Westland, Michigan - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Fettuccine with Sweet Pepper-Cayenne Sauce

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
If this is 4 servings, then they must be for VERY hungry people!! Made this last night, even weighed out the pasta to make sure I only used 12oz dry pasta, and this was much more like 6 or 7 servings. I did add about 3/4lb of chicken, which I precooked and then just added at the end when I mixed the pasta and sauce. Also used only about 1/2cup of broth and consistancy was fine. Added a bit more cayenne at the end,wasnt spicy enough for our taste. Overall, very good, its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andreavyse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

Simple Turkey Chili

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Hubby and I put enjoyed, I took a few recommendations on change, but not much. I used about 1.25lb turkey, that was size of container, reduced water to 1 cup (this was perfect) and added a can of pinto beans as well. I mashed half the pinto and half the kidney beans, and put the rest in whole. Doubled my garlic, all other spices remained the same. I did end up simmering it for about 90 mins, waiting for hubby to get home. Looking forward to leftovers since everyone says this is so much better the next day! Topped with shredded cheddar and reduced fat sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andreavyse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

Cornbread Muffins I

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I liked these alot, hubby gave them an 8.5 out of 10 stars, which isnt bad considering he is not a huge cornbread fan! I had a medium grind cornmeal in the house, so muffins were a but gritty, next time I will make sure I have a fine grind in the pantry to make these. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andreavyse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

Baked Pork Chops I

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
The only change I made was I used Golden Mushroom soup and these are simply AMAZING!!! I use bone in thick cut chops. I've shared this recipe with friends and it's become a favorite amongst all of us. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAPPYPANTS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Cream Pasta with Chicken

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This is delicious!!! If you like lemon you will love this!! The only thing I would recommend is doubling the ingredients. Oh, and I cut grape tomatoes is half for a bit of color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

Corned Beef Hash

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Made this for dinner tonight! As it was the day before Easter and I was pressed for time, it was a quick, easy dinner. I used about a pound of leftover corned beef and instead of using fresh potatoes, I used the frozen Southern style hash browns, that are diced into cubes. This was VERY quick and easy! I did nearly double the beef broth and added extra onion (we love onions). I used most of the 32 oz. bag of potatoes, but you could use more or less, according to preference. Because they were frozen, it took a bit longer to come to a boil, but were done in 30". Even my picky kids, who don't like casseroles, ate it! I'm looking forward to having the leftovers with a fried egg on Monday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Soft Pretzels I

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
These didn't turn out the way I wanted them to, and they didn't have a great pretzel flavor to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Potato Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
This was an interesting recipe. It was a little different than the baked potato soup I am used to but it was delicious all the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Meringue Mushrooms

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
This recipe didn't quite work out for me but I know if I made the recipe again they would turn out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This. Is. EXCELLENT!!! I added boiled broccoli and mushrooms and served over angel hair pasta and topped with parmesean cheese. Oh and served fresh baked Vienna bread to soak up the butter sauce. Tasted just like a restaurant dish! Not ONE piece was leftover :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAPPYPANTS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Famous Chicken Francaise

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
This was pretty good. Only thing I really changed was to dip in flour, then egg, then flour again after reading several reviews. The lemon flavor was just perfect. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andreavyse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
These were just okay to us, probably wouldnt make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andreavyse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA
Photo by karenury

Beef Tenderloin Stuffed with Lobster

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I've made this dish several times and every time I taste it, I'm in heaven. If you get a large tail (8 or 9 ounces) you should only need two for a 4 pound tenderloin. I cook mine at 400° for about 35 minutes (or 145 degrees) and it comes out PERFECT every time. PLEASE don't cook it any longer, as you can see in my photo, after 30 minutes the meat is just under medium. Well worth the price, this is such an impressive dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karenury

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: East Jordan, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Use pork shoulder, butt or even loin, not tenderloin! Tenderloin is too lean for this recipe. You need a roast with some fat marbled through it to give it flavor and keep it from drying out while cooking! Delicious though! The root beer helps tenderize the meat, beautifully & I don't think it comes out tasting like root beer if u cook it long enough.. just gives a slight sweet taste to the meat. I always do a light dry rub, before putting it in & pouring the root beer around it. I Cook it low & slow..about 8 hours, basting it a few times, if i'm home. Then just drain, shred it up, discarding any fatty bits. Add lotsa Sweet Baby Ray's and cook for another hour..or two. Serve "slider" style on mini buns w/ coleslaw and seasoned potato wedges. Just started one. Does not get easier than this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodilee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Teriyaki Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
This May sound crazy to some of you.. but I up'ed the soy sauce and olive oil to 1/2 C each and added waay more garlic. Also added a tbsp of balsalmic vinager. (Used an almost 3 lb. tenderloin) Marinated for about 3 hours. We use this marinade for venison stks... Didn't realize how good it would work on pork! Turned out so suculent and moist! Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodilee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pheasant Pesto Pasta

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
We all love this!! I used chicken and we fought over the leftovers :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAPPYPANTS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tzatziki Sauce (Yogurt and Cucumber Dip)

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Mmmmm! I had been craving this since I had it at a local diner and it was perfect! Used greek yogurt. Dill instead of mint and extra garlic! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodilee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

New Orleans Corn Bisque with Smoked Sausage

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
FANTASTIC soup and easy to do! Couple changes I did, I used about 3 cups potatoes because the 2 I had were large, why not throw it all in? I also added the potatoes in raw, when I added the corn and sausage, and then let simmer for 20 mins. Used skim milk and thickened up just fine. Added few shakes of creole spice and red pepper flakes for a kick. Will make again for sure, hubby says dont change a thing! To us, it didnt even need parsley or cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andreavyse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

Parmesan Orange Roughy

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Excellent and easy recipe!! Only change I made was I used Ritz cracker crumbs because I was out of breadcrumbs. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andreavyse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

Flatlander Chili

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Very good only change I made was using chunky salsa in place of tomato sauce...Onions, peppers, tomatos and spices all in one jar! And added a small can of corn. Served with sharp cheddar and tortilla crisps ~ Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodilee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States