Canton, Michigan - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chewy Granola Bars

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I won't rate something unless I follow the original recipe first. Then if need be I will tweek it until I like it. The first time I made these I knew they'd be too dry. There isn't enough moisture in the ingredients to hold it all together. It was tasty though. We ended up eating it with a spoon over yogurt. The second time I made it I used 4 cups quick oats, 1 cup flour, an entire cup of melted butter and 10 ounces of honey. Finding that it was still a bit dry I used 1/2 c of water. I used the same amount of vanilla, brown sugar and baking soda. Then I used 4 ounces of pecans that I processed in the food processor along with about 4 ounces cinnamon and 1 1/2 Cup of raisins. Baked at 18 minutes, took them out, cut them and left them in the pan to cool. I felt I had to chagne this recipe too much from it's original form to give it any more than 2 stars. Sorry, I just hate rating something so low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooter61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Granola Bars

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
This recipe is so versatile. I used 3 Cups quick oats to 3 1/2 Cs of chopped pecans, dried cherries and one entire large 8 ounce bar Lindt 90% cocao. The 90% cocao kept the sweetness of it down while the cherries added just enough. I baked them for 27 minutes, took them out, cut them into bars and let them cool completely. They were perfect!! For second batch I used 14 ounces of Karo syrup instead of the sweetened condensed milk. Then I added 2 cups raisins, 1 cups finely chopped becans and about 1/4 cinnaman and a tsp. of salt. I baked it the same way, cut them into bars and then let the cool. Again, very awesome. Oh, one more tip. I lined my 9x13 pans with parchment paper first. The bars came out like a dream both times. Thanks for sharing this great recipe. I can't wait to try another combination. I'm thinking peanut butter and chocolate chips with salted peanuts. Mmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooter61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Very good. I used butter instead of shortening though. Cookies are on the thin side, but I like them that way. I'll use this recipe again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Drop Biscuits and Gravy

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Very easy and tasy! The only things I did differently was add shredded cheddar cheese to the biscuit mix, which meant I had to add a bit more milk and melted butter until I got the right consistancy. As far as the gravy went, I added onion powder and a couple of dashes of red pepper for a bit more flavor. I also was liberal with the salt and the crushed black pepper. Thank you of sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garden City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Very very good, but I had a few issues. I too chopped up the onions and saute'd them first because we don't like a strong onion flavor. I add 1/2 more cheese sauce like others suggested and was glad I did or else it would have been dry. I put into a large dish, more like 2 1/2 quarts and was glad I did...I can't imagine it fitting into anything else. Most importantly, it took MUCH longer to cook than stated. Next time I will microwave the potatoes first to get them cooking a bit, before I put in the oven. They were delicious and I will def make again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Portuguese Chicken I

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This was very good, creamy and had a nice flavor. Next time I will use boneless chicken. The chicken is so tender that is falls off the bone into the sauce and some of the little pieces of bones ended up in there too. Thanks for the recipe, I'll make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jalapeno Popper Spread

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This is so easy to make. We love parmesan cheese so I added much more than was called for. Then I put more on top. I also added more jalapeno to it....twice as much!! Just a tad more mayonnaise made it creamier because of the extra ingredients I added. I popped it in the micro when we got to the party and it was gone in about 10 minutes flat. Great recipe!! Thanks Denise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooter61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mini Pumpkin Butterscotch Muffins

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
These are so good I have made 3 batches in a week lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shannon's Wicked Brownies

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly and the brownies came out really dry. The toffee chips are completely lost in the chocolate flavor so you wouldn't even know they were added. Very chocolaty though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Federico

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cilantro Tomato Corn Salad

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I think this tasted good, but when I chilled it, the butter hardened and I had to reheat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Becky's Chicken Salad

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Very good as is, but I added dill and craisens. I also shredded chicken instead of dicing. Thanks for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cookie Balls

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I'm rating this a 5 because everyone LOVED them and begged for the recipe. I thought they were very sweet and rich. I took all reviewers advice and they were all helpful. Main thing is to keep the "dough" cold. I worked in batches and once it started to warm up, I put it back in the fridge for 20 minutes. Also, when dipping the balls in chocolate, my melted chocolate because filled with little pieces of cookie but it worked great. I turned mine into eyeballs for Halloween but will make again for the holidays using broken pieces of candy cane or something festive. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Corn Pudding

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
This has been a family staple my whole life! Have always loved it, I add a tbsp of sugar too :) DELISH! Make in smaller dish though, 9x13 too big... I use a 1.5qt casserole dish PERFECT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BogiesGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

Cabbage Rolls II

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
These are awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BogiesGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

Magic Cookie Bars II

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Classic and delicious! Growing up my mom called these 'Congo Bars'..... YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BogiesGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

Pumpkin Roll II

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
My family's FAV
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BogiesGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

Crescent Mummy Dogs

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Super easy.... I cut crescents then let my 5 yr old assemble... he LOVED it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BogiesGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

Scalloped Potatoes and Onions

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I was leery of this recipe at first because of the mayo... let me tell you, I'm SO glad I made it! These were the BEST scalloped taters I've EVER had and they couldn't have been easier! I was also nervous at the amount of onion but really they just sort of melt into the onions! Even the kids (well 5 out of 6) LOVED them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BogiesGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Sooooo good. I didn't use tabasco for those that don't like it too spicy. I figured they could add it if they wanted. I also found a "basic beer cheese bread" recipe that I made and it complimented your chili very nicely. Thank you for sharing this, but I have to tell you as a University of Michigan Grad, we play you guys next Saturday and we will beat you while eating your delicious chili. LOL Seriously though. Loved this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garden City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amish Breakfast Casserole

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Very good...and hard to screw up. I added veggies in mine. Needed to cook longer though. Thanks for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States