Cadillac - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Jen's Maple Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
It was really good. I did double the recipe and use a little less of the whipping cream so it would be more dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cadillac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick Yeast Rolls

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Awesome! No muss no fuss but tender and delicious rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simmered Italian Rice

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I was skeptical to try this but was running out of ways to serve rice and spinach sounded interesting. It is incredible. I didn't know spinach could pair with rice so well. It has a rich flavor, so don't expect a mild rice. Of course you or your family/guests should love spinach or it "may" disappoint. I personally cut the stems from the spinach and then chopped the pile of leaves horizontal, then vertical on my cutting board to end up with about 1" squares. When these stirred in and shriveled to the heat, they integrated with the rice smoothly without any stringy bites. I ended up making it again the same week, then a third time a couple weeks later! I followed the recipe exactly, even doing it on the stovetop to start getting away from depending on my rice cooker. If this is followed step by step, it does come out right so anyone can impress their friends with a fluffy, flavorful rice. Any spinach lovers on the fence about trying a "spinach rice" should take the plunge on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cadillac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Herbed Broccoli Spears

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
This is my favorite side dish on this site and the one I make the most, sometimes by itself as a healthy lunch. It pairs perfectly with just about every main dish, and it's unusual/complex so it makes you look like a pro despite how fast and easy it was to make. It's also very flexible. Sometimes I make it with all fresh vegetables and herbs, and sometimes with frozen broccoli, canned tomatoes and dried spices. It always turns out great and adjusting the spices never turns it into a Cooking Disaster. It's a forgiving recipe even for the newest cooks. Today I tried a little celery salt and pepper on it and it took it over the top for me, so I finally had to go on here and review it. It's a great dish with a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cadillac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Can't Leave Alone Bars

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
It is so simple to make and soooo tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pollock Montreal

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Just made this tonight, I did adjust it a bit though due to what i had on hand. My husband who does not like fish LOVED it! I will definitely make this again. this is what I did. Sprinkled fish with salt & pepper to taste, sprinkled with paprika, and then grated Parmesan cheese. set aside. sauteed Sm.onion(sliced),1 clove garlic (minced), 1 can diced tomato(did not have fresh). spooned this on top of the fish, sprinkled with some cilantro for that extra kick.baked about 20 minutes at 350. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cadillac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Krystal's Perfect Marinade for BBQ or Grilled Chicken

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
Wish I could give it 10 stars! We loved this recipe! Licked our plates clean!! Did not use the sesame oil and still perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seb

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cadillac, Michigan, USA

Super Easy Doughnuts

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Very good! I made these as drop holes and then dropped them in a simple glaze. On the last batch I made, I added a bit of nutmeg and cinnamon to the batter. Great recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Unfortunately, I did not like this one! I found the whole thing very oily with way too much seasoning for just four chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baby Spinach Omelet

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Yum! Thanks so much for this one. Next time I'll use fresh onion and maybe add some diced tomato. Great healthy recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Praline Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Not bad! More sweet than spicy, though. I recommend seasoning the flour with salt, pepper & some of the Cajun seasoning. I also found I only needed half the amt. of flour listed. I found the sauce amt. perfect but I'm going to dbl. the Cajun seasoning in that, too! Another idea I might try is breading and baking the strips (skipping all the frying & grease!) adding the sauce for the last 15-20 min. Like someone else mentioned, this is a great recipe & experimenting with it will be fun! Thanks so much for posting. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Honey Muffins

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
These aren't very flavorful but I loved how light and spongy they were. We were out of milk and my kids had requested "some kind of honey muffin". This recipe was just the ticket! The kids slathered them with butter & honey and ate 3 apiece. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Boudreaux's Zydeco Stomp Gumbo

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Next time I'm going to decrease the liquid by half. Once you mix in the rice, it's nice & thick. But without the rice it's pretty soupy. Plus it would be nice if the proportion of liquid to ingredients was a little more balanced. I used andouille sausage & added crab. I think I will also look through some of the other reviews & see if anyone did thier own take on the roux. This one made for a very oily gumbo, albeit very delicious! Thanks for the recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Wisconsin Native's Beer Cheese Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Yum! This soup turned out thick & flavorful for me. I took everyone else's advice & sauteed the veggies in the butter first thing. I then added the flour & made a nice roux. I gradually added the broth, beer & other ingredients (except the dairy). I simmered it all for about 20 min, then added the milk & cheese, stirring constantly at med heat. It thickened up nicely & was fantastic w/nice fresh rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Molasses Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I add some finely chopped nuts. Awesome cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jo-Ann's Power Bars

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I was looking for a filling breakfast bar to take to work. I have tried others and this one is by far the best. Tastes good and holds together well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tawas City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cadillac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cabbage roll soup II

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This soup is amazingly good. got the recipe from a neighbor and want to make it all the time. The whole family is crazy about it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA90

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Campbell's® Skillet Chicken and Broccoli

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
This is soooo easy and filling! I always put it over rice and it does the trick. It can be a little bland though so any help on that would be great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Marion, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Stroganoff II

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Love this easy recipe! I add a packet of Onion soup mix and parsley to taste with the sauce. I also cook my meat in a little Worcestershire Sauce. Awesome stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Marion, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Oatmeal Cookie

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Great idea to use up bananas! Just a little bland so definitely add that swirl of frosting to jazz them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States