Grand Rapids - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Toytle

Vegan Mexican Wedding Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I did not have cake flour, so I substituted 1.5 cups of flour plus 1/4 cup of corn starch. The cookies flattened out a bit while baking, but I was still able to roll them in powdered sugar. I had to be delicate, as they crumbled rather easily. Otherwise, they were good and everyone seemed to like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toytle
Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ground Beef Stroganoff

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
This got rave reviews from my family (and me). Like other reviewers: I INcreased the sour cream by half and DEcreased the mayo by half. Used fresh mushrooms (sauteed separately in butter and stirred in about 1T flour, then added it all to the burger/cream mixture to thicken the sauce). Added quite a bit more dry mustard to taste. Also added worcestershire and salt/pepper to taste. Amazing, simple and something that will go on our regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rockford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mini Bison Meat loafs

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I actually made this using Bison Meat. Something that is leaner with almost no fat. It was delicious!! I made a double recipe for just my wife and I thinking I was going to have some for my lunches for the week to follow, I was wrong. It all went that evening
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steven DeJong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

Mini Meatloaves

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I actually made this using Bison Meat. Something that is leaner with almost no fat. It was delicious!! I made a double recipe for just my wife and I thinking I was going to have some for my lunches for the week to follow, I was wrong. It all went that evening
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steven DeJong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Chili

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Grandma, husband and preschooler loved it. It's was a great easy recipe. I did make a couple changes. I did 1 pound beef and 1 pound ground turkey. 1 of the tomatoes we used a can of dived tomatoes with red chiles/ chipotle. Finally we did 2 cans of chili beans and reduced the chili powder because of it. We eat a lot of chili and my husband is usually in charge. This was the first one I've made in a long time. Good easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

Molasses Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I learned something valuable today. I keep looking for different molasses/gingersnap cookie recipes and I need to stop doing that. I made this with the revisions that several people recommended. I wish I had added the 2nd t. of soda. Also, this cookie does not have enough flour. Most recipes like this have 2 1/4 cups of flour. Mine were flat. They were unappealing. The last few cookies I decided to add a big T of flour and mixed it in. The last 7 cookies looked normal; puffy and nice looking. The flavor was fine but if I made these again I would add 1/4 cup of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Cherrette MacDonald

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Olie Bollen

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
My family says they are exactly like my grandma's so this recipe is a win for me. I only used 1 pkg of yeast, shortening for frying and only raisins everything else was exactly as written. oh & I sprinkled them with sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Potunas

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
We really enjoy this for a change up of the ordinary. Lots of options: Crumble bacon on top, add green onions, different spices to add a twist (italian, seafood, etc.) and super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cottage Cheese Pancakes

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Here's a couple of keys to this recipe - I took the advice of another reviewer and added vanilla. I put everything in the blender. I used cake flour and 2 T melted butter. The key to this recipe is to use a griddle - not a frying pan. A griddle helps immensely so you have the room to quickly slide a spatula under each pancake and flip it with ease. These are somewhat delicate so you would have to be very adept to do this in a frying pan. I used blueberries, a little butter and real maple syrup. This made enough for two people - we both enjoyed them and love the fact that it only had 1/3 cup of flour. You really don't even miss it. The texture is a little eggy, but not as thin as a crepe. We loved it and will make in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Cherrette MacDonald

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baby Back Ribs

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
So good and so easy! I have tried all "secrets" for making great ribs - coke, beer, special rubs, marinates, blanching, boiling, ets... But this is the best ever. I use a high quality BBQ Sauce and leave it in the fridge for 2 days. I cook them on a sheet pan covered with foil, open them up at the end, add more sauce and crank the oven to 450 or broil for 10 minutes. Fall off the bones, full of flavor and NO Mess to clean up. Sometimes the simplest things are the best....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef9

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Quebec, Quebec, Canada

Perfect Sushi Rice

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
This rice is SO sweet and SO SO vinegary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandie Baker Van Dyke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Made it yesterday, I had a bowl last night and going to have it today for lunch. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steven DeJong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I made these for supper last night and they were really good. Now keep in mind that I have never had them but my husband was born and raised in Texas and knew them well as a child. He said "You nailed it Baby!" I only gave 4 stars because I did adjust the recipe after reading many reviews, for our taste and health and for the amount we were making as well. I used 1/2 the flour called for, used egg whites instead of whole eggs, used crushed croutons instead of bread crumbs or panko, and added cajun seasoning to the cornmeal mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
I made this for a potluck at work, and it turned out great! I toasted the sliced French bread with the cheese on top just before serving. My coworkers loved it! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toytle
Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Baked French Fries

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
The very best. We love them. The longer they sit with sugar on them the better. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

Rempel Family Meatloaf

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
I too have made many meatloafs over the years. This recipe is a "keeper" for sure. Thank you for sharing your family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

No Bake Double Good Dessert

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
I made this for our SS class reunion, and many asked for the recipe! I added the 1/4 c melted butter like Bynska recommended. I will make this often! Soo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Pot Pie IX

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
My husband loves this chicken pot pie! Have made it a couple of times and I'm sure I will make it many more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Made it exactly as written! Fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chasityk5592

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Springs, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
My husband said this banana bread is better than his mothers, which is saying a lot! I also added the topping suggested by Saralady19. This is our favorite banana bread now! Thanks for sharing the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States