Westland, Michigan - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Fudge Truffle Cheesecake

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I just made this for the first time for a Christmas party and everybody LOVED it!! I will definitely be making this again. My sister-in-law said that it tasted like the inside of a truffle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kathy's Perfect Sugar Free Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
My friend was supposed to share the pie with me on Thanksgiving 2009, as we are both diabetic...he ate the whole pie he said it was the best he had EVER eaten and he was in love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy McQuillen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

Tasty Collard Greens

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
this was my first time making greens and i though that it came out great!! yes, i did encounter problems with the greens burning to bottom of pot because the sock was gone... but that should be easily fixed. the flavor was awesome and i will definitly make it more from here on out!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole Soto

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
This was a very simple recipe to follow and it came out Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole Soto

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Real Strawberry Frosting

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Oh yeah THIS IS THEE ONE! I could've just got a spoon and went to town! Lol! Minor things I did differently: one user said to strain the purée to take the seeds out -check! Another user said to use 1/8 t of almond extract ( in addition to the vanilla) - check! Another user said 10 minutes is all you need to cook the purée- check! And I say to use one and a half sticks of butter and a half a block of Crisco butter flavored shortening - double check! Throw in a pinch of salt and.......FABULOUS!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sismajestic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inkster, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

Zesty Quinoa Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Ive made this a few times a few different ways. I do love the way the recipe is written. My favorite way is reducing the oil. toast the quinoa a few minutes then cook in chicken stock. Used 2 cans of black beans. I added 1/4 tsp curry and 1/8 tsp ginger. Roasted the cherry tomatoes. Instead of green onion, I used red onion. Added 2 cups spinach. Feta cheese crumbles on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hummingbird Cake IV

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Yes I have tried this recipe and it's my most requested!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sismajestic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inkster, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA
Photo by Chica Chica Chickpea

Easy Enchilada Sauce

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
This is fantastic enchilada sauce! Nice job and thanks for posting. I added a photo. My sauce is going into the Chile Relleno Casserole I'm making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chica Chica Chickpea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marinated Tuna Steak

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
this was my first time making Tuna steaks. my wife does not like seafood AT ALL and i have 2 little picky eaters in the house as well. These were a HIT with all of them!!! I will definitly be making these again!!! DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole Soto

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Barbeque Chicken

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
I didn't mix the ingredients together in a bowl (to save a dish), just poured them on top of the chicken breasts and mixed them around with the chicken breasts as they cooked. I used two enormous frozen chicken breasts and they were done in less than six hours, so I don't think the cooking time is accurate. As for the problem with the sauce being watery, I noticed that and solved it by cracking the lid on the crock pot (about 1" or so) for the last hr. they cooked, turning them once, so the sauce could reduce and carmelize a bit. They were delicious, but next time I think I'll add more chicken, because there was a lot of sauce. Served it with garlic butter rice and corn, and it was a big hit with the kids! I just hope my crock pot comes clean after soaking all day and night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Barbecue Ribs

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
i made these ribs on mothers day and the marinade was absolutley delicious!!! i think that was my favorite part!! the ribs were a big hit and i will definitly use this recipe again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole Soto

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Yum! I added approx. 3 tbsp of soy sauce and some fresh/dried african blue oregano to the marinade. 1-2 hour marinade in a ziplock, flip the bag about every half. George Forman grilled it 8 mins med-high. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chica Chica Chickpea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Irish Boiled Dinner

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
ahhhh the memories thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy McQuillen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

Cream Cheese Penguins

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I can only rate this recipe on the look and preparation, since I hate black olives, carrots and pimentos! I just have a couple of ideas for making them easier to assemble. I cut a skinny wedge out of the front, as others have suggested, rather than a slit. Make sure your olives are intact, with no weak spots or tears before using. Use a sharp paring knife to cut, making sure that you don't cut any further than one side. It was easiest for me to use my finger to stuff the cream cheese and clean up the outside. I just grabbed a glob of softened cream cheese on my fingertip and stuffed it in. Then ran my finger under warm water and used my wet finger to clean off any cream cheese on the olive. They look cuter if you slightly overstuff them, giving them a more rounded chest. And you can use your moistened finger to smooth it out. The biggest problem I had was trying to make scarves out of pimentos. My slices were all mushy and I had quite a time finding one long enough to use, or to make them stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hummus III

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This recipe is the best I've found. I followed the advice of HESANTONE review and added the liquid from one can, more garlic and the red pepper flakes. I also added a couple tablespoons of feta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chica Chica Chickpea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Perfect Melt in the Mouth Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
simply delicious....no one can get enough of these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheesy Baked Cauliflower

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I steamed for 15 and baked for 20-25. Probably depends on the oven. I also used twice the mayo (light olive oil mayo) and mixed everything, including the butter in a bowl before I spread it. It looked pretty ugly when it came out of the oven, but once you chop/mix it up in a bowl, it's fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chica Chica Chickpea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Aunt Johnnie's Pound Cake

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I've never been a fan of pound cake but decided I needed to have at least one good pound cake recipe. This cake exceeded all my expectations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ham Pinwheels

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I made these for a quick summer dinner tonight. I didn't have bacon or Emeril's seasoning, but substituted by sprinkling them liberally with some smoked Spanish paprika I had on hand. I made them with the smaller flour tortillas so we could eat them as roll-up sandwiches. I also added some chopped up green onions. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
I made this recipe when I was having a sleep-over for my son and his friends, along with his brother and my grandson. When my son announced that that they wanted pancakes for a late breakfast, at first I was worried because I knew I didn't have enough pancake mix to make enough to feed all those boys! Allrecipes to the rescue! This was a delicious recipe, using using ingredients that were simple pantry staples. I double the recipe, the boys devoured them with only one pancake left - which I ate. :) This is so much better than any box mix, and quick and simple to make. The milk/vinegar has 5" to sit while you assemble the dry ingredients and melt the butter. I'm sure I'll be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States