East Lansing - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I love making my own sauce now and again so this was a great recipe to mix things up. Only having whole milk on hand I used that but the rest of the recipe I followed exactly. I didn't thicken it or blend it so it still had a little chunkiness to it. We served it over spaghetti which may have been too light weight of a pasta, but we paired it with sun-dried tomato chicken sausage and sprinkled fresh spinach on top with a little parmesan. Very nice but it could use a little more kick. I will try some of the other reviews' suggestions next time. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corlett5151

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mouth-Watering Stuffed Mushrooms

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I plan on making these again this year for our holiday party. I don't even like mushrooms so I relied on the guest to tell me how good they were. They vanished off the tray. I used the mini muffin tins and yes, they kept them from tipping over, but I found it made it hard to get out without digging into the mushroom. If I use this technique again I may use the standard tin size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corlett5151

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stod

Gourmet Sweet Potato Souffle

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This is the first time I've hosted Thanksgiving at my house and I decided to skip the candied yams and make this instead. My whole family is so glad that I did! Everyone had seconds and thirds of this recipe, even people who normally don't like sweet potatoes loved this. It tastes almost like a pumpkin pie. Some changes I made after reading previous reviews: I used only half the sugar called for in the recipe and used both brown and white sugar. I cooked mine in a convection oven and still had to increase the cooking time by 20 minutes. I used an overflowing cup of half-and-half because I wanted mine a little creamier and smoother and it came out wonderfully. My family has since put me in charge of this dish for every holiday now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Turkey Noodle Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Delicious! The way I made it was very similar to the recipe, tho I did make minor changes based on what I had in the house. Omitted the celery and pimentos. Used minced red pepper in addition to the other veggies recommended. I also used 2 Tbsp of cream cheese instead of the sour cream and added a splash of chicken broth. I used tri-color rotini which gave it some really nice color. Sprinkled with bread crumbs on top before baking and it turned out perfect. I only baked it for 20 minutes since the whole thing was hot before it even went in the oven. With my omission of the amount sour cream it was much lighter and loose (crumbly). This may or may not appeal to everyone, but it was perfect for me and my husband who sometimes cringes when he knows I'm using a soup base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corlett5151

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken Stew

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
SOLID 4 stars. Good as is, I reccomend you customize it to make it amazing given your personal tastes. I like using 3 apples, 1c chicken broth, sub rosemary & oregano for italian seasoning, and being generous with garlic. Make sure you cut the potatoes small enough to cook; I was cutting mine into as many as 20 pieces (halve, quarter, chop chop chop chop...that's all it takes to make it bite size). I also chopped up the onion a bit more for more bite-size texture. Bottom line, this was satisfying, tastey, easy to make, and inexpensive. I loved it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach Beef Bake

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I really enjoyed this, but it needs to cook for 60 minutes to cook the rice all the way. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Apple Salad

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Best to cut the apples into smaller pieces so when you take a bite, the apple won't overwhelm the taste...about the same size size as a bean. (like in the photo though I peeled them!) Perfect. Such a good, unusual taste. Must be the Dijon mustard. I like salads w/ little dressing, but this needs a bit more than in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Kielbasa and Beer

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
As written, 3 stars. I will work with it to see if I can make it better. As is, couldn't taste the beer, apple, mustard or honey. The kielbasa tasted like saurkraut and the other ingredients just tookm eht edge off the kraut. If I try this again I'll cook the kraut with more apples and honey, and put the kielbasa in for maybe and hour at the end. Simple, fine, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Balsamic Baked Tilapia

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I decided to risk making something new for my out-of-town guests, and not a speck of it was left! I used flounder instead and added baby asparagus tips to the onion/pepper mixture. I didn't serve it with the greens but instead other kid friendly veggies. The blue cheese and balsamic combo was a nice change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corlett5151

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chinese Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
These were easy, flavorful, and adapted well to drumsticks. Will make again & again!!b :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Perfect! I added green onions, tops and bottoms, to the baking dish along with the other ingredients (tho I omitted the parsley). Yes, there was extra butter, but I put it in a bowl with a ladle after I tossed the shrimp and pasta together. Guests added a little drizzle as they liked. I also included some cooked peas to the mix and it added a great pop of color. Everyone loved it. Oh, I didn't have dijon so I used 1 Tbls of spicy brown mustard and one Tbls of Mayo instead. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corlett5151

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Layered Eggplant Hamburger Casserole

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
This was tastey. I only had 1lb of ground beef and it was still fine. Next time I's going to cut the water to 1c; there's enough moisture in there without all the extra. Will definately make this again, especially when eggplant is plentiful at the farmer's market!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jan

Greek Tomato Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Excellent. Made several times w/ cherry and grape tomatoes purchased at a farmers' market. Cut them in half. They were thin-skinned beauties: easy to bite into. Don't know how long it's good in the fridge because it goes so fast. I also don't do onion rings. They are difficult to eat. Cut thicker rings, then cut those into 1/8ths or smaller. Other reviewers have great ideas: serve on lettuce, and you could almost add anything and it would taste just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Campbell's® Beef and Mushroom Dijon

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
This was good; mustard taste was not overwhelming, but it was strong. I'll make this again, but I may 1/2 the reccomended mustard. I liked serving this over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Applesauce Pork Loin

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
This was too easy to taste this good! All I had was THICK cut pork chops, so (after seasoning and browning as directed) I just put 3 of those in the oven with the sauce mix for about 50 minutes, until internal temp was 155, then covered with foil and let them rest 10 minutes before serving. They were fantastic! Reheated well as leftovers, too. I'll make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
This is GREAT, and rediculously easy! Slightly on the sweet side, probably because of the onion I used, very pleasing and you can kick up the heat or tone it down from the chili seasoning you use! I let it simmer for about 2 hours, 3 if you have time. Even better the next day! Total keeper for ease and wonderful results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bourbon Chicken Dish

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
This was just so-so; glad I tried it but doubt I'll make it again (I was really excited about this, too!). It just turned out bland, even with using 1/2 c bourbon; I felt like it was a waste of good spirits. The chicken was tender enough to cut with a fork, but didn't pick up any flavor. I wonder if result would be different if bourbon was mixed in with the soup & cheese mixture. This was definately worth trying, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef and Mushroom Lasagna

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
This was easy and good! Pasta hating boyfriend liked it, too! :) Made it exactly as directed except used whole jar of sauce and used a mix of mozzerella & swiss. Will make this again; not only does it taste good, but tastes better than the effort that is required to make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Campbell's Kitchen Easy Beef Enchiladas

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
These are great exactly as directed with a side of sour cream! And MAN, do they make a lot of food! After putting about 1c of enchilada sauce on the bottom to prevent sticking, I put my filled tortillas in a 9x13 baking dish -- it only fit 6 of them and I had 1/3 of the filling and tortillas left over to make a fresh batch in a couple days or freeze. These are very filling, especially if you add the rice, which is a great way to stretch the filling on a budget. This is a keeper for ease, taste, and being budget-friendly with typically on-hand ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Stroganoff

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I made this recipe using ground turkey instead of beef and used fresh sliced mushrooms vs canned. Also, I didn't have sour cream so I replaced it with about 2 oz of low fat sour cream. Therefore I put in slightly less soup. It was very tasty though a bit dry. I will go ahead and add all the soup next time and try it with the sour cream. Paprika is a nice spice to be added to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corlett5151

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States