Michigan - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Spaghetti Squash Tacos

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
I especially loved that the squash made the tacos much lower in calories - as opposed to using meat. We like it spicy so we used a little hot sauce on top. Hubby thought it needed more cumin but I didn't. What a great way to use up those abundant spaghetti squash in my garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLY1966
Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baba Ghanoush

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Great way to use up eggplant from the garden. Steve and I love this, especially with his pizza crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLY1966
Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Raw Vegan Taco Filling

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
I think I like it even better than beef taco filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLY1966
Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Excellent! Tastes just like Whole Foods spinach dip that is very expensive. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Megan's Spaghetti Squash Tacos

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
I especially loved that the squash made the tacos much lower in calories - as opposed to using meat. We like it spicy so we used a little hot sauce on top. Hubby thought it needed more cumin but I didn't. What a great way to use up those abundant spaghetti squash in my garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLY1966
Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Eggplant Parmesan II

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
I have been baking eggplant like this for a couple of years. For me it is better than frying. Bread crumbs that fall off tend to burn when frying. Homemade sauce is worth the effort. I often freeze the baked eggplant so I can assemble another casserole at a later date. These baked eggplant slices also work well to separate layers in a vegetable lasagna instead of noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Grilled Chicken Salad with Seasonal Fruit

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
This is a very good salad that is also quick and easy to make! The dressing compliments the other ingredients perfectly! Thanks for sharing this keeper, Karena!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

Tasty Lentil Tacos

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I thought these were okay. I make a lentil soup from the site, that had so much the same flavor. I think, I would have preferred tacos using a recipe like refried beans without the refry from the site. This just didn't give me that taco flavor. The lentil taste was just very prominent. I might like it more as a salad somehow. I didn't much care for the hard taco shells with it. Otherwise, it was quick and affordable to make. It also gave me more ideas to further this concept for non-meat tacos. I will have to see what my husband says about this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Pecan Tarts

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
These are very good and very easy to make, as well! I do wish I would have topped mine with either the optional cherry or a pecan or something, as it would have improved their appearance. I got 24 tarts out of this recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

Dannon Chocolate Chip Muffins

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I rate these between a 3-4. The batter was just so dense and sort of heavy. Normally, I like a more dense brownie or cake, but the base was heavy but not real sweet either almost more doughy despite being fully cooked. I guess, as some people say on reviews here it didn't have the best crumb. I followed the recipe exactly, just subbing Greek non-fat yogurt. It is thick and doesn't need to be strained. This is a denser batter so be prepared. I baked them in these pretty thicker yellow paper cups. They present well and do look sort of like the picture with the cracking. I guess, I don't mind dense as long as the muffin is also a little moist. If I could do the recipe over, I would test them as mini muffins due to their heavy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Black Bean and Rice Burritos

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I tried this tonight and my family loved it. My children were asking for more. Will Make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mikalicous2004

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Squirrel's Great Beef Steak

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
This is a great marinade. I only made one change and it was to add brown sugar only because the BBQ sauce I used was not sweet enough. Even my picky in-laws loved it! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kicked-Up Goulash

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
It was just great! Would make again. Added a little red pepper flakes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen R

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman

Country Seed Bread

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I bought a bread machine about 2 months ago and this bread may be the best wheat bread I have tried so far taste wise. My only change, when adding the ingredients to the machine, were using 1 tablespoon of flax meal and 2 tablespoons of roasted unsalted sunflower seeds for the flax seeds. I just don't care for flax seeds. I also used Gold Medal's white whole wheat flour. Note: I noticed this was not enough dough to make a loaf of bread in my 2lb Zojirushi bread machine. It has a rectangle pan and makes standard loaves only. I suggest, if this is the type of bread maker available, to double the recipe or bake in the oven. As it was too late to double the recipe, I took the dough out after the 2nd rise and right before it started the baking cycle in the machine. I lined a baking sheet with parchment, sprayed it with PAM, and lightly sprinkled a circle of cornmeal on it. I gently placed the dough in a circle. It did deflate some, so I lightly sprayed it with olive oil and covered with plastic wrap. I let it rise about 25 minutes more while preheating the oven to 375. It had a nice rounded dome shape by that point. I baked it 25 minutes, let it cool 7-8 minutes on the pan, and then transferred to a cooling rack. Had one warm slice to see if it baked up and it is delicious. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

No Bake Cookies I

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
This is my old standby recipe for no bakes, except mine calls for 2 c. sugar. I always wait for the ingredients to come to a full boil, then cook them for exactly one minute. Mine always set up perfectly. These are best with crunchy peanut butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan'sCookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Creamy Pasta Carbonara

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I have never tasted anything of the carbonara flavor. The way I tweaked it I know I am much more off. However, the flavor is actually quite good for 5-10 minutes of effort. I made 1/2 recipe and used 3 Tablespoons of real bacon bits cooked in 2-3 teaspoons of grapeseed oil. Removed the bacon and then added the rest of the ingredients, using whipped butter (lower calorie), reduced fat milk, and 4 triangles of laughing cow lite garlic and herb. It reminds me of cream cheese and I didn't have any. I just threw the peas in frozen. I didn't have ham, but it was fine without it. Not a dish I would repeat often as the calories, even with the tweaks, are still very high. Although, it worked well this evening. Without the pasta, and with my tweaks, 3 servings of the sauce as made above was 245 calories. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Made this exactly as written a few weeks ago for a simple dinner and it was phenomenal! Husband and daughter raved about it. My mom-in-law makes this every Xmas and I've always wanted to make it, so I'd found this recipe. Fantastic! Even better than MIL's but I won't tell her that. J Trying it again tonite, sticking it in fridge but this time with 6 eggs, 1C half-n-half, and layering it like a lasagna like other reviewers. BTW left salt out both times - plenty in the sausage already. Will update review after trying it layered style!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rockford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Bacon Jam

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I love the sweet-savory thing going on here, and also that it coordinates well with the rest of the burger trimmings. It is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheesemite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coldwater, Michigan, USA

Dark German Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
This cake is BOMB!!!! Rises beautifully. Layers freeze very well (though because of how moist it is...I suggest lining both sides with wax paper and then wrap thoroughly in plastic wrap). Yes...this IS..my new go to chocolate cake. And I am giving five stars on both the original recipe as listed here (used first for my supervisors birthday cake I made for him) as well as my second making. My alts were: using 2 tbsp of black cocoa powder for 'depth' & 1 cup of regular cocoa (both Hershey) and 1/2 cup of Kahlua 'infused' coffee and 1 cup of water. Everyone needs this cake in their life. GOD BLESS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Syllabub

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
This was simple and tasty. I had left over heavy whipping cream and this was refreshing way to. I was surprised how much the white wine (Chardonnay) added to the flavor. I wound up adding a bit more lemon to balance it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RetiredGuyCooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Lebanon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States