Westland, Michigan - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
I made this recipe when I was having a sleep-over for my son and his friends, along with his brother and my grandson. When my son announced that that they wanted pancakes for a late breakfast, at first I was worried because I knew I didn't have enough pancake mix to make enough to feed all those boys! Allrecipes to the rescue! This was a delicious recipe, using using ingredients that were simple pantry staples. I double the recipe, the boys devoured them with only one pancake left - which I ate. :) This is so much better than any box mix, and quick and simple to make. The milk/vinegar has 5" to sit while you assemble the dry ingredients and melt the butter. I'm sure I'll be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

American Potato Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I just made this recipe this morning for a family barbecue! I added some balsamic vinegar and sweet hot mustard and garlic to it. Upon completion, it tasted great and my husband thought so too! I can hardly wait to share with my family this afternoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Honey-Soy Pork Steaks

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
These were good, not great. Hubby didnt care for the marinade at first, then said it grew on him, but wasnt something he would probably choose to do again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andreavyse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

Cornbread Salad

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I made this recipe for a Christmas party at work. Turned out pretty good, and got some nice comments on it. I did want to mention that it is very labor-intensive, what with cooking the cornbread and bacon, chopping all the vegetables and layering in the pan. There is NO WAY the prep time could be 20 minutes!!! That's really misleading. A couple tips to save on time and the amount of dishes and pans used....I combined the mayo, sour cream and ranch mix in a 2 cup glass measuring cup to save on bowls and measuring cups. I chopped the bacon into pieces before I fried it, which eliminated laying it out in the pan and crumbing it afterward. Also added some chopped fresh cilantro to the cornbread, because I like it and it was marked down. Not sure if I would make this again, since it didn't seem amazing enough to justify all the time spent chopping, measuring, cooking and washing dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

French Bread

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKANEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Skanee, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amish White Bread

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
This is my kids' favorite bread for sandwiches! I make 4 mini-loaves instead of 2 standard-size loaves, and it makes the perfect size slices for small kids :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Butternut Squash and Spicy Sausage Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
This was my 1st time cooking any kind of squash - I followed the directions exactly and it was amazing! My only critique is that the rice soaks up the broth, so now I don't add it to the pot, but instead add some cooked rice right before I serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELACINE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Pot Pie IX

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
My husband LOVED this gravy and is thinking about using it in other recipes! LOL For the crust, I used a boxed pie crust mix. We made this in 3 single serving (16 oz) bowls and it was great! I don't really even like chicken that much, but I ate this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CINDYLU35

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Belleville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Goulash

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
My mom always made this dish when we were kids, but she didn't add the bay leaves or soy sauce. I cant wait to try this version. She always cooked it with a whole green pepper for flavor then removed it before serving with cheddar cheese and sour cream. This dish is 100 times better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karenury

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: East Jordan, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Toddler Muffins

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
These were really good, tasted like banana bread. I used 4.5oz of fresh squash, rather than baby food jar. Also ground up 1/2 oatmeal, rather than buying oat bran
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andreavyse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

Eggplant and Goat Cheese Lasagna

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Quick and easy! Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chica Chica Chickpea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
good - not great or special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andreavyse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

Spanish Rice Bake

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I thought this recipe might be a bit on the sweet side, so I added some chili powder and garlic powder to try to make it more savory. It didn't work. This actually reminded me more of a sloppy joe recipe I use that's on this site. If I made this again, I'd probably eliminate the chile sauce, brown sugar and Worcestershire, and add more chili powder and garlic powder. I didn't have any fresh cilantro on hand, so I added some dried cilantro to the ingredients before it simmered. Without the addition of the chili powder, there really would have been no spiciness at all to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Very yummy! I still added the mini marshmallows tho, they are a must have for the family :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAPPYPANTS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
If you want them to taste more like the original, cut 4 T. of butter into the dry mixture before adding the milk. The difference is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karenury

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: East Jordan, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Penne with Chicken and Asparagus

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
This version is good, but I like to add an additional 1/4 C. of olive oil to the pan after sauteing the chicken, then add 1/4 C. of flour. Cook one minute, then prepare as usual, adding an additional 2 C. of stock. This makes a nice creamy sauce, otherwise it's very dry. I also add 2 t. of dried marjoram for great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karenury

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: East Jordan, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I made this yesterday for our church fish fry, and have to say that I won't make it again. As someone else said, mine also fell in the middle as it cooled. Taste wasn't bad, but it wasn't great, either. The ingredients are very expensive, probably costing at least $20. I did have to make a couple modifications, as my grocery store didn't carry some of the ingredients. No dark chocolate and mint chips, so I used chopped Andes candies for the topping and sprinkles afterward. Also didn't have the Wilton's creme de menthe flavoring, so used peppermint extract. Otherwise, I made this exactly according to the recipe, including the brands and flavors of cake mix and frosting that was specified.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by karenury

Valentine Pizza

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
What a special meal to surprise someone with! I topped mine with orange peppers, mushrooms and pepperoni, because that's what my family likes. I'll be doing this often. This is a fun one to have the kids help with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karenury

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: East Jordan, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Glazed Sausage Bites Appetizer

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
didn't turn out as I would've liked; the meat was rather spicey for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sismajestic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inkster, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA
Photo by karenury

Bacon Risotto

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I added a couple of handfuls of frozen peas a minute before serving. I think it adds an interesting texture and sweetness to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karenury

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: East Jordan, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States