Dearborn Heights - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Restaurant-Style Potato Skins

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
I baked 6 potatoes in the oven the night before so they would be cool when I cut and scrapped the inside out. I saved the insides to make mashers tomorrow night. I didn't have a deep fryer so I poured about an inch of oil in a deep pot. Heated it up and started deep frying the skins. They smelled so good while I was cooking them. I drained them on paper towels. Shredded a mixture of Co-Jack and Sharp cheddar. Used that, bacon and some green onions. Placed them on a baking sheet and baked them till the cheese was melted and bubbly. They disappeared in 15 minutes. Great recipe!! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooter61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Never Enough Green Bean Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
I've never had green bean casserole with cheese in it before. So I'm making t my way. I mix one can of cream of mushroom soup with 3 tsp. Worcestershire sauce. I mix my green beans in with the mushroom sauce then place it in a 2.5 liter casserole dish. I buy a big can of the french fried onion rings and put them all over the top of my casserole. I bake it at 400 for about 40 minutes. Tasty every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooter61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Stew VI

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Just melts in your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibbysLand

Cooking Level: Intermediate

World's Best Lasagna

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
It was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooter61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hungarian Noodle Side Dish

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I made this dish according to the recipe given and it turned out very well. The noodles weren't over done and it was very tasty. By way of greater clarification, I would add the following to the instructions: Cook the noodles to al dente (4 min. in my case). Dissolve the chicken bullion cubes (I used "Better than Bullion") in a 1/4 cup of boiling water. Cook in covered slow cooker on high for 3 hours, or until onions are just crisp and cheese is light brown. Note: If this is served as a side dish (we ate it as an entree) it's probably much more than 10 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Manicotti with Cheese

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Good basic recipe but I changed it up little bit. First 3 1/2 jars of spaghetti sauce is TOO MUCH!! It would become soup. I only used one jar and there was plenty of sauce for it. I added Italian spices (about 2 Tbl.) to the cheese mixture. There was so much cheese mixture that I almost had enough for 2 of these dishes. Again TOO MUCH!!! I don't have anything to pipe the cheese mixture in so I actually cut the cooked noodle up the back spoon in the cheese mixture and roll it back up. I place it cut side down of course. Works great that way. I then poured the sauce on top and then added mozzarella to the top. It came out perfect. The spices I added really helped with the blandness of the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooter61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Chicken Nuggets

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I love chicken nuggets but have always hated that the coating on them is so greasy and fattening. These are perfect. The coating is nice and light and actually has flavor. I will be making these a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooter61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cranberry Sauce

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
My son is crazy over his version of cranberry sauce....the kind that comes in a can. Yuck!! I saw this recipe and it looks so easy. I gave it a whirl and boy is it yummy. I don't even like cranberry sauce either. But this I will eat. My son loved it as well. I'll be adding this to our Thanksgiving menu. No more canned yuck in this house!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooter61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fish Tacos

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
We live in the midwest and don't usually see fish tacos on menus here. But I've been curious about them for years. I saw this recipe and decided to give it a go. These fish tacos were SO TASTY!! I loved the crunch of the fish. The recipe is quite easy as well. I had both soft and hard taco shells. My husband liked the soft and I liked the hard. We'll definitely be making these again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooter61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Bread Machine Bread

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I've had a bread machine for 13 years. I've been making this recipe for all of those 13 years. It is the BEST basic bread recipe. It's perfect for Texas toast and especially French toast. The crust isn't tough and it stands up to the egg mixture very well. I use it to make bread crumbs, croutons (herbs added of course) and any number of sandwiches. When our son lived here he couldn't wait for it to be done. He'd eat big chunks of it right off the loaf. You will not be disappointed in this recipe. You can always add some things to it. It's very forgiving. I've added cinnamon and raisins with a little bit of brown sugar. Craisins and pecans, blue berries for blue berry french toast. Let your imagination run wild. Best basic bread recipe ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooter61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Chicken Parmesan

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
The first time I made this I was disappointed. I believe this is a good basic recipe for an Italian style meal. With only 6 teaspoons parmesan in it I couldn't even taste it. I also had to bake it much longer than 30 minutes. I only had 4 chicken breasts in it as well. I decided to give it another try last night. I coated the chicken with parmesan first. Then used about 3/4 of a jar of sauce. I sprinkled about a cup of parmesan over that. I baked that for 30 minutes. Took it out and added the mozzarella to it. I lowered the temperature to 325 and baked it another 30 minutes because I had large Amish chicken breasts. The mozzarella was nicely browned and bubbly. To us it tastes more like parmesan chicken this way. I think next time I'll make my own sauce for it though. There will be much less sodium that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooter61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cod Fish Cakes

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
This is a good basic recipe for cod cakes. I did use less potato and a bit more cod. I also put some Old Bay seasoning in it. So yummy that way. ***I made this a second time. I thought I had potatoes in my pantry but was wrong!! The only thing I had was one of those mashed potato mixes with cheese added. So I used that. It actually turned out pretty well. I added the Old Bay Seasoning mix to it again. It was yummy.***
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooter61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Swiss Chicken Casserole II

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I have made this several times. I always put extra swiss cheese on the chicken. I find that the flavor of just a few slices get lost in all the flavors of the soups and the stuffing. I never add any salt as there is enough in the soup and the stuffing. I used black cracked pepper. I've used breasts as well as tenders. It's quick and easy and very very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooter61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quiche

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I used this as a good base recipe. I added shredded cheddar cheese, scallions and a bi of mushrooms along with a bit of garlic. My Polish family NEEDS their garlic. LOL It turned out so good. We had it for Easter last year and I'll be making it again for Easter this year as well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooter61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I love pretzel jello. This was something my mom made every holiday and has lots of fond memories attached to it. With this particular recipe there are just a couple problems. First there isn't enough pretzel crust. You need 3 cups of pretzels so that the crust isn't too thin and hits all the spots. When you add the extra cup of pretzels don't increase the butter. There was too much. And as for the delicious white, middle layer. Yummy! But there is far too much! If I had put it all in the pan there would have been no room to pour the jello on top. So cut the recipe for the white stuff in half. The awesome thing about this recipe is you can do it up anyway you like. Try lemon jello and raspberries. Super pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Foley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

Ratatouille

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Overall the recipe was very good. I have two changes that should be made. The recipe calls for a 1-1/2 quart casserole dish, I couldn't fit all the ingredients in my 1.5 Liter (slightly larger) dish. Also, it would be better if the eggplant were "salted" and compressed (closes pores) before baking. Eggplant absorbs a lot of liquid due to its porous nature and leaks it as it cooks. My ratatouille dish was very "soupy". Also, the eggplant should be browned, literally. The texture of the eggplant is typically "soft", raw or cooked. I served this dish with grilled chicken breasts. But even with all this criticism, we enjoyed the dish and I would make it again, albeit with the changes I described. Thanks for your offering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Piccata with Artichoke Hearts

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
I have made this recipe, quite a few times, and love it... I do not use capers, but the taste is still fantastic... Will be making this tonight for dinner... The weather has gotten cool, so thought would, make something, that is good, and warm to eat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Strawberry Upside Down Cake

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I want to try this recipe, but, it looks like a white cake mix was used... Can you use a Angel food cake mix?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Fajita Marinade

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I made this for a family birthday celebration. It was very easy to put together. The flavors were so rich and fantastic. I'll never buy packaged fajita marinade again now that I have this great recipe. Everyone raved about how great the fajitas tasted. Thanks for sharing the recipe Olivia!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooter61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Extreme Banana Nut Bread 'EBNB'

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I decided to make this banana nut bread because it had such great reviews. The only thing good I can say about it is it was very easy to make. That's why it got 3 stars from me. But in saying that I think that's where the problem is. Sometimes you have to put a little more effort into something to make it special. This was not special. First of all I noticed right away that there was no vanilla listed in the ingredients. I don't like to rate anything unless I've followed the recipe to a "T". So I left it out. Big mistake. This bread really didn't have much taste at all. Especially not banana! Disappointed. Also, an entire cup of butter is TOO much! I could have probably used half of that. The bread was very greasy as well. Along with no taste and the grease, I threw the entire thing in the trash. Sorry. I don't understand what all the fuss is about this recipe. I'll stick to my more complicated recipe that has lots of flavor and much less grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooter61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States