East Lansing - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Layered Eggplant Hamburger Casserole

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
This was tastey. I only had 1lb of ground beef and it was still fine. Next time I's going to cut the water to 1c; there's enough moisture in there without all the extra. Will definately make this again, especially when eggplant is plentiful at the farmer's market!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jan

Greek Tomato Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Excellent. Made several times w/ cherry and grape tomatoes purchased at a farmers' market. Cut them in half. They were thin-skinned beauties: easy to bite into. Don't know how long it's good in the fridge because it goes so fast. I also don't do onion rings. They are difficult to eat. Cut thicker rings, then cut those into 1/8ths or smaller. Other reviewers have great ideas: serve on lettuce, and you could almost add anything and it would taste just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Campbell's® Beef and Mushroom Dijon

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
This was good; mustard taste was not overwhelming, but it was strong. I'll make this again, but I may 1/2 the reccomended mustard. I liked serving this over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Applesauce Pork Loin

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
This was too easy to taste this good! All I had was THICK cut pork chops, so (after seasoning and browning as directed) I just put 3 of those in the oven with the sauce mix for about 50 minutes, until internal temp was 155, then covered with foil and let them rest 10 minutes before serving. They were fantastic! Reheated well as leftovers, too. I'll make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
This is GREAT, and rediculously easy! Slightly on the sweet side, probably because of the onion I used, very pleasing and you can kick up the heat or tone it down from the chili seasoning you use! I let it simmer for about 2 hours, 3 if you have time. Even better the next day! Total keeper for ease and wonderful results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bourbon Chicken Dish

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
This was just so-so; glad I tried it but doubt I'll make it again (I was really excited about this, too!). It just turned out bland, even with using 1/2 c bourbon; I felt like it was a waste of good spirits. The chicken was tender enough to cut with a fork, but didn't pick up any flavor. I wonder if result would be different if bourbon was mixed in with the soup & cheese mixture. This was definately worth trying, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef and Mushroom Lasagna

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
This was easy and good! Pasta hating boyfriend liked it, too! :) Made it exactly as directed except used whole jar of sauce and used a mix of mozzerella & swiss. Will make this again; not only does it taste good, but tastes better than the effort that is required to make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Campbell's Kitchen Easy Beef Enchiladas

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
These are great exactly as directed with a side of sour cream! And MAN, do they make a lot of food! After putting about 1c of enchilada sauce on the bottom to prevent sticking, I put my filled tortillas in a 9x13 baking dish -- it only fit 6 of them and I had 1/3 of the filling and tortillas left over to make a fresh batch in a couple days or freeze. These are very filling, especially if you add the rice, which is a great way to stretch the filling on a budget. This is a keeper for ease, taste, and being budget-friendly with typically on-hand ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Stroganoff

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I made this recipe using ground turkey instead of beef and used fresh sliced mushrooms vs canned. Also, I didn't have sour cream so I replaced it with about 2 oz of low fat sour cream. Therefore I put in slightly less soup. It was very tasty though a bit dry. I will go ahead and add all the soup next time and try it with the sour cream. Paprika is a nice spice to be added to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Alfredson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gazpacho II

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This was a great, fresh, light dinner with MINOR adjustments. I reduced the olive oil to 2 tbsp & the tomato juice to 16oz, skipped the pimentos. I also just chopped everything up and put it in the blender with gentle pulses until it was blended & almost pureed. That made it a lot easier and it tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cabbage Rolls II

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
These were great. Followed ingredients exactly except I reduced pepper to 3/4 tsp & added 1/2 tsp garlic powder & tripled onion to 3/4 c. I only had 9 good (untorn) cabbage leaves, so I put 1/3c meat mixture in each and that worked! Increased cooking time in 350 oven to about 1 hr 15 min to be sure larger rolls would be done. DEFINATELY DOUBLE THE SAUCE-- A MUST!!!! I'll definately make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken-Fried Chops

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
These were GREAT! Followed recipe exactly, cooked for 5 1/2 hours on low. Because I was at work for 9+ hrs the croc pot had been sitting on "warm" for a while; stirred the sauce a bit & served over instant mashed potatoes. I can't WAIT to make these again! :) If you want extra gravy, use 2 cans of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stupid Hot Dog Thing

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Simple flavor; comfort food & kid-friendly! This is a fun dish that you will like if you've even had a hot dog with mac & cheese on the side! :) I made a 1/2 batch & I added 1 tsp garlic powder, 1/4 tsp pepper, 1tbsp parsley flakes, & 1/2 tsp onion & herb Mrs Dash. I goofed & forgot to saute the hot dogs & the mix was a tiny bit soupy, so I put it all into a 2Qt casserole dish & baked it with some sharp cheddar cheese on top for 20 minutes. I'd also reccomend increasing the hot dogs...they got kind of lost in the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Oatmeal II

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I made a few tweaks... used 3/4 cup vanilla yogurt & 1/4 cup milk, added fresh blueberries instead of the dried cranberries & used a cinnamon/clove/nutmeg mixture. It came out oh so perfect! Moist & fluffy! Next time I will use less sugar & more blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken Parisienne

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Made exactly as directed, and tasted good! Even better next day, actually. Needed to mix up the sauce a bit after cooking, but it was tastey! Don't need to season chicken with salt, there's enough in there already with other ingredients. Good over mash, but I'm sure rice or with a side of veg would be great, too. Chicken was very tender. Thanks for sharing & enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheesy Chicken and Rice

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
In order to cut my cooking time down, I put the chicken breasts in my George Foreman grill and just browned them, about 5-6 minutes. I also didn't have white rice on hand, so I used a package of Uncle Ben's Long Grain and Wild Rice (original recipe) using the seasoning packet and added the frozen broccoli, soup and water to that in the baking dish. Put the chicken on top, cooked for 25 minutes covered with foil. It needed 10 more minutes but was done perfectly. I didn't add cheese. It didn't need any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Alfredson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Steff's Shepherd Pie

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Loved this! Satisfying, budget-friendly, very tastey. SUGGESTIONS: be generous with the amount of diced onion you use. Add 1/2 bag frozen mixed (diced) veggies. Add rosemary, thyme, oregano, garlic powder & pepper (all to taste) to the beef mix. Stir in or top mashed potatoes with some garlic powder. Can go with or without cheese! (A little extra seasoning & veg makes this go from good to great & only takes an extra 90 seconds of prep!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tater Tot Casserole

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I loved this. It's easy, tastey, filling, and not expensive to make. Reheats well, and the tater tot topping is just plain fun! :) I added about 2 c frozen mixed (diced) veggies and it worked nicely. This is in my official rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Herb Chicken and Potatoes

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Excellent. Added frozen tart cherries and smaller new potatoes half way through (larger potatoes already in the roaster). No soy sauce, no olive oil. Two organic chickens stuffed into a covered roaster. Coated chickens and potatoes with herb mixture. Didn't stir while cooking. Perfect. I'm wheat and corn intollerant. Looked at two soy sauces, but each had one or both. So skipped the soy sauce. Herbs really made a statement. Didn't feel a chicken needed more oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Halushki

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Waaaaaay too much cabbage. This dish really lacks flavor too and it was a disappointment. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thugglife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania

Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States