Jackson, Michigan - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Cornell Chicken Marinade

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
made this weekend trying to replicate the local Lions Club Chicken BBQ, and guess what? This was it! Now I have the secret recipie...so funny this simple concoction is the secret behind all the chicken sold at these charity BBQ's across the country. I followed recipie as written except I cut back the salt by 1/2, and it was perfect - I marinated in a zip lock bag overnight - close to 24 hours. then grilled with fresh batch of marinade to baste with frequently. Results were great - family loved it. Leftovers were great cold for lunch! Will for sure make again, but may follow suggestion of another review and add some lemon juice and hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcb62

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Artichoke Spinach Lasagna

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Turned out fantastic using no boil noodles. Otherwise may have been a bit watery. Made this tonight for friends and they all thought it was delicious. Will definitely add this recipe to my collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asian Ginger Dressing

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Keeper! Followed other reviewers on the soy and sesame oil and added some toasted sesame seeds. Will follow advice on freezing ginger next time. Update - using lower sodium soy, I have done this as written with one enhancement, I placed the ingredients in a blender. This allows you to "blend" the garlic and ginger into the dressing reducing the effort to mince them. Still chop them, but the blender makes for a smoother dressing. The hint to freeze the ginger also works well, but the blender helps more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RetiredGuyCooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Lebanon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Green Beans with Cherry Tomatoes

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Keeper! Skipped the sugar and garlic salt and added 2 cloves minced garlic and a dash of kosher salt. I will try with some mushrooms added next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RetiredGuyCooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Lebanon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

German Potato Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Fixed exactly as written. Pressure cooked for 5 minutes and let the pressure come down on its own. Potatoes were cooked perfectly and it tasted like German restaurant quality German potatoes. The only thing missing was the white flour sauce, but it isn't missed and the flavor is spot on. This is a wonderful recipe for a healthier german potato salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Penne with Chicken and Asparagus

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
My family loves this recipe! I have made it with penne and angel hair pasta, both have turned out well. The only thing I do different is use a good white wine instead of chicken broth, add some crushed red pepper for spice, and double the cheese using freshly grated. Be generous with the garlic and you will not have a bland dish! Thank you Laurel for a delish dish that is easy and quick to fix for the work week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRACYMAXPIT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cabbage and Corned Beef Chowder

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I'll give it 4 stars since I haven't made it yet, but it sounds like 5 to me! Have the corned beef and cabbage, so can't wait to try it tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cajun Style Baked Sweet Potato

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Sliced into fries, baked 1 1/4 hour at 350 degrees, turning twice. They were absolutely wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Chicken Marsala

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
A home run on the 1st try! Chicken Marsala is one of my wife's favorite dinner out dishes. No more! This was new king on the first try. I did only do two breasts and added garlic and green onion per other suggestions and made full sauce/mushroom load. Served with pasta for me and rice for her...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RetiredGuyCooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Lebanon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Marsala

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
A home run on the 1st try! Chicken Marsala is one of my wife's favorite dinner out dishes. No more! This was new king on the first try. I did only do two breasts and added garlic and green onion per other suggestions and made full sauce/mushroom load. Served with pasta for me and rice for her...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RetiredGuyCooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Lebanon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Party Pretzels

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Reduced oil to 1/4 cup...doesn't need anymore than that. Didn't bake, jut added liquids to pretzels in a zip lock bag and shook until mixed. Turned and shook the bad every 15 minutes until thoroughly mixed. Perfect and addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Perfect Turkey Gravy

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
My wife is death on package gravy and this makes a nice way to soup it up closer to what she would make from turkey drippings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RetiredGuyCooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Lebanon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken II

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Really nice lemon flavor carried into the chicken. Chicken was fork tender from the slow cooker and with carrots and potatoes added was a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RetiredGuyCooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Lebanon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Bourguignon I

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Great recipe but a bit fussy to cook. The marinade was great and the overall flavor was excellent. Next time I will likely cook the mushrooms with the other veggies and after the sauce is cooked down put it all in the crockpot to finish it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RetiredGuyCooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Lebanon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken and Sausage with Bowties

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
This turned out no be one of our favorites. Seemed a bit bland, wound up adding marinara sauce for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RetiredGuyCooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Lebanon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
These cookies are GREAT. My wife thinks they are better than the Girl Scout brand. If you like BOmeal cookies give these a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buffalo Chicken Dip

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This one never fails.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RetiredGuyCooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Lebanon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Mexican Hot Chocolate

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I love this. The end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AshBash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Haslett, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Barbecued Beef

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Let me tell you how delicious this is... I made this for my fiancé's work potluck, and it got rave reviews! Putting meat in a slow cooker is nothing new, but what makes this so good is the delicious homemade barbecue sauce! There were some complaints in reviews about the vinegary taste to the sauce, so I just left out the vinegar altogether instead of potentially ruining the whole batch. I added a little extra brown sugar, because I served them as sliders with sweet Hawaiian rolls (TOTALLY recommend you try it. SO good.) Taste the sauce before pouring it over to meat, and just adjust it to your taste, if necessary. I was using a roast straight from the freezer, so I was not able to trim the excess fat before cooking, so to address the fat/grease issue, I put the roast in the crockpot by itself on high for about 2.5 hours. The meat had softened up to a point where I could trim trim the fat and drain whatever grease was in the bottom of the slow cooker. Then I poured the sauce over and cooked on low for about 8 hours. I took another reviewer's suggestion to pour the sauce into a bowl and let it sit in the freezer while shredding the meat. The fat rises to the top and you can just skim it off with a spoon before adding the sauce back to the pot. I did need to make a bit more sauce to add in at the end. It turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AshBash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Haslett, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Chicken Pot Pie from Bisquick®

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
This recipe is very simple. I did make one mistake and forgot to thaw out the veggies first and it took just a little longer to cook. Next time I will make a few adjustments. I'll add a little milk to help loosen the sauce a little, maybe add some cooked onions, and maybe a little bit of poultry seasoning just to give it a little more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States