Kalamazoo - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Sweet Banana Bread

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Delicious. I don't think this was too sweet at all, I think it had a consistency & taste of a muffin-a delicious moist muffin. I tweaked the spices-because I am a flavor fanatic, I threw in some pumpkin pie spice, too. Also a TBS of imitation vanilla flavoring. I also cooked it for an hour and ten minutes in a 13x9 pan, turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

A Very Popular BBQ Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
The best BBQ sauce, wonderful as is, but if you make changes it won't change the basic recipe too much. But I say start with the recipe and see if you like it (which you should because it is fantastic!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Potato Pork Chop Bake

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This was so good. I uses Simply Potatoes hash browns instead of frozen and followed one of the reviewer idea of the cream of mushroom soup with garlic. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tasty Collard Greens

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
The best greens I have ever had, perfect. Even the children gobbled them up. I didn't change a thing, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Absolutely The Best Shrimp Scampi

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
We loved this recipe, a different twist on scampi. We had fried a bit of bacon for salad and started the sauté with the leftover bacon grease with the olive oil and a bit of butter. I had no brandy but used a blended whiskey (yum), added some lemon juice at the end and threw some parmesan cheese on as we served it on some pasta. Not too much pasta because the shrimp became the main character for the entre. Wedge salad and garlic bread completed the meal, Heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whiskey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mattawan, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Lime Fruit Toss

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Really good. I loved how it used all natural ingredients. This makes a wonderful desert. The kids couldn't get enough of it. Not too sweet and not too tart. The perfect fruit salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This was very good. Followed the recipe other than only using one 14.5 oz can of chicken broth instead of 2.5 cups and also only had dry rosemary and thyme on hand. I used a boneless roast instead of the bone-in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This was pretty good. I followed the recipe exactly even though I was planning on getting reduced sodium ingredients based on other reviews and then forgot. Next time I will buy the low sodium b/c it is a bit too salty otherwise. My kids thought they were like mini meat loafs and preferred to scrape off the gravy (which I love!) and put ketchup on them! Maybe I will add fresh mushrooms to it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Meatloaf

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Really nice, simple recipe. Makes meatloaf that sticks together well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Old Fashioned Onion Rings

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
These were good but a little tricky to make without a deep fryer since I didn't have any way to know the temperature of the oil. The first one I had my stove set at 8 and it started to burn too fast so I turned it down to 4 and they didn't cook so probably around 6-7 is good. If you let the onions sit too long to drip then the bread crumbs do not stick so well and the whole breading starts to come off in the oil. I am sure it all takes practice to get it down right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
We really liked this easy recipe. I pretty much followed directions other than using pinto beans instead of the chili beans and since we are not big beer flavor fans I used chicken broth. Ok, so maybe that is a major change to the base flavor! I put frozen chicken breasts in the crock pot on low for close to 8 hours since it was overnight and then shredded it and it was perfect. I think I will do one can of tomatoes with chilis and one plain next time b/c it was a bit spicy for the kids (used Rotel with chilis, lime, and cilantro). I added a little dry cilantro to it as well. Sour cream and chips is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Brown Bread

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I love this recipe. i give as gifts for xmas and they all love it. sooo very good. mmmmm good :):) Just like my mom use to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bonbon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Martha's Spanish Rice and Sausage

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Very good weeknight meal. I added southwestern diced tomatoes, celery , a a little tomato sauce and kidney beans. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Turkey Tetrazzini with Cheddar and Parmesan

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
My husband and I really liked this. I did add garlic powder and onion salt. It was even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Really good crust. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
It felt like a very light and healthy dish, but it was a little bland for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peace.emily

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Bean Chicken Chili

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I loved it! My fiance couldn't stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peace.emily

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Unbelievable Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This was pretty good. Followed the recipe other than having to use honey mustard instead of coarse ground and I only used 2 tbs b/c I didn't want it to be over powering. It was too salty for our taste though so I would cut down to 1 tsp or even 3/4 tsp. salt. We are not huge mustard fans so I don't think it will be a staple but it is good for once in a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Parmesan Garlic Orzo

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This turned out good. Had to use dry parsley b/c that is all I had on hand. Used 3 cloves of garlic and about half the butter called for. My husband even liked it and he doesn't like rice type things which this is more like than an actual pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chinese Pepper Steak

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
This was so good! I listened to some of the other reviewers and added garlic and oyster sauce. I've been looking for a excellent pepper steak and this one is it! This is going in my recipe box! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States