Jackson, Michigan - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Simple and Delicious Buttercream Frosting

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Best frosting I have made. Used all butter, since my enormous can of shortening had gone bad, and it turned out divine. So light and fluffy! Used it to frost "Easy Sugar Cookies" that I found on this site, and I am telling you... Bakery quality for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AshBash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lentil Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Right on recipe! I used home made chicken stock (lower sodium) and then added some diced chicken. An instant hit! My wife said it was "lighter" than she expected and asked for some for her lunch tomorrow. Footnote: This has become our favorite Allrecipes selection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RetiredGuyCooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Lebanon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pawpaw's 3322 Big Batch Chili

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
My "stock" chili recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RetiredGuyCooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Lebanon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Northern Italian Beef Stew

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Made this up as posted - wonderful beef stew. It's a bit of work to get the prep done but the results are well worth the effort. I may have cut the beef and potatoes a bit smaller than 1 inch and with the 4 hour cooking time they were more than done, but still intact. I will keep closer to the 1 inch recommendation next time. One tip I saw somewhere that was helpful was to freeze the round steak for 15-30 minutes (not frozen hard) to make cutting it easier and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RetiredGuyCooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Lebanon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hot German Potato Salad III

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Followed the recipe except used a package of Simply Potatoes, the sliced variety, instead of peeling, cooking and slicing my own. The sauce was enough for the amount of potatoes in the package. Using this shortcut made the recipe very easy. My husband has been asking for german potatoes but every recipe I have seen before just seems too time consuming. We both loved the recipe and I will be serving him his German potatoes on a regular basis now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Slow Cooker Cinnamon Apple Steel Cut Oats

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I scaled it down for my 1 quart slow cooker. I used 1 cup steel cut oats 2 cups water, 20 oz applesauce, 3 small apples, 1 tsp cinnamon and 1 tsp brown sugar. I also added a handful of dried cranberries. Cooked it on low for 8 hours and it turned out perfectly. Very hardy breakfast. Husband loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This is just so good. Seems like it would just be plain and maybe bland, but there is just something about the flavor that is so delicious. And you can tweak it to suit your own personal taste. Personally, I used less broth, more veggies and noodles (which I had leftover from another meal, so they were precooked), and added some garlic and parsley. I'm going to try it with chicken stock next time, I think. But it was still excellent with the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AshBash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Taco Seasoning I

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Awesome. I doubled the garlic powder and onion powder, though. But a great cost saver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AshBash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Healing Cabbage Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Absolutely loved this. Made minimal changes: used chicken broth instead of water and added some Italian seasoning and a pinch of cayenne pepper. That's it! Everything else stayed the same. I have been sick the last couple days and this soup has been pretty much all I've eaten. And that's ok, because it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AshBash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
This is so good... I only revised it very little. I did soak the black eyed peas overnight with some baking soda, because mine were old and I was worried if I didn't, they wouldn't get tender. I also used chicken broth in lieu of water and bouillon, and threw in a handful each of celery and carrots. You definitely don't need added salt if you use chicken broth. Being a Yankee, I didn't know what to expect, but I totally loved it. :-) Served cornbread muffins along side and bread pudding for dessert. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AshBash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Cinnamon Apple Steel Cut Oats

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I scaled it down for my 1 quart slow cooker. I used 1 cup steel cut oats 2 cups water, 20 oz applesauce, 3 small apples, 1 tsp cinnamon and 1 tsp brown sugar. I also added a handful of dried cranberries. Cooked it on low for 8 hours and it turned out perfectly. Very hardy breakfast. Husband loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Blonde Brownies I

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Completely awesome. Doubled the recipe, omitted the walnuts, baked in a 13x9 pan, and they came out divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AshBash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Used the mid-sized mushroom caps and greek dressing as I didn't have Italian. Fresh spinach wilted in a pan with diced stems and garlic. Omitted the pepperoni. Served as a side dish and put in pita bread the next day for a sandwich with some tomato and lettuce. Wonderful flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Fixed as written. Although the skin was not crispy, it was OK. The taste of the chicken was very bland. I would rather cook in the oven for 1 1/2 hours and get the flavor and crispy skin. Maybe if you added more spices inside and out. The other thing I don't like about doing whole chickens in the crockpot is having to pick through the bones to get all the good dark meat. The breasts came out in two pieces, but I had to pick through bones to get the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Cauliflower-Cheese Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
This was a good starter recipe, however I made some changes. I cooked the chopped up vegetables in 2 tablespoons of olive oil for 5 minutes before I added the liquid. I added a bit of garlic and used vegetable broth instead of water. I also added some chopped fresh parsley, finished it off with a 4 year old cheddar. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRACYMAXPIT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fried Green Tomatoes III

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Oh my gosh! these aer the most delicous things i have evetr had!!! My dad went crazy and almost ate them all!! Great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Savory Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
I made some minor changes, adding a little retsina white wine, and mixing the melted butter with panko bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leif Borreson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sparta, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA

Two Tier Strawberry Pie

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
This is a family favorite! I picked extra strawberries this year so we could enjoy the pie more often. It is very easy to make and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth Daley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter Bars I

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
They were gone in a flash, but i did have some problems. The recipe was so tiny that i used a 9x9 instead. Next time I will have to double the recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream Cheesy Cubed Zucchini with Lemon and Oregano

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
A good light vegetable side dish. Will keep in the rotation for hot summer nights when there is an abundance of summer squash
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States