Grand Rapids - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

No Bake Double Good Dessert

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
I made this for our SS class reunion, and many asked for the recipe! I added the 1/4 c melted butter like Bynska recommended. I will make this often! Soo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Pot Pie IX

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
My husband loves this chicken pot pie! Have made it a couple of times and I'm sure I will make it many more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Made it exactly as written! Fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chasityk5592

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Springs, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
My husband said this banana bread is better than his mothers, which is saying a lot! I also added the topping suggested by Saralady19. This is our favorite banana bread now! Thanks for sharing the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Candied Bacon

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
What surprised everyone was the bacon which I froze and stood up in a water glass. EVERYONE loved it!! I just wish I had made more. They were gone in 5 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steven

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

Caramelized Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Used thighs instead, so cooked a little longer. A few minutes under the broiler right before serving made for an even better presentation. Delicious sauce. I added grated ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Paprika-Parmesan Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I couldn't justify the butter, so we just sprayed the top with butter flavored cooking spray. It got a decent crust on it. This was a good recipe. I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

Asian Grilled Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Made this using a couple of additions from other reviews (honey & cornstarch as a thickener) Otherwise followed recipe with ingredients as stated. The chix marinated overnight. We used 1/2 of the sauce to baste during grilling with remainder for dipping sauce. The sauce is terrific, but as far as any flavors from marinating the chix, none of those flavours came through....all flavors were in the sauce. Almost forgot.....I added some lime and orange zest. The addition of the zest really enhanced the flavours of the sauce. There is not enough curry in this recipe to concern non-curry lovers...just a hint of the spice when combined with the other ingredients. I would also double the sauce next time to make sure there is enough for serving. We loved the "hint" of heat in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Felix4067

Bacon-Wrapped Chicken Stuffed with Spinach and Ricotta

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Instead of Italian seasoning I used an Italian-Romano blend from a local spice merchant, and used low-fat ricotta. This was amazing! The bacon held the rolls together so I didn't need to use toothpicks. I'm always on the lookout for low carb, tasty meals, and this definitely fits the bill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Felix4067

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Made this exactly as written a few weeks ago for a simple dinner and it was phenomenal! Husband and daughter raved about it. My mom-in-law makes this every Xmas and I've always wanted to make it, so I'd found this recipe. Fantastic! Even better than MIL's but I won't tell her that. J Trying it again tonite, sticking it in fridge but this time with 6 eggs, 1C half-n-half, and layering it like a lasagna like other reviewers. BTW left salt out both times - plenty in the sausage already. Will update review after trying it layered style!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rockford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chasityk5592

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Springs, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mediterranean Chicken Sandwich

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Quick and easy! nutrition very Tasty, scrumptious, yummy, family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

Amazing Cottage Cheese Dumplings

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
This is my family's recipe and is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by my4teengirls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fabulous Zucchini Grinders

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Super easy vegetarian friendly recipe. I was so lazy and just used canned marinara and it took about 10 minutes to put this whole thing together. Will make next time with homemade sauce and I'm sure it will be even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nene

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buttery Soft Pretzels

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
These are BETTER than the mall pretzels! And WAY cheaper! This recipe works well for those who have bread makers. Just let the yeast, sugar and water do it's thing for 10 min, then procede as instructed. Then set bread maker to "Dough" cycle. In addition to vegetable oil, I added 3 tablespoons of butter. Some of the pretzels were coated in cinnamon & sugar; garlic powder, course salt, pepper, and Italian seasoning; and course salt! The finished product was AMAZING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawntee Hull

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Whole Wheat Beer Bread

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I used Killians Red.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
We make this almost weekly in the summer! A family favorite. However, my kids and hubby do not like raisins so I always use dried cranberries or dried cherries. It's the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betsy Grace
Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Casnovia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
A bit grainy due to the whole wheat flour. I didn't see the cook's note about substituting butter for the oil, until it was too late - I wish I had used butter. I filled the cups almost to the top and got 18 muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Pie Muffins

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Used 3/4 cup plain yogurt + 1/4 milk as substitute for buttermilk. Make sure to melt butter as directed - it makes a difference. I always add chopped walnuts (2/3 cup). Made 24 standard size muffins, but I only fill about 2/3 full. Any fuller and the streusel topping spills over and cooks onto the pan edges making removal from the pan difficult. It is good to use foil liners on this one(usually i go without any liners)to make handling and removal easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pizza Pasta Bake with Sausage

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I loved it even though the only veggie I had was black olives. Can't wait to make it again with all my favorite pizza veggies. Satisfied my pizza craving with no pizza place or frozen pizza in sight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States