Jackson, Michigan - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Cucumber Sandwich

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Great sandwich! I didn't have sprouts or avocado, so I added some sweet onion and some fresh red bell pepper, otherwise made the recipe as written, on crunchy oat bread. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRACYMAXPIT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Robin's Spicy Ribs

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
I cut back on the peppers and didn't add the cracked red pepper. It didn't have enough heat, but the favors were great and it set up an nice char on the ribs on the grill. Next time I will add the pepper flakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Peach Custard Pie III

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Although the pie turned our having a good flavor, the sugar mixture on top of the pie never did anything. I expected it to soak into the filling and turn into a sugary topping. It just sat there and turned a powdery brown. The pie was no where done in 30 minutes, so I took it out and tried to mush the topping into the filling, but that didn't work. I made with peaches and only needed 3 peaches, sliced. Even with fewer peaches, the deep dish pie shell was over filled with the liquid. Pie was done after a total of 50 minutes and the flavor was nice. Made with peaches, but any fruit would do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Turkey Burgers with Brie, Cranberries, and Fresh Rosemary

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Fixed as written, but couldn't really taste the Brie. We cooked them on the grill, but the cheese did not ooze out and they stayed together very well. Next time I will put the Brie in the middle for a stuffed burger. Otherwise, the favors were great. The cranberries made it taste kind of like thanksgiving turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Easy Batter Fruit Cobbler

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Wonderful and easy too! Melted just two tablespoons of butter, otherwise followed the directions. Made with fresh peaches, skin on, and topped with cool whip. Delish! Can see using any fruit with this recipe. Will keep in my favorites file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Carnitas with Pico De Gallo

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Fixed this as written and it was absolutely delicious! We ate it in tortillas the first meal, but had leftovers without the tortillas and the pico de gallo on top. It made tons, so I froze the rest. I think it would be fabulous over rice with the pico on top. You could even add BBQ sauce to the shredded meat and have a super BBQ pork. I will use this crockpot method anytime I want super tender pulled pork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Barbequed Steelhead Trout

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Fixed as written but baked in the oven. Not sure grilling would have added that much more, but might try in the future
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Greek Style Potatoes

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Fixed as written. Cooking the potatoes first in broth and garlic gave a deep rich flavor to the potatoes. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Spicy Party Pretzels

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Reduced oil to 1/4 cup...doesn't need anymore than that. Didn't bake, jut added liquids to pretzels in a zip lock bag and shook until mixed. Turned and shook the bad every 15 minutes until thoroughly mixed. Perfect and addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Tortilla Moo Shu Pork

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Used thin cut pork chops that I sliced into thin strips and stir fried. Then added the green onions, ginger and garlic. Then added the sauce mix and simmered on low for 20 minutes. Will cut that to 15 minutes as the sauce cooled away. Didn't do the carrots and it was very good just the pork and cole slaw. Will gomintonmy favorites file
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Southern Potato Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Followed another reviewer's suggestion and added 1 T. cider vinegar and 2 tsp sugar(I used splenda). Also added a vadelia onion. Husband deemed it very good. Will certainly make again with these adjustments
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Southern Potato Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Followed another reviewer's suggestion and added 1 T. cider vinegar and 2 tsp sugar(I used splenda). Also added a vadelia onion. Husband deemed it very good. Will certainly make again with these adjustments
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Bifana

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Only a few things that can be done with rhubarb, most of them desserts. Rhubarb mushy, but very tasty. Didn't have garlic powder, so used minced garlic, about 2T. I used Thomson raisins, but dried cherries or cranberries could also be used. Just keep an eye on it so it doesn't burn to the bottom of the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tangy Sweet Potato Fries

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Cut the sweet potatoes into fried(I used two large potatoes). I mixed the salad dressing and cheese together, then tossed the fries into the dressing. I spread them out on parchment paper and turned after 20 minutes. I cooked another twenty minutes, checked them and they weren't quite done, so baked them for another 10 minutes. I should have cooked another 20 and I think they would have crisped up a bit. The flavor was good and it is a nice change from typical sweet potato fried. I think you could get away with using half the dressing and the fries might be a little less limp and have some crisp on the outside. I plan to try that next time...and there will be a next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Outrageous Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Oh my gosh. THese cookies FAILED! They aer mushy and they spreqad ou6t way too thin! >:( All the good reviews made me want to make them, and they are terrible. I am writing this just as they come out of ther oven (haven't even cooled yet!) The taste was fine! I wiould maek it again, but they would do the same thing.... :( I am reallly disappoointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Red Lentil and Yellow Split Pea Soup Made with a Pressure Cooker

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Not having a pressure cooker, I just made the soup and added ham. Wow! I love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Balsamic Goat Cheese Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Wow...this was FANTASTIC! Te only thing I did differently was to add some sundried tomatoes on top of the goat cheese before I folded the breast closed. If you added mushrooms, I think it would be an easy copycat of Carrabbas stuffed chicken breast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Horseradish Pork Chops

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Great recipe! Used thick, stuffed pork chops and pinko bread crumbs. Followed others and seasoned with salt, pepper, garlic powder and oregano. Baked for 1 1/2 hours. No need to put under the broiler as the crumbs were brown enough and had formed a nice crust. Smelled heavenly while cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Horseradish Pork Chops

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Great recipe! Used thick, stuffed pork chops and pinko bread crumbs. Followed others and seasoned with salt, pepper, garlic powder and oregano. Baked for 1 1/2 hours. No need to put under the broiler as the crumbs were brown enough and had formed a nice crust. Smelled heavenly while cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Quinoa Almond Pilaf

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
I really liked this and will use the recipe again. However if you aren't a fan of black pepper, you may find 1/8 t. too much. Next time, I'll add only a dash of pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States