East Lansing - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Thai Green Curry Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
This is my junk! I make it just as directed except I add 1/4-1/3 cup of peas at the end and a little chilli powder to the sauce while cooking. I think next time I'll try it with thighs and breasts. Also, if you can find unrefined sugar (brown sugar that's not THE brown sugar) it's much better and not as sweet as using white sugar. I guess if anything, I would reduce the amount of chicken by a few grams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thugglife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania

Greek Grilled Cheese

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
A good twist on the classic grilled cheese. I make this every now and again, as directed, and it's always good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thugglife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania

Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Decent recipe, but I felt that the sauce was too spicy and watery. I wound up just saving the sauce for later and using BBQ sauce on top of the pork. After about a week, I reduced the original sauce, added a drop of liquid smoke and added some honey and then used as a wing sauce which turned out awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thugglife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania

Garbanzo Bean and Sausage Stew

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Really good, but definitely highly dependent on the flavor of the sausage. I used "ardelenesc" sausage that you can find here in Romania and it was awesome. I don't think it would be as good with italian sausage, but maybe that's just a personal thing. It probably would be really good with kielbasa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thugglife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania

Lentil Soup

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Good stuff. Good for you too. Can't wait until it's not so dang hot out so I can make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thugglife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania

Ethiopian Cabbage Dish

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Not really that good in my opinion. I would have given this 2 stars but I made it a second time and used less cabbage which then bumped it up to 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thugglife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania

Lentils and Rice with Fried Onions (Mujadarrah)

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I make this on the regular. Super easy, super good and super good for you. I always add a bullion cube and a tbsp of cumin to the lentils, and I add a little cinnamon to the onions. White onions are better than yellow if you can find them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thugglife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania

Restaurant-Style Buffalo Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Probably the best wings I have made in my life. Friends loved them because of the spiciness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by appleANDeve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

Grilled Chicken Burgers

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
They were better than expected and yielded many patties. Thus, I was able to make may burgers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by appleANDeve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

Taco Seasoning I

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
This worked great in a taco soup recipe, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Wow, HOT! The green chilies left my mouth and lips tingling for 20 minutes! If you like that, make this soup as is! If you're a MILD/MEDIUM heat person, make this WITHOUT the chilies the first time & add them later if you want. I will definately make this tastey, flavorful, yummy soup again, but without the green chilies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Wow, really sweet the way it's written. Half way threw the batter I added another 1/2 cup of oats. Made a huge difference in cutting the sugar down. I also used almonds instead of pecans. Otherwise delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Alfredson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dump Cake IV

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
A+ for ease, but I found this to be too sweet and not rewarding enough to make again, especially with how rich it is in fat & calories. (I know it's dessert, but if I'm going to eat something bad I want it to be REALLY good and this recipe just isn't up my alley.) It IS more of a cobbler, and the topping gets soft overnight, so if you're going to make this, make sure you have a sugary sweet tooth & plenty of people to eat it. I also found the cake:fruit proportion to be a bit high; I'd put an extra can of cherries in there to balance it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quinoa and Black Beans

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
This is delicious! My first Quinoa everything- so so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Moroccan Chicken

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Really loved this. Added heaping amounts of spices as others suggested and served with garlic cous cous. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cranberry and Cilantro Quinoa Salad

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I am new to making Quinoa and so far have loved it. Unfortunately, we did not love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Rice I

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Tripled the cumin and chili pepper, almost a whole can of roasted diced tomatoes (semi drained) and the sauteed onion were all added for the last two minutes of the rice. Used a rice maker. Easy and excellent. Don't even like lots of spice, but "as is" is bland. Will add black beans next time to make this a main entree for a vegetarian meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Playgroup Granola Bars

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Use a flexible baking spatula to mix, spread and flatten into the dish. No mess and no waste that way. The mixture got pretty brown around the edges at 350 so with about 10 minutes left I turned the heat down about 25 degrees. That solved it but maybe next time I will cook it at 325 for the 30 minutes. I got 18 good size bars out of the batch only and only trimmed one short end off that baked too much. My kids liked them. I was only relatively satisfied with the flavor and texture. But so far I haven't found a granola bar recipe that is perfect. But I'm making for the kids and if they like them then that's good enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Alfredson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheese Sauce Over Cauliflower

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Wonderful! I was really looking for a cheese sauce to pour over noodles for my kids. Since I happened to have a head of cauliflower it seemed a perfect thing to try. Mine was probably just a bit richer than the regular recipe since I have a 1/2 cup of heavy cream I needed to use up. Used the remaining cup with 2%. Other than that, it was easy and worked amazingly well on the noodle medley. That is, 3 kinds of leftover pastas accumulating in the frig. The littlest of kids devoured it. My oldest, the skeptic, only tried it when 'no dessert' was looming. She loved it too. I tried it over the cauliflower and it was awesome. I typically just steam veggie and add a little seasoning. But for a main dish meal this was a treat. Another first for me was cooking the whole head in water. I've always steamed it cut up in flourettes. But this worked really well and was kind of fun to slice up in wedges. This may be a cheese recipe to have on hand in the frig. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Alfredson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chantal's New York Cheesecake

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I had to halve the graham crackers and use the 2tbsp butter, but other than that I made the recipe EXACTLY as directed and it was PERFECT! This was my first NY style cheesecake EVER & I was making it for Valentine's Day. It was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States