Jackson, Michigan - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Pawpaw's 3322 Big Batch Chili

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
My "stock" chili recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RetiredGuyCooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Lebanon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Northern Italian Beef Stew

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Made this up as posted - wonderful beef stew. It's a bit of work to get the prep done but the results are well worth the effort. I may have cut the beef and potatoes a bit smaller than 1 inch and with the 4 hour cooking time they were more than done, but still intact. I will keep closer to the 1 inch recommendation next time. One tip I saw somewhere that was helpful was to freeze the round steak for 15-30 minutes (not frozen hard) to make cutting it easier and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RetiredGuyCooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Lebanon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hot German Potato Salad III

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Followed the recipe except used a package of Simply Potatoes, the sliced variety, instead of peeling, cooking and slicing my own. The sauce was enough for the amount of potatoes in the package. Using this shortcut made the recipe very easy. My husband has been asking for german potatoes but every recipe I have seen before just seems too time consuming. We both loved the recipe and I will be serving him his German potatoes on a regular basis now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Slow Cooker Cinnamon Apple Steel Cut Oats

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I scaled it down for my 1 quart slow cooker. I used 1 cup steel cut oats 2 cups water, 20 oz applesauce, 3 small apples, 1 tsp cinnamon and 1 tsp brown sugar. I also added a handful of dried cranberries. Cooked it on low for 8 hours and it turned out perfectly. Very hardy breakfast. Husband loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This is just so good. Seems like it would just be plain and maybe bland, but there is just something about the flavor that is so delicious. And you can tweak it to suit your own personal taste. Personally, I used less broth, more veggies and noodles (which I had leftover from another meal, so they were precooked), and added some garlic and parsley. I'm going to try it with chicken stock next time, I think. But it was still excellent with the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AshBash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Haslett, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Taco Seasoning I

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Awesome. I doubled the garlic powder and onion powder, though. But a great cost saver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AshBash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Haslett, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Healing Cabbage Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Absolutely loved this. Made minimal changes: used chicken broth instead of water and added some Italian seasoning and a pinch of cayenne pepper. That's it! Everything else stayed the same. I have been sick the last couple days and this soup has been pretty much all I've eaten. And that's ok, because it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AshBash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Haslett, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
This is so good... I only revised it very little. I did soak the black eyed peas overnight with some baking soda, because mine were old and I was worried if I didn't, they wouldn't get tender. I also used chicken broth in lieu of water and bouillon, and threw in a handful each of celery and carrots. You definitely don't need added salt if you use chicken broth. Being a Yankee, I didn't know what to expect, but I totally loved it. :-) Served cornbread muffins along side and bread pudding for dessert. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AshBash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Haslett, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Cinnamon Apple Steel Cut Oats

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I scaled it down for my 1 quart slow cooker. I used 1 cup steel cut oats 2 cups water, 20 oz applesauce, 3 small apples, 1 tsp cinnamon and 1 tsp brown sugar. I also added a handful of dried cranberries. Cooked it on low for 8 hours and it turned out perfectly. Very hardy breakfast. Husband loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Blonde Brownies I

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Completely awesome. Doubled the recipe, omitted the walnuts, baked in a 13x9 pan, and they came out divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AshBash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Haslett, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Used the mid-sized mushroom caps and greek dressing as I didn't have Italian. Fresh spinach wilted in a pan with diced stems and garlic. Omitted the pepperoni. Served as a side dish and put in pita bread the next day for a sandwich with some tomato and lettuce. Wonderful flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Fixed as written. Although the skin was not crispy, it was OK. The taste of the chicken was very bland. I would rather cook in the oven for 1 1/2 hours and get the flavor and crispy skin. Maybe if you added more spices inside and out. The other thing I don't like about doing whole chickens in the crockpot is having to pick through the bones to get all the good dark meat. The breasts came out in two pieces, but I had to pick through bones to get the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Cauliflower-Cheese Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
This was a good starter recipe, however I made some changes. I cooked the chopped up vegetables in 2 tablespoons of olive oil for 5 minutes before I added the liquid. I added a bit of garlic and used vegetable broth instead of water. I also added some chopped fresh parsley, finished it off with a 4 year old cheddar. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRACYMAXPIT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fried Green Tomatoes III

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Oh my gosh! these aer the most delicous things i have evetr had!!! My dad went crazy and almost ate them all!! Great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Two Tier Strawberry Pie

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
This is a family favorite! I picked extra strawberries this year so we could enjoy the pie more often. It is very easy to make and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth Daley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter Bars I

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
They were gone in a flash, but i did have some problems. The recipe was so tiny that i used a 9x9 instead. Next time I will have to double the recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream Cheesy Cubed Zucchini with Lemon and Oregano

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
A good light vegetable side dish. Will keep in the rotation for hot summer nights when there is an abundance of summer squash
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Alabama Pulled Pig

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Fixed this as written except marinated it first with a Mexican marinade from a bottle I had in the fridge. Based it with the sauce Crome here while it was smoking, then wrapped it in foil with the remainder of the marinade and cooked for another 1 1/2 hours in the oven. The bark was outstanding, but the spicy flavor won't get inside unless you shred and cook, following the recipe. I think I will try injecting the meat with the sauce, then smoke/ baste and see what happens. Will let you know
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Apple Pie Muffins

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
Best muffins ever. However, you must follow the instructions. Don't make substitutes for butter, type of flour, spices or buttermilk. These were fluffy and moist...the only change I made was to halve the topping--that makes just enough for 12 muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Good Frickin' Paprika Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Followed recipe as written. Used the sherry mixture as a glaze at the end of grilling. Would use a tad more heat in both the marinade and the glaze. Was still fantastic as written
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States