Canton, Michigan - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Uncle Mac's Peanut Butter and Jelly Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
These cookies are good. They are tasty and very easy to make. I like that you can get creative with different jam flavors as well. Here are the revisions I made on my first try at these and they turned out great. Some came from you guys here (thank you so much) and a couple of my own. 1. Definately cut the sugar in half. I didn't even attempt to make it with what the recipe calls for per someone's suggestion and I'm glad, because while I enjoy "sweet" too much can ruin it. They were the perfect amount of sweetness with half the sugar. 2. I sprayed the fork with cooking spray and as someone else mentioned DON'T flatten these cookies with the fork, whatever you use to make the "filling hole" or otherwise. An 1/8 teaspoon works for the indentation. Press just enough to make a slight dip in the center so the filling won't run over. 3. DEFINATELY mix the jelly or jam before you drop it on the cookies. Much less mess and easier to control. 4. I doubled the recipe as well per other suggestions and I had a ton of cookies, which was fine because they are smaller, but it seems the original amount would yeild a good amount of cookies. 5. BAKE TIME: You guys are right! 8 minutes is PERFECT. 6. Finally, I added good pinches of cinnamon and nutmeg. They turned out great! Thank you for sharing the recipe and thank you to all the others who shared their own revisions. What a great team we all make on here :D! Lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garden City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Stewganoff

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I LOVE this recipe. It was the first time I ever made a stew and my boy friend, who loves stew really enjoyed it and said it was a "keeper". I served it with warm crusty bread and garlic, parmesean, buttered noodles, then we made mashed potatoes to go with it the next night. You can eat it just as a soup too. The only change I made was coating the beef in flour and searing it before adding it. This thickened it up a bit and made the beef more tender. I chose to omit the peas because I don't like them, so I only simmered it for 45 minutes, but I had also cut the recipe in half. I will definately make this as a cold winter night comfort food dish again! Thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garden City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Bacon Jalapeno Wraps

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
for a sweet tasting addition, put a chunk of pineapple in the cream chesse before wrapping it up !! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hudsonville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tartar Sauce I

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I made this tarter sauce and thought it was pretty good. But I added a touch of garlic to it and my family really liked it like that. I've also made this but used Miracle Whip Salad Dressing. It gives it more of a tangy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooter61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Judy's Strawberry Pretzel Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
This is always a hit. I don't think the pretzel layer is thick enough so I doubled mine and it was perfect. The hints on here are accurate about not baking longer than 10 min and making sure each layer has chilled for a bit and letting the jello thicken just a tad in the fridge before adding. Thanks for the recipe. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Alfredo Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I've been making this for years. It's so good and creamy and rich! It's the perfect recipe. On a side note, tonight I made a boo boo. I didn't beat the egg yolks. Just dumped them in without thinking. So I'm stirring and stirring and thinking to myself. Why isn't that cheese melting. So finally I scoop the lump out and realize it's a completely cooked egg yolk. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooter61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Chicken Breasts Supreme

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
I made this for dinner tonight. I buy Amish Chicken so the breasts are very large. I started them out in the oven but I didn't like that they weren't browning. So about 1/2 way through I removed them (all but 2 because I wanted to compare) and finished them off on the stove top. I used a little olive oil. They turned out nice and crunchy and juicy. The 2 I left in the oven never browned and were not as juicy. But they all tasted quite good. I'll add this to my recipe box but remember to pan fry them in a little bit of olive oil instead. I had roasted red potatoes with rosemary, salt and garlic as a side dish. My family finished all of it off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooter61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bronco Burger

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
These had a pretty good taste. But I thought the steak sauce and the Worcestershire sauce were fighting against each other too much. Next time I'll skip the steak sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooter61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tex-Mex Burger with Cajun Mayo

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
These burgers have great flavor. I love the cajun mayo too. Yummy! The only reason I gave it 4 stars was because of the use of sirloin. Ok if you want a dry burger. Round is much much better for burgers. You want it to have a little more fat to keep it juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooter61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bacon Wrapped Hamburgers

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I found this burger recipe on this site many years ago. It was a huge hit with a group of about 25 teenage boys. Of course I had to adjust how many ingredients I used. I followed the recipe. It has fabulous flavor, no doubt about that. But the bacon didn't really cook very well. So what I do instead is cook the bacon first. Then I chop it up and toss it in with the rest of the ingredients. You get the same flavor and there are no toothpicks to have to take out afterwards either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooter61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Spaghetti

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I liked the idea of this. But I did change it a bit. Instead of using spaghetti sauce from a jar, I made my own with meat. I also used both Parmesan and Romano cheeses because that's what my husband likes. Instead of cottage cheese I used ricotta cheese. I didn't see the point of using eggs at all so I skipped them. I liked that it was baked. It really brings out the flavor throughout the entire dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
209 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooter61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Manicotti

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
Loved this. I added 1/4 bread crumbs. I also piped filling into shells using zip lock bag. Thanks for recipe...just what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Herbed Citrus Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
This was tasty. I didn't have basil, so I used italian seasoning and added fresh cilantro. Also used both lime and lemon juice. Will definitly use again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Broccoli Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Delicious summer salad. I used craisens and sunflower seeds instead of almonds and raisins. Will make again for sure this summer! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Shells III

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
GREAT base recipe, but the second time I made it I used the below changes. Thanks for great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Chops with Raspberry Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Made as stated but doubled the sauce. Pork chops had great flavor, but were a little chewy (I think because they were fried). Sauce was nice, the teens even liked it. I'll most likely make again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bananas Foster II

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Cheese Ball II

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I used a smidgen of bacon as others suggested and took the advice of chilling it before you roll it. Very good. Thanks the the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I was bothered by the texture and I think it needed sugar. I'm glad I tried it, but I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemonade Punch

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
This was good - next time will make with just one can of pink lemonade as I used a shiraz and it was pretty sweet. I also froze the marchino cherries and surup into the ice mold and that surup may have over-sweetned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States