Jackson, Michigan - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Horseradish Pork Chops

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Great recipe! Used thick, stuffed pork chops and pinko bread crumbs. Followed others and seasoned with salt, pepper, garlic powder and oregano. Baked for 1 1/2 hours. No need to put under the broiler as the crumbs were brown enough and had formed a nice crust. Smelled heavenly while cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Horseradish Pork Chops

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Great recipe! Used thick, stuffed pork chops and pinko bread crumbs. Followed others and seasoned with salt, pepper, garlic powder and oregano. Baked for 1 1/2 hours. No need to put under the broiler as the crumbs were brown enough and had formed a nice crust. Smelled heavenly while cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Quinoa Almond Pilaf

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
I really liked this and will use the recipe again. However if you aren't a fan of black pepper, you may find 1/8 t. too much. Next time, I'll add only a dash of pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Brownies

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I just got done making these, took my first bite, and let me tell you... These are delicious! They are just as easy to make as boxed brownies and taste worlds better. Give them a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AshBash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Haslett, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mayo Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
This was surprisingly good. I was just looking for something easy, and it was. Instead of fresh rosemary, I powdered some dried rosemary in the blender and put the garlic through a press. I didn't apply the mayonnaise mixture too thickly, so it was not too rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheesecake Cupcakes

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I used 4 packages of cream cheese to make it a little more thicker and creamier and I used 4 eggs. It turned out really good! I made them twice. The first batch I used a mint Oreo cookie for the bottom for a little something different. The second time I just did cinnamon graham cracker. Everyone I gave one to loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smiley94

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mall Pretzels

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klineellie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Spring Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Green Monster Smoothie

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I've added another T of peanut butter and a scoop of chocolate protein powder. You can also use parsley which has a milder flavour. (My parakeets like the stems, so I have to use up the rest!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Pasta

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Yummy. I made it exactly as stated and it was out of this world!Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth Daley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Omelet Roll

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Yeah, this was a little disappointing. 450 degrees baked them in half the time, they set up nicely but they didn't roll up for me, even following others' suggestions. With a half cup of flour, they were a cross b/t pancakes and eggs, and the taste wasn't there. I suppose if you'd add onions, green pepper, ham, bacon, etc. to the cheese it would be better, but I wouldn't put so much flour in if I made it again, which I probably won't be doing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Pudding Fudge Cake

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I have made this cake several times for gatherings w/ friend/family and has been a huge hit. Very easy to make and super moist. Funny I am posting this now because I am making it and forgot how long to bake it. Ooops. This definately worth a try and trust me you will got back to it time and time again. Quick go to for last minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hailee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yale, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven Fresh Seasoned Potato Wedges

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Love it just the way it is. I've made it several times and the whole family devours them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth Daley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bryan's Sweet and Hot Tomato Pasta Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Better than store bought!. Followed the recipe and it was very, very good. I thought it was a tad sweet, but husband said he thought it was just right. Next time I will cut the brown sugar down to 1/4 cup and see if I like it better. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Artichoke Spinach Lasagna

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Good Stuff! I added mushrooms to the mix and used fresh spinach instead. I also did a layer of sliced kumato tomatoes, and I threw in some fresh chopped basil. I also did a layer of ricotta, but would skip that next time and do cottage cheese instead. It was a little too watery the first night, but the liquid soaked up the next day and I always think it tastes better the next day anyways. This was a hit even with serious carnivores. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle maere

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caribbean Holiday Shrimp

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I took this to a New Years's party and it was gone in mere minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRACYMAXPIT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buffalo Wontons

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Fixed with the intent to bake rather than fry. Followed another reviewer's suggestion and reduced the butter to 1 T. The butter is needed to firm up the sauce, but I think it could be reduced to 1 tsp and the sauce refrigerated for an hour. 1 T still made the won tons greasy. I sealed the won tons with water instead of egg and they stayed together. I placed them on parchment paper, which helped crisp then up. I also sprayed with olive oil non stick spray. I baked at 375 degrees for 10 minutes, then turned them and baked another 10 minutes. They were only slightly soft and I think with less butter they would be even crisper. The flavor a were wonderful, but a bit spicy for me. My husband thought they were just right. They were a real treat and I will definitely fix again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Buffalo Wontons

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Fixed with the intent to bake rather than fry. Followed another reviewer's suggestion and reduced the butter to 1 T. The butter is needed to firm up the sauce, but I think it could be reduced to 1 tsp and the sauce refrigerated for an hour. 1 T still made the won tons greasy. I sealed the won tons with water instead of egg and they stayed together. I placed them on parchment paper, which helped crisp then up. I also sprayed with olive oil non stick spray. I baked at 375 degrees for 10 minutes, then turned them and baked another 10 minutes. They were only slightly soft and I think with less butter they would be even crisper. The flavor a were wonderful, but a bit spicy for me. My husband thought they were just right. They were a real treat and I will definitely fix again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Juicy Thanksgiving Turkey

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Was really intrigued by this recipe and decided to risk a fresh turkey and fix it. All I had for a sparkling wine was an Asti spomonte that smelled very sweet when it was opened. Went for broke and used it anyway. It even didn't smell that great while it was cooking, so I was worried the whole time. I used a cooking bag and it was done In a little over two hours for a 14 pound turkey. The turkey had a pop up button it it was right on for the doneness. The results.....FABULOUS!!!!!! The skin was perfectly browned(from the sugar in the wine I am sure), the meat was juicy and tender and the gravy from the juices was outstanding. What I would do differently next time is pour the sparkling wine over and in the bird, then rub with olive oil and then the spices. Pouring the wine over the bird after rubbing with the spices just rinsed all the spices off the top. I think any sparkling white wine would do, tho would not use such a sweet wine the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Easy Bake Fish

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
We were going to grill our salmon, but that fell through at the last minute. Found this very simple recipe and decided to give it a try. Had a nice balance of sweet and savory. I will keep it in my rotation. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Best Black Beans

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Easy. I didn't mean to, but I ate the whole pot. I added 1T chili powder and lime juice. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States