Westland, Michigan - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Baked Buffalo Wings

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I wont use the flour next time! That's what makes them soggy. I will stick with my old method. I usually just bake them longer (closer to an hour or so ) at a lower temp 350-375. I use quite a bit of melted butter but the skin crisps up nicely. Not quite the same as fried, but their not! Also, I sometimes skip the hot sauce and mix in an itialian seasoning or ranch packet with the butter. Not the healthiest, but yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodilee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Banana Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Great banana bread. The kids ate it all. I'm making more, I'll have to hide it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

Buttermilk Pie III

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Had leftover buttermilk from another dish I made. So I decided to give this a try, I'm so glad I did it's great. Husband and kids devoured it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
This was my first made from scratch pie crust, it turned out fantastic. great flavor tender and flakey. The dough was very sticky, but I'm sure it was just me being inexperienced:) The end result was DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

Grandma's Noodles II

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
This was my first time making noodles, they turned out great!! I omitted the baking powder, followed the directions to a T and VIOLA delicious noodles!! Oh, and the dough was really easy to work with, just make sure you use plenty of flour so it won't stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

Buttermilk Pie IV

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I had some buttermilk left over from some muffins I made a few days ago. I'm so happy I used it for this pie it is delicious!! I did make my own crust, and sprinkled some cinnamon over the top. Great Recipe !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Kraft american cheese single, plenty of real salted butter and a dill pickle spear on the side, is how you do this sandwhich, right!! & do cook slow.. on low ~ It's the key to buttery, crispy perfection! :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodilee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Felix K.'s 'Don't even try to say these aren't the best you've ever eaten, because they are' Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
These were good - but I cant say the best chocolate chip cookie I EVER had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andreavyse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This is truely restaraunt quality soup with a few additions. So easy too! I used a rotissire chicken. I do think the addition of veggies gives it more depth. I added a bag of frozen celery, carrots and onions that I got at kroger. It's called "mirepoix style blend" Worked perfectly. No chopping needed :) I used half and half and only half of the flour called for & it was still plenty thick & creamy. Also added a bay leaf, a tsp of sage and garlic powder while it was cooking through.. I think it really helped with the flavors! Next time, might add a little tyme. Served with Hawaiian Sweet Rolls. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodilee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Red Potatoes

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I used 2lbs peeled Idaho potatoes rather than red skin. They were very good, but they took much longer to cook than what recipe called for. I cut each tater into about 6-8 pieces, but maybe next time go even smaller so they cook quicker. I gave it the 30 mins covered, and then another 25 uncovered, and they still couldve been a bit more done. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andreavyse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This was really just okay for us. I made as written, except that I too put the glaze on the top of the meatloaf the last 15 mins of cooking. It was just a tad bit bland for our taste. We added ketchup to it on our plate, which helped some, but still wasnt a favorite. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andreavyse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

Cheeseburger and Fries Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I've made this a few times as written and yes, it is a bit bland. I just use extra seasoning and a little dijon mustard in the soup mix and it's great. Tonight I wanted to make this, but I was out of the soups. I used Manwich instead and it was super good. This is a great starter recipe and very family friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andicaity

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I believe this is the same recipe I used to use that was in my old Betty Crocker cookbook. The taste was very good, but I did have to make a change to the temp. of the recipe. I baked the first batch at 400 for 8 minutes, and took them out when it smelled like they were starting to burn. They were slightly overcooked on the bottoms and had spread out too much. In subsequent batches, I turned it down to 375 for 8 min., and they were perfect - no burning, sticking or spreading. My oven is only 3 years old and is usually right on for most recipes, so maybe someone else might find this helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Coconut Macaroons III

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
My kids loved these ! After they cooled, we dipped them in chocolate. Great recipe ! Will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heathermarie627

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I made these for my sister-in-law and her family. They said they were the best Chocolate Chip Cookies they had ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Followed this recipe to a T-Even used a thermometer to ensure we'd reach soft ball temp, and still ended up with a crumbly mess. Very disappointed, wasn't this supposed to be fool proof, and easy?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

E-Z Drop Biscuits

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Fast and very easy. I love this no hassle recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Potato Soup I

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This is my absolute FAVORITE potato soup. U typically try and use 2% milk in it and reduced fat sour cream. Still not healthy, but a wonderful treat. Freezes well too, to pull out dinner size portions during the winter. And I would say this makes more like 8 large servings, 6 would be overkill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andreavyse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Amish Friend's Caramel Corn

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
This recipe is wonderful. It was very easy to follow the directions. The only thing I did differently was I only baked the caramel corn for 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Country Fried Steak

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
This was by far the best country fried steak recipe out there. The crust stayed on and it was crispy. I will be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States