Lafayette, Indiana - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Okanagan Peach Soup

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I am not a picky eater, but I would not recommend this soup. It was interesting to try, but I would not make it again as written. Instead, half the curry, or omit it all together. I tried some with fresh mint and I much preferred the peach-mint combo to the peach-curry flavor. I served this with a dallop of yogurt and turned it into more of a sweet summer soup. With these changes I enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelsey Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Braised Balsamic Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I really liked this dish. It was the perfect weekday dinner very easy to make. I was worried that the balsamic vinegar would be to strong, but it added the perfect amount of flavor. I did decide to add mushrooms to it. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcollins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Irish Lamb Stew

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
My husband really enjoyed this meal. I followed the suggestion of another reviewer and made this in a crockpot. I let it cook for about 8 hours and the meat was plenty tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcollins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Chicken Chimichangas with Green Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
My family was skeptical at first, the ingredients sauce do seem a bit strange, but they work wonderfully. My husband and brother had me make the sauce again for plain grilled chicken. High in calories, but a worthwhile splurge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Lamb Shawarma

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Great flavor. We made this and had it in a pita with tomatoes, spinach, yogert, and feta cheese. My husband said this was an exciting dinner with great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcollins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
My husband and I loved the flavor of these burgers and I'm not a huge fan of lamb. I would have given them a five except they ended up a little dry. Update: I fixed the dryness issue. The first time I made these was on a George Foreman type indoor grill. The nexxt time I made these I opened it up flat and it made a huge difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcollins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Tangy Cucumber and Avocado Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
This was delicious. I used a bit more green onions than were called for and did not use the full amount of lemon/lime juice (only 1/4 tsp lemon juice mixed in directly with the avocados to keep them from browning). Instead I served the salad with lemon and lime wedges and allowed my guests to add the juice individually to suite their tastes. I would definitely make this again! I now prefer it to guacamole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelsey Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southwestern Egg Rolls

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
These were amazing! I also baked these (at 450° for 10 minutes, per another reviewer) instead of fried them to keep it a bit healthier, but I imagine they're great fried, too -- I'd love to try them with a crunchy tortilla. Anyway, I served these (again, with Amy's Cilantro Cream Sauce... a wonderful recipe, and they went great together... though I'd eat that sauce with anything) as appetizers for a dinner party, and they were gone almost immediately! They are a bit filling, so I would actually caution anyone else to serve them as an appetizer. Next time I make them, it will be for dinner. ;) One comment on the name of the dish -- they seem more like spring rolls than egg rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie Q

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Fresh Strawberry Pie I

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
This is a perfect end to any cookout. I smashed about six strawberries and had them cook with the cornstarch, which added a nice flavor. Next time will slice the strawberries, because it was almost impossible to eat with a fork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Ground, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Original Nestle® Toll House® Chocolate Chip Pan Cookie

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I had these bars years ago and fell in love with them. Since then, I've searched for the same recipe, and I'Ve finally found it! Try these, they're perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken with Asparagus and Roasted Red Peppers

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Very yummy and easy recipe! I made a few minor changes. I used a whole can of chicken broth and fresh bell peppers instead of jarred. I served it with garlic and olive oil flavored couscous. The flavor was just great. I will definetely be adding this to my dinner rotations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcollins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I've never made spaghetti and meatballs before, but this turned out very good. My husband loved it, the sauce was a little thick for my taste, but I really liked how tangy the sauce was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcollins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Quick Quiche

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Don't get me wrong, this quiche had a wonderful flavor. I baked it ten minutes longer than written and the eggs didn't seem to set up. Next time, I will add 1 cup of milk and see if that works better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Ground, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Made this for Mother's Day brunch and everyone loved it. My grandmother, who is a wonderful cook, even asked for the recipe. The only negative is that the cake was soggy after two days. I think next time I might reduce the sour cream 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Ground, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Guacamole

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
I hate guacamole only eating it once by accident because it smooshed next to a taco on my plate....but my 22 yr old daughter wanted guacamole instead of a birthday cake. I found this recipe having no idea what I was doing and followed it to a T. She loved it, the guests loved it and the biggest shocker - I LOVED IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mama's Asian Chicken and Rice

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
This was a good quick meal. I had to make a few changes to the original recipe. I didn't have any chinese 5 spice or orange juice. I substituted orange marmalade for the orange juice. I also added a bag of frozen stir fry vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcollins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I thought it was just okay. It is very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcollins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Heavenly Angel Food Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
My husband and I love this angel food cake. It's the only angel food cake I make. I've made it the traditional style many times before, but today I lined my muffin tims with paper liners and made cupcakes and topped them with a low fat chocolate mousse. This is my "go to" treat when I need to satisfy my sweet-tooth without wrecking my diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oaty Cereal Bars

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Very delicious! I made this with Kashi's Heart to Heart cereal it is has a very delicious flavor. I'd also love to try this with multi-grain cheerios. The sugar could probably be reduced to 1/3 cup rather than 1/2 cup to make these a little healthier. I don't recommend you boil the mixture. Only heat it to boiling and then remove, or boil for a few seconds (30 or less). I Boiled the sugar and honey for a minute before removing from heat and adding the peanut butter and they were a tad too hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelsey Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I love this recipe! My mom has made this for years. I usually add carrots and pearl onions and serve over mashed potatoes. I also don't add any water and the gravy still turns out wonderfully. It's the perfect meal to have on a chilly night or just a busy one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcollins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States