Jackson, Michigan - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Fixed as written. Although the skin was not crispy, it was OK. The taste of the chicken was very bland. I would rather cook in the oven for 1 1/2 hours and get the flavor and crispy skin. Maybe if you added more spices inside and out. The other thing I don't like about doing whole chickens in the crockpot is having to pick through the bones to get all the good dark meat. The breasts came out in two pieces, but I had to pick through bones to get the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Cauliflower-Cheese Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
This was a good starter recipe, however I made some changes. I cooked the chopped up vegetables in 2 tablespoons of olive oil for 5 minutes before I added the liquid. I added a bit of garlic and used vegetable broth instead of water. I also added some chopped fresh parsley, finished it off with a 4 year old cheddar. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRACYMAXPIT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fried Green Tomatoes III

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Oh my gosh! these aer the most delicous things i have evetr had!!! My dad went crazy and almost ate them all!! Great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Two Tier Strawberry Pie

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
This is a family favorite! I picked extra strawberries this year so we could enjoy the pie more often. It is very easy to make and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth Daley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter Bars I

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
They were gone in a flash, but i did have some problems. The recipe was so tiny that i used a 9x9 instead. Next time I will have to double the recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream Cheesy Cubed Zucchini with Lemon and Oregano

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
A good light vegetable side dish. Will keep in the rotation for hot summer nights when there is an abundance of summer squash
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Alabama Pulled Pig

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Fixed this as written except marinated it first with a Mexican marinade from a bottle I had in the fridge. Based it with the sauce Crome here while it was smoking, then wrapped it in foil with the remainder of the marinade and cooked for another 1 1/2 hours in the oven. The bark was outstanding, but the spicy flavor won't get inside unless you shred and cook, following the recipe. I think I will try injecting the meat with the sauce, then smoke/ baste and see what happens. Will let you know
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Apple Pie Muffins

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
Best muffins ever. However, you must follow the instructions. Don't make substitutes for butter, type of flour, spices or buttermilk. These were fluffy and moist...the only change I made was to halve the topping--that makes just enough for 12 muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Good Frickin' Paprika Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Followed recipe as written. Used the sherry mixture as a glaze at the end of grilling. Would use a tad more heat in both the marinade and the glaze. Was still fantastic as written
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Grilled Sweet Potatoes

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Used a little less cayenne and cumin. Cubed the potatoes and cooked on the grill I. The packets, turning halfway through. Very good, tender with some caramelization.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Cucumber Sandwich

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Great sandwich! I didn't have sprouts or avocado, so I added some sweet onion and some fresh red bell pepper, otherwise made the recipe as written, on crunchy oat bread. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRACYMAXPIT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Robin's Spicy Ribs

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
I cut back on the peppers and didn't add the cracked red pepper. It didn't have enough heat, but the favors were great and it set up an nice char on the ribs on the grill. Next time I will add the pepper flakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Peach Custard Pie III

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Although the pie turned our having a good flavor, the sugar mixture on top of the pie never did anything. I expected it to soak into the filling and turn into a sugary topping. It just sat there and turned a powdery brown. The pie was no where done in 30 minutes, so I took it out and tried to mush the topping into the filling, but that didn't work. I made with peaches and only needed 3 peaches, sliced. Even with fewer peaches, the deep dish pie shell was over filled with the liquid. Pie was done after a total of 50 minutes and the flavor was nice. Made with peaches, but any fruit would do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Turkey Burgers with Brie, Cranberries, and Fresh Rosemary

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Fixed as written, but couldn't really taste the Brie. We cooked them on the grill, but the cheese did not ooze out and they stayed together very well. Next time I will put the Brie in the middle for a stuffed burger. Otherwise, the favors were great. The cranberries made it taste kind of like thanksgiving turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Easy Batter Fruit Cobbler

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Wonderful and easy too! Melted just two tablespoons of butter, otherwise followed the directions. Made with fresh peaches, skin on, and topped with cool whip. Delish! Can see using any fruit with this recipe. Will keep in my favorites file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Carnitas with Pico De Gallo

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Fixed this as written and it was absolutely delicious! We ate it in tortillas the first meal, but had leftovers without the tortillas and the pico de gallo on top. It made tons, so I froze the rest. I think it would be fabulous over rice with the pico on top. You could even add BBQ sauce to the shredded meat and have a super BBQ pork. I will use this crockpot method anytime I want super tender pulled pork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Barbequed Steelhead Trout

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Fixed as written but baked in the oven. Not sure grilling would have added that much more, but might try in the future
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Greek Style Potatoes

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Fixed as written. Cooking the potatoes first in broth and garlic gave a deep rich flavor to the potatoes. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Spicy Party Pretzels

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Reduced oil to 1/4 cup...doesn't need anymore than that. Didn't bake, jut added liquids to pretzels in a zip lock bag and shook until mixed. Turned and shook the bad every 15 minutes until thoroughly mixed. Perfect and addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Tortilla Moo Shu Pork

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Used thin cut pork chops that I sliced into thin strips and stir fried. Then added the green onions, ginger and garlic. Then added the sauce mix and simmered on low for 20 minutes. Will cut that to 15 minutes as the sauce cooled away. Didn't do the carrots and it was very good just the pork and cole slaw. Will gomintonmy favorites file
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States