Lafayette, Indiana - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by mglover

Chicken Enchiladas

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This is a good recipe base, but I made a few changes. Omitted the refried beans, chicken soup, and sour cream. Added a few more chicken breasts and cooked with taco seasoning and cherry tomatoes from the garden. After rolling tortillas I always toast them in a hot skillet a few minutes before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Ground, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This was pretty good and I'm not a fan of fish. I did add more lemon juice to the fish once it was on my plate. served it with couscous and broccoli. Very easy to make, a great weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcollins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

German Sweet Chocolate Cake I

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I made this for my husband's birthday. It was a little bit of work but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcollins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Banana Pancakes I

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I made these for my husband and father inlaw before a hard day of fencing. I got two thumbs up from both of them and they were full until dinner. As other reviewers suggested I added vanilla and substituted applesauce for the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcollins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Pasta Pomodoro

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Okay, this may sound odd but I liked the sauce a lot more before I put it over noodles. I tasted it as it was cooking and it had so much flavor and tang; I loved it! When I put it over noodles the flavor really seemed to fade. I did add bell peppers, mushrooms, and chicken to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcollins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Homemade Refrigerator Pickles

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Very good but too sweet and I even reduced the sugar by half a cup. I added some crushed black pepper and a pinch of dill weed. Next time, will use only one cup of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Ground, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Peach Cobbler

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
this was fabulous! the cook time was off though, it was definitely not done in 30 minutes so I increased it to 1 hour and it came out perfect. Love the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zesty Chicken Meatloaf

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
The taste was OK, but the texture was odd and only 1 out of 4 of my family members would eat it. Frozen Pizzia to the rescue
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Rasta Pasta

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Very good I really like the spice of this dish. I just wish it wasn't 103 outside when I chose to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcollins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Mustard Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
My husband really enjoyed this meal. He said it tasted like honey mustard and onion pretzels he buys at the store. I thought it was just okay. I may try some of the suggestions others made. Update: this recipe has really grown on me. I love how easy it is. I do add a little seasoning salt. This has become a twice a month meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcollins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
My husband and I really enjoyed these pancakes. I did add a little vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcollins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Summertime Sweet Pickles

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
I had to double the boiled mix in order to get enough to completely submerge the cucumbers and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy OREO Truffles

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
These are so wonderful! I made them for a pitch in at work and everyone asked me for the recipe! I make the balls and put them in the freezer with a tooth pick in them. They stay in the freezer for about 15-20 minutes, then I use the toothpicks to dip them in the chocolate. It works out pretty well. I would love to know how others get them to look so perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcollins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Caramel Brownies II

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
I made these for a dinner get together. They were very good. My husband said they were some of the best brownies he's ever had. My only issue is thate the caramel gets kind of hard around the edges of the brownie. Even using cooking spray and a non-stick pan they were alittle hard to get out of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcollins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

World's Best Lasagna

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
This was the first time I have ever made lasagna. I was amazed at how well it turned out. The only issue I found was with the no boil noodles. I soaked them in hot tap water for 20 minutes as others have said. I felt that this made the noodles too soft. Next time I will get the regular noodles and see if it makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcollins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Butter Lamb Gravy

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This is a decent recipe, but it isn't as flavorful as I expected. Next, time I will use chicken broth instead of water and maybe add more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcollins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
These muffins are very good. I did replace all of the oil with apple sauce. Next time I will cut down on the strussel recipe. I had so much left over I had to throw away about half and that was after I used some on another recipe I made later in the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcollins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Blueberry Gingerbread

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This bread is very good. I replaced the oil with applesauce. I also added some leftover streusel topping I had from making muffins earlier that day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcollins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Okanagan Peach Soup

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I am not a picky eater, but I would not recommend this soup. It was interesting to try, but I would not make it again as written. Instead, half the curry, or omit it all together. I tried some with fresh mint and I much preferred the peach-mint combo to the peach-curry flavor. I served this with a dallop of yogurt and turned it into more of a sweet summer soup. With these changes I enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelsey Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Braised Balsamic Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I really liked this dish. It was the perfect weekday dinner very easy to make. I was worried that the balsamic vinegar would be to strong, but it added the perfect amount of flavor. I did decide to add mushrooms to it. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcollins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States