East Lansing - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Curried Coconut Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
As is, this has WAY too much tomato. I will try it again with NO tomato sauce, more onion, more spices, include turmeric and ginger, and (again) follow Cook Stephanie's method for making a "broth" first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
This was easy and excellent. I didn't have potatoes, so I added extra beans (rinsed) and tomatoes. Feel free to use vegetable stock if you don't have bullion cubes. I simmered for an hour. Keeps very well in the fridge; can't wait to share with friends and bring to work potlucks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Toytle

Vegan Mexican Wedding Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I did not have cake flour, so I substituted 1.5 cups of flour plus 1/4 cup of corn starch. The cookies flattened out a bit while baking, but I was still able to roll them in powdered sugar. I had to be delicate, as they crumbled rather easily. Otherwise, they were good and everyone seemed to like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toytle
Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
I made this for a potluck at work, and it turned out great! I toasted the sliced French bread with the cheese on top just before serving. My coworkers loved it! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toytle
Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Three Cheese Manicotti

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
It is very easy and filling! Second time I made it I added an egg and spinach to the cheese filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I HAVE BEEN MAKING THIS FOR YEARS! Its requested for every family get together. Try it using chopped up sweet pickles and leave out the mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Meaty Slow Cooker Jambalaya

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
first time I have ever made jambalya. This is really good! Next time I make it, I will use a less spicey sausage than andiulle. My mouth is still on fire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Fried Quinoa

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly as written. I loved it! Next time I will try it with shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southern Fried Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Easy and turned out perfect when made exactly as directed. Everyone in the house LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Eskimo Cookies

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Kid and husband tested, mother approved! So easy and satisfying. Plus, there isn't any peanut butter. I needed to stretch the recipe when I noticed I was short on oats. I added some wheat bran and a 1/2 cup of crispy rice cereal. The extra crunchiness is an unexpected touch. The purists may not agree with the additions but there was absolutely nothing wrong with the outcome. I'll be sure to try this the original way also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Alfredson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Sloppy Joes

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
This is a really good, simple base recipe. I also add about 2 teaspoons of sweet pickle relish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Breakfast Kolaches

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
The recipe was too vague, fortunately I have made these before. But if prepared as stated they would be something not nearly resembling kolaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bath, Michigan, USA
Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Balsamic Marinated Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
It tasted like balsamic vinager right out of the bottle. Too strong for me. The chicken also cooked in 30 min and was already starting to dry out. It would have been charcoal at 40 min as recommended. The marinade was incredibly runny and seeped under the tinfoil on the baking sheet and ruined it. Whatever the case, it wasn't a good situation overall. We ate the chicken with BBQ sauce to make it palatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Alfredson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick & Delicious Chicken Taco Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
WHOA! As is, it's a zero-star recipe. It gets five stars IF (1) the two cans of tomatoes/green chilies are substituted with two cans diced tomatoes and one can diced green chilies, (2) LOW-SODIUM taco seasoning is used (3) it’s boiled vs "slow cooked." It’s also good with or without chicken! For the boiled version: saute the onions; add everything else including already-cooked chicken. Preferred frozen corn, a little healthier (reduces the sodium), when I could eat it. Now, I just add another type of bean. The type of beer doesn't make a difference. But, it DOES need the beer (learned the hard way). Boil to evaporate the alcohol. It's so light and refreshing! About the cans of tomatoes and green chilies: Too much chilies taste, and it majorly dragged down the flavor. Same with slow cooking for SEVEN hours. Yuck. You cook away all the flavor, and the beans were mush. We threw it out. We look forward to this about once a month—year round!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crispy Roasted Chicken

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Very good and juicy! Only used the herbs that i normally do.. . .but love the method. Used salt, pepper, garlic, maybe a little Italian seasoning. Love that i finally have a surefire way to cook a chicken fast with a tasty result
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie-Laurie Sheets Jankowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petoskey, Michigan, USA
Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Real Italian Calzones

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
As others said, this is really bready crust, like thick pizza dough, i will therefore roll much thinner next time if i ever make it again. The filling was 'way tweaked' by me. I added 6 oz. fressh chopped spinach. . . .15 or so oz. of ricotta. . .more parmesean than recommended. Overall, just test your filling. Add maragoram (sp?) and basil (smaller amt) and other seasonings. I think you could add anything, even sauce. I did. Overall, an okay basic recipe that needs a lot of tweaking. I used colby jack because i found the flavor to enhance the otherwise bland filling. Just add up teh amt of filling, and figure how much you need and then change it to your liking. I added sauteed onion as well. Crust was very hard but perhaps i should've known to use a cheap white flour for softer texture?. . .i used whole grain white flour. Use another recipe or tweak this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie-Laurie Sheets Jankowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petoskey, Michigan, USA
Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

GrannyLin's Barbeque Ribs Made Easy

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
These turned out great! I didn't have an onion, so I used some minced garlic in place of that. My slow cooker didn't have medium either, so I did 4 hours on low, added the bbq sauce, then 2 hours on high. The only other thing I did different was brush a little more sauce on them, and stick them back under the broiler for a few minutes. They were fantastic :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeanOldMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Metamora, Michigan, USA
Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Cream Of Broccoli Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
very good. i used bullion(better than bullion from a jar) and Shettler's milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie-Laurie Sheets Jankowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petoskey, Michigan, USA
Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Nepiev

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I took the essence of the recipe and put a twist on it. I made my own cheese filling by using the last remains in the fridge of crumbled goat cheese and cottage cheese, seasoned it, and whipped them together. I also added fresh, chopped spinach before rolling the chicken. I got very positive reviews at dinner. I had company as well as three kids to please and I could have doubled the recipe. Thanks for the inspiration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Alfredson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
I had a half of a can of pumpkin purée left over from another recipe and these cookies looked like it would do the trick. Since I intended to make a full batch and a half can wouldn't be enough, I added 4 oz of plain low fat Greek yogurt to substitute the rest of the pumpkin. It seemed to be heavy on the sugar so I left out 1/2 C of brown and 1/4 cup of white. The rest I prepared as directed. Delicious. The yogurt made the really fluffy and tall. Browned to perfection in 10 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Alfredson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States