Lafayette, Indiana - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chicken Piccata with Artichoke Hearts

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
My husband and I really enjoyed this dish! I followed the recipe as is, however, I only used 1/2c flour. The ingredients blend very nicely together. I know some people added sundried tomatoes, but personally I think that would ruin the delicious simplicity of this piccata. Real Italian food is based on simplicity and seasonal ingredients. I served this over linguine. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irisheyes_14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Naples, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Evin's Indian Apricot Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Just okay. Kind of sweet for our taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcollins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Cabbage Rolls III

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I have tried several cabbage roll recipes – all using tomato sauce, and we have never been quite impressed, which is odd as we all like all the ingredients. So this recipe was our last try at the cabbage rolls and it was a hit! My husband and my 5 & 6 year old boys ate them up; they were also enjoyed the next day for lunch. We have made these twice now and are making them tonight. (Edit) after making this again, I followed the recipe as stated, not so good, we threw them out. I realized too late, I went through most of the reviews the first time before making. Going forward I will (as I did the first few times according to my notes) par cook the rice and season the beef with garlic and Hungarian paprika. Then will cook in a casserole dish with beef broth (NOT water) at 325 for 3+ hours, or cook them in the Crock pot with less broth or just the juice from the sauerkraut if there is enough, on low for 6 hours. Made this way I would give 5 stars, but after following the recipe exactly I am knocking it down to 3
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Peanut Butter Squares

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I made these last night for my husband, he gives them 5 stars. I forgot to add the vanilla, they were still good, but we will definitely add it next time. I think I will also use only puffed rice; the cornflakes make them quite dense. Dense but tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Chicken Paprikash

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
This is a wonderful recipe; I have made this about 5 times since I first tried the recipe about a year ago. I too use broth or stock in place of the water and add more paprika probably about a total of 3 ½ tablespoons. I use about 3 cups of broth and cook the chicken on low until is it falling off the bone. I then remove the meat from the broth and bone the chicken. This is when I add the flour to thicken the broth mixture and add the scour cream. I wait until the end to return the chicken to the pot (doing so too early has left me with only shreds of chicken) The dumplings are wonderful and my boys like to help make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Mean Green Guacamole Salsa

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I changed it a little,, added two slices of red onion diced small and two TBLSP. Lime Juice. I don't like avocados but this is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Crawfordsville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Waffles

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
These were very very good. I did make some changes to them. I cut the salt down to about 1/2 a teaspoon since some reviewers said they were salty. I added extra vanilla and some cinnamon. Finally, I added some fresh blueberries. These may be the best waffles I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcollins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Apple Pie Muffins

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I made this recipe as written. They were delicious! The only suggestion I would make is to use tart apples such as Jonathans. I couldn't find them at the store so I just grabbed gala apples. I felt like they kind of got lost in the sweet batter. Tart apple would really pop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcollins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Easy Morning Glory Muffins

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I haven't compared this Morning Glory recipe to others on the site, but I definitely enjoy these muffins! I used all whole wheat flour, all brown sugar, and added dried dates and cranberries as well as raisins. I also added another apple and substituted applesauce for the oil to make these even healthier. I did about 3 cups of shredded carrots to make these moister and toasted the coconut before adding it to the batter to enhance the flavor. This recipe easily makes 18 large muffins, more than 12 as stated in the recipe. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelsey Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Chicken

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I doubled the sauce as others suggested and served over rice with broccoli. This wasn't bad but not good either. Probably will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcollins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
This was pretty good. I used a package and a half of italian seasoning since I used a smaller roast, there are only 2 of us,but I think it could of handled the full two packages. Very, Very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcollins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Buckeyes I

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
These were good, but we did have some difficulties with the chocolate melting...first, after reading other reviews, we only used about 5 1/2 c. sugar. Then, when we were melting the chocolate (due to limited equipment size), we had to melt it in batches, and the first batch melted thick, but it worked. The 2nd batch would NOT melt thin enough! IT was this big glob! I tried honey (to prevent seizing), I tried water, then half & half (to thin it out)...it got thin enough (and it still hardened on the peanut butter), but it also got grainy and ugly...how can I prevent it from being so thick another time? Why did my first batch work and not my 2nd?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Camp Zama, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Salsa

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This is the best salsa recipe I've made. I didn't have the cumin so I'm sure that will make it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMI22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Brussels Sprouts

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Ok to start I did not have any chicken broth so I added a cup of some Argentine white wine i had laying around. Also I added a cup of finely chopped red onion... The brussel sprouts came out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chuckenstein

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Spicy Sweet Potato Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I made this recipe as directed minus the sour cream/lime zest garnish; I made it to freeze and pack for lunches so the garnish seemed unnecessary. I tried a small bowl before freezing the rest and was unsurprised to find the ginger flavor a bit too strong. I had suspected 2 tablespoons would be too much. Ginger, but decided (since this was my first time making it) to follow the recipe. Next time I will likely only add 1 tablespoon and taste the soup before making additions (adding teaspoon by teaspoon after that point). All in all, however, I think this is a good recipe and would certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelsey Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Egg Noodles

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
This is a classic noodle recipe... thick and al dente when you boil them. I doubled my batch so I would have plenty of leftovers. I used two boxes of chicken stock and a can of cream of chicken to thicken. My husband loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Ground, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Very moist and delicious pumpkin bread. Added 1/2 tsp additional cinnamon and 1/2 tsp of allspice. Drizzled with a homemade vanilla glaze. The quality is like what you would find in a bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Ground, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Persimmon Pudding

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I altered this recipe slightly, but I loved it. Very pudding-like, less cake like, but that's how I prefer it. Here are the changes I made to make this recipe a little healthier. I used only 2 cups of sugar instead of 2 1/2, 1 cup white sugar and 1 cup brown sugar. I used 1 1/2 cups white flour and 1/2 cup whole wheat flour rather than 2 cups white flour. I couldn't even taste the whole wheat flour, next time I'll probably try half and half. Final change: light butter instead of regular, but I wish I had tried 2 tablespoons applesauce and 2 tablespoons light butter. Also, I did about 3/4 teaspoon cinnamon and think more spices could still be added. All in all, though, I'm very happy with this recipe. It is certainly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelsey Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mglover

Chicken Enchiladas

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This is a good recipe base, but I made a few changes. Omitted the refried beans, chicken soup, and sour cream. Added a few more chicken breasts and cooked with taco seasoning and cherry tomatoes from the garden. After rolling tortillas I always toast them in a hot skillet a few minutes before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Ground, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This was pretty good and I'm not a fan of fish. I did add more lemon juice to the fish once it was on my plate. served it with couscous and broccoli. Very easy to make, a great weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcollins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States