipe. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaxson13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Teriyaki Beef Skewers

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I would give more stars if I could. The marinade for this is to die for. I made this for my mom and she went crazy for it. We did not have pineapple juice, so I omited that. I put partly cooked bell peppers and onions in the marinade the last hour, then alternated the veggies and meat with fresh mushrooms. I will make this again and again as will she. Count us in for the fan club.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Restaurant-Style Tequila Lime Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
The sauce for this is better than the chain restaurant one. The corn chips were unnessasary for us although I realze that is part of the dish at the famous place. I used Mozzarella as that is what I had on hand, but Cheddar as the recipe calls for would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Alfredo Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
This is a very easy and tasty sauce. I did have to add a little corn starch to mine as it was a little too thin for me. Great flavor, This is going to be one of my go to recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Alfredo Potatoes

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
These are perfect with meats. We had them with beef kabobs and they were the perfect compliment to the zesty grilled meat. Very easy to make, I made 1/2 the recipe for the two of us with 2 servings leftover. This is a real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND

Sharknado Cocktail

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Surprisingly tasty :) Not normally a fan of 'fruity' drinks, and this was way too sweet to drink more than one, but went down smooth and looked very pretty. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by ONIOND

Great White Cocktail

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I don't particularly like vodka. Why, you ask, am I making myself a 'Great White Cocktail?' Because I'm a huge fan of shark week and it is just sooo cute! The blood drops should not be optional! All that being said, this is one of the tastier Cosmo recipes I have tried. Couldn't find white cranberry juice in the entire grocery store, so it's Ocean Spray Wave Apple White Cranberry Cocktail. w00t
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by ONIOND

Tom's Down To The Bone Pork Chops!

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Recipe Group: I really wanted to like this...I think I did something wrong? My breading was soggy :( Have never worked with Panko before but from all I've heard it is crispy...this was not crispy...could have used too much mayo? Got the wrong chops? Will have to try again next time chops go on sale because the flavor was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
very good, would definately make again. I omitted the cream of tartar and added 1/8 t baking powder instead. Used cookie scoop and resprinkled with cinn-sugar after they came out of oven. 8 min was just right for meDelicious>
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA

Slow Cooker Butter Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
I have a question. I usually don't like cumin. But the reviews make me think I should try it. Tell me about the flavor. Is it hot? Had to put in stars to post. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isabel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Longville, Minnesota, USA
Photo by MOMOFSNUGGLEBUG

Soft Dinner Rolls

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
The first time I made these, I ended up with a gooey mess that didn't turn out at all because I had too much water and not enough yeast. The second time I watched the video and prepared it just as the recipe suggested and they came out perfectly. I needed something quick and easy because I was on a deadline. They did not disappoint and I'm glad that I gave them a second try. PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mililani, Hawaii, USA

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
I added all the extras that other reviewers suggested (worchestershire, red wine, rosemary, garlic salt and steak seasoning,) along with extra beef broth so the roast would be submerged. I had to thicken the gravy with cornstarch at the end, and it turned out fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Everjonez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
The cookies never really flattened while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pillager, Minnesota, USA

One Bowl Buttercream Frosting

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Heavenly is the first word that came to mind when I tasted this frosting! The reviewer who said it had good mouth feel wasn't kidding - it has a super silky texture and the flavor is outstanding! I frosted a chocolate cake tonight and cannot wait until tomorrow to try it... my mouth is watering! This is now the ONLY chocolate frosting recipe I will use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States