Minnesota - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chicken with Quinoa and Veggies

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
It seemed like it may be bland so we added black pepper, but otherwise followed exactly and what a treat! The cheese, basil, and lime at the end really added to the flavor profile. Even our skeptical daughter who is home for the summer loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharmedChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Campfire S'Mores Bread Pudding

Reviewed: May 27, 2015
This was a huge hit for "Up North"! The family was skeptical of the hot dog buns but after the first bite all anyone could think of was how much those buns were transformed. Nobody thought it was too sweet or rich and the whole pan was gobbled up within 24 hours. I liked the addition of nutmeg; it really added something special and it was evident in the final product. Some variations I may try: Adding booze to the chocolate marshmallow sauce (maybe some rum or bourbon), replacing the graham crackers with Teddy Grahams or Nilla Wafers. The possibilities are endless! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn Kilanowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry Cake Mix Brownies

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
These were just Ok. I won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Annandale, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Doughgirl8

Daffodil Cake

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
I loved this! Such a simple cake, and very pretty. I didn’t frost it—just dusted the top with powdered sugar and served with whipped cream and strawberries. I used orange zest instead of orange extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doughgirl8

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Thai Steamed Mussels

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
Definitely needs more curry, and less lime. Will make it again with those changes... Served with jasmine rice and sugar snap peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Instant Pistachio Salad

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
Best way I have found to get my hubs to eat pineapple which I LOVE. Like to add nuts as several reviewers stated- makes a great pie! semi frozen in a graham cracker shell-frost w additional cool whip :)Pretty and easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momofone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
Trying this my way :) Using up fresh cauliflower, broccoli and carrots today at my house. Steamed them after cleaning and cutting into bit sized pieces. Kept them separate so steaming was accurate. Had about 4 c each broccoli and cauliflower cooked and about 2 c cooked carrots. Divided veg between three casseroles (one bigger than the others). In each I put one third of each type of veggie. Don't use canned soup so I made 5 c medium cream sauce with olive oil, butter, flour and veg broth (homemade), add sauteed onions, garlic thyme, parsley, sage and rosemary. In whatever amount suits your taste. add at least 1 cup of sauce to each casserole and mix(big one will take at least two c). First batch will get buttered crumbs when it gets used/cooked off on Wednesday night dinner with pork chops and tossed salad. The second casserole will get white sauce & sautéed fresh mushrooms and will be topped with crumbled bacon. This will be the main dish on Thursday with lemon-butter asparagus and fresh fruit. And lastly the bigger dish will get at least two c white sauce 1 cup cooked rice, sautéed chicken, cheese and sauteed fresh mushrooms for Sunday dinner per the recipe above. So using the basic premise to make three dishes out of a lot of veggies. Also makes cooking easier in the week. Smells great so far looking forward to the results:)Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momofone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

Old-Fashioned Pancakes

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
I couldn't even eat the pancakes they were so salty. The recipe might be good if you add less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KirstenF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Meatloaf

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Best meatloaf I ever made. Moist and good tasting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kopcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

Baked Ziti

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Everybody loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kopcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

Eggnog Cake

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Used a pumpkin spice cake mix and pumpkin spice egg nog. This was truly lovely for dessert on Christmas. oh and no rum. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momofone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

Braised Brussels Sprouts with Bacon

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Doubled the recipe but other than that made as written. Whole family enjoyed it, even the Brussels sprouts haters :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momofone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

Bohemian Pork Roast

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
My roast was boneless. Served the gravy with spatzele. And roast Brussels sprouts. my family thanks you-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momofone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

Creamy Smoked Salmon Pasta

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Family liked this a lot...normally they aren't too crazy about smoked salmon. Unfortunately I did not know that until AFTER I brought 5 lbs of filets from Alaska. Only used one filet in this it was bigger probably 8 oz or so but it was plenty. Thanks for a good recipe to use up some of this fish-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momofone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
As always using what was available at my house. And note I use whole cans, I hate waste or trying to put away half a can of something. Used chicken breast, diced tomatoes and coconut milk added steamed green beans at the end to boost veg (could serve on the side but why?)Otherwise methods and other ingredients and spices were the same. Hubby loved it and my house smells great on a rainy night in May-Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momofone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Both of us loved this recipe. Great way to fix chicken thighs. Super easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kopcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

Wilted Arugula and Portobello Mushrooms

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
This is a winner. Easy and good enough for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kopcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

Bean and Bacon Salad

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Really good! I omitted the onion because I dislike them, but otherwise made as written. Next time (and there will be a next time) I'll add more cabbage. Probably about 2.5 - 3 cups. The ratio of cabbage to bean to bacon was a bit off in my opinion. Thanks for sharing, we enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spring Salad

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I've been making this recipe for a couple of years now. I've made it as described and it's wonderful! It's also very versatile though. Sometimes I don't add the sugar (we're paleo), sometimes I make my own mayo. Sometimes I swap out cranberries for the raisins or walnuts for the pecans. It's just flexible and relatively healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie S. Payne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lund, Skane, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bacon wrapped Brussels sprouts

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I may be biased because this is my own recipe, but it's my best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Benjamin Marty
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States