Canton, Michigan - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Never Enough Green Bean Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
I've never had green bean casserole with cheese in it before. So I'm making t my way. I mix one can of cream of mushroom soup with 3 tsp. Worcestershire sauce. I mix my green beans in with the mushroom sauce then place it in a 2.5 liter casserole dish. I buy a big can of the french fried onion rings and put them all over the top of my casserole. I bake it at 400 for about 40 minutes. Tasty every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooter61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blackened Chicken

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I love this. Since cast iron is the perfect stove top to oven cooking piece, I didn't transfer to a baking sheet to finish, just leave it in the skillet and place in the oven, one less pan to clean! Thanks for sharing the recipe, it's awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belleville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

World's Best Lasagna

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
It was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooter61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Vegetable Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
I've made this several times and my family loves it. But in the few times I've made it, I've modified. I add chic peas, omit the potato (because they never seem to cook enough), and I add a small amount of mini shell pasta just before serving. This is delicious, nutricious and everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Puffs

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Everything about these were good except they were way too spicy from the jalepeno. And we love jalepeno, but we had a hard time eating them. Next time, I will use a cook quality canned jalepeno with some fresh minced jalepeno. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tomato and Basil Pasta Sauce

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
This was tasty, a little on the sweet side, but we didn't mind at all. I used 3 cans of tomatos for more sauce and didn't have the fresh basil so I used dry. I'm sure it would taste even better if it were fresh. Also, after simmering for over an hour, I took a potato masher and crushed the chunks because my family does not prefer a real chunky sauce. Will make again...Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Manicotti with Cheese

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Good basic recipe but I changed it up little bit. First 3 1/2 jars of spaghetti sauce is TOO MUCH!! It would become soup. I only used one jar and there was plenty of sauce for it. I added Italian spices (about 2 Tbl.) to the cheese mixture. There was so much cheese mixture that I almost had enough for 2 of these dishes. Again TOO MUCH!!! I don't have anything to pipe the cheese mixture in so I actually cut the cooked noodle up the back spoon in the cheese mixture and roll it back up. I place it cut side down of course. Works great that way. I then poured the sauce on top and then added mozzarella to the top. It came out perfect. The spices I added really helped with the blandness of the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooter61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Chicken Nuggets

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I love chicken nuggets but have always hated that the coating on them is so greasy and fattening. These are perfect. The coating is nice and light and actually has flavor. I will be making these a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooter61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cranberry Sauce

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
My son is crazy over his version of cranberry sauce....the kind that comes in a can. Yuck!! I saw this recipe and it looks so easy. I gave it a whirl and boy is it yummy. I don't even like cranberry sauce either. But this I will eat. My son loved it as well. I'll be adding this to our Thanksgiving menu. No more canned yuck in this house!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooter61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fish Tacos

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
We live in the midwest and don't usually see fish tacos on menus here. But I've been curious about them for years. I saw this recipe and decided to give it a go. These fish tacos were SO TASTY!! I loved the crunch of the fish. The recipe is quite easy as well. I had both soft and hard taco shells. My husband liked the soft and I liked the hard. We'll definitely be making these again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooter61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Bread Machine Bread

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I've had a bread machine for 13 years. I've been making this recipe for all of those 13 years. It is the BEST basic bread recipe. It's perfect for Texas toast and especially French toast. The crust isn't tough and it stands up to the egg mixture very well. I use it to make bread crumbs, croutons (herbs added of course) and any number of sandwiches. When our son lived here he couldn't wait for it to be done. He'd eat big chunks of it right off the loaf. You will not be disappointed in this recipe. You can always add some things to it. It's very forgiving. I've added cinnamon and raisins with a little bit of brown sugar. Craisins and pecans, blue berries for blue berry french toast. Let your imagination run wild. Best basic bread recipe ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooter61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Chicken Parmesan

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
The first time I made this I was disappointed. I believe this is a good basic recipe for an Italian style meal. With only 6 teaspoons parmesan in it I couldn't even taste it. I also had to bake it much longer than 30 minutes. I only had 4 chicken breasts in it as well. I decided to give it another try last night. I coated the chicken with parmesan first. Then used about 3/4 of a jar of sauce. I sprinkled about a cup of parmesan over that. I baked that for 30 minutes. Took it out and added the mozzarella to it. I lowered the temperature to 325 and baked it another 30 minutes because I had large Amish chicken breasts. The mozzarella was nicely browned and bubbly. To us it tastes more like parmesan chicken this way. I think next time I'll make my own sauce for it though. There will be much less sodium that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooter61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cod Fish Cakes

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
This is a good basic recipe for cod cakes. I did use less potato and a bit more cod. I also put some Old Bay seasoning in it. So yummy that way. ***I made this a second time. I thought I had potatoes in my pantry but was wrong!! The only thing I had was one of those mashed potato mixes with cheese added. So I used that. It actually turned out pretty well. I added the Old Bay Seasoning mix to it again. It was yummy.***
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooter61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Swiss Chicken Casserole II

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I have made this several times. I always put extra swiss cheese on the chicken. I find that the flavor of just a few slices get lost in all the flavors of the soups and the stuffing. I never add any salt as there is enough in the soup and the stuffing. I used black cracked pepper. I've used breasts as well as tenders. It's quick and easy and very very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooter61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Roll I

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
I've made this several times and everyone loves it. I add a 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract in the pumpkin mixture and 1/2 tsp. in the filling as well. As long as you have a good jelly roll or cookie pan (non stick) , it's very simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Nichols Gilbert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Breasts Pierre

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I make this all the time---my family loves it...I do not change a thing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHERRYLYNN2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

Pan-Seared Tilapia

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
So easy & super yummy. I added some garlic & pepper. Delish. We are not huge seafood fans but are trying to incorporate more. We all ate this. The 8 yr old had 3 servings!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BogiesGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

Quiche

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I used this as a good base recipe. I added shredded cheddar cheese, scallions and a bi of mushrooms along with a bit of garlic. My Polish family NEEDS their garlic. LOL It turned out so good. We had it for Easter last year and I'll be making it again for Easter this year as well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooter61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

To Die For Fettuccine Alfredo

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Our family loves this and I've made it 3 times prior to writing this review. I use only parmesan cheese and also add a little bit of cornstarch to thicken up a bit. It is fattening and delicious and worth it!! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Twinkies

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darius Brown-Bey

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Inkster, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States