Lafayette, Indiana - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Amy's Cilantro Cream Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I really love this sauce; it's tasty and very easy to make. DH's only complaint was that it's a bit heavy, so it isn't really something to serve as an appetizer. But it's perfect for a party or something where you just have dips and finger food, *or* as the main sauce in an entree. I serve it with Southwestern Egg Rolls (and again, those are supposed to be an appetizer, but they're kind of heavy, so I use them as an entree with this sauce).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Dyer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Slow Cooker Lentil and Ham Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I thought this was pretty good and the hubby loved it. I ended up making this on the stove. I liked how the vegetables stayed just a little crunchy to balance out the tenderness of the lintels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcollins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Tzatziki

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I made this last night to go with “Dash’s Donair” in place of the Donair sauce that goes with it. We were afraid the Donair sauce would be to sweet, and it was. This Tzatziki sauce is wonderful. I only had 2 hours to let it sit, but it was still great. The next day, however, it was EXCELLENT, and tastes just like the sauce at our favorite local Greek restaurant. I did as others suggested and grated the cucumber into a towel and squeezed as much liquid as possible, I also used Greek yogurt and our sauce was very thick and creamy. Next time, and there will be a next time I may process either the finished sauce or the cucumbers before I add them to the sauce to have a less chunky sauce. Kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Dash's Donair

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I made “Dash’s Donair” last night and we loved it! I made the meat just as the recipe calls for only tripling the recipe as I have 4 boys to feed. It was quite a hit; I am giving it only 4 stars because we did not care for the sauce. The sauce did pull together nicely, only stirring a few times after the vinegar was added as others said. However it was way too sweet for our tastes, but we gave it a shot. We are use to gyros here and thought the meat was very similar to what we get at our local Greek Restaurants. I also made the “Tzatziki” sauce on this site as a back up to the Donair sauce and we loved it. We will be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Fish Tacos with Honey-Cumin Cilantro Slaw and Chipotle Mayo

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
We loved this recipe!! I made fish sticks for my 3 young boys, but they wanted, ate and loved the fish tacos. We marinated the fish the full 4 hours, and were happy we did. I will use this technique with other fish dishes,it gives great flavor. We had extra sauce, mayo and slaw so I took it over to my mom's for her to give it a try. Rave reviews from them too. Any leftover slaw is AWESOME on a turkey sandwich!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Photo by Julie

Easy Hoppin' John

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
My entire family loved this. We used 2 lbs sausage as all my boys were insisting 1 package would not be enough, but then they love meat overkill. One pound would be plenty! We will be making this again, its an easy weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Winter Blossom's Often Requested Ham Salad

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I made this last night with MY leftover $8 huge ham. I used regular yellow mustard as I did not realize brown mustard was called for. I really liked it, but will be try this with the brown mustard next time. My husband and small son loved it on crackers, as did I, but I really liked it as a sandwich for my lunch today. The flavors were much stronger the next day, I may ease back on the onion & relish just a tad unless I am making to use that day or night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Pasta veggie bake

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I made this for a potluck, and actually, everyone loved it, but I made some revisions: I had to use pre-cooked bacon because prosciutto isn't available where I live, also, I thought it would become really soggy if I put it in the butter/tomato mixture, so I just mixed the bacon and some extra minced garlic right into the veggies and pasta before tossing them with the butter/tomato mixture. Which brings me to the butter--it's too much. Next time, I will use only 1/4 cup of butter mixed with most of the oil from the sun-dried tomatoes. Oh, I just read other reviews and realized I was not alone in thinking it was too much butter and needed some of the sun-dried tomato oil!! Anyway, it was delicious when those changes were made! Next time, I want to put in pine nuts and maybe even some pesto...definitely some fresh basil! Oh, ps, I used gluten free pasta and it worked fine...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Camp Zama, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Penne Pasta with Veggies

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I made this for a potluck, and actually, everyone loved it, but I made some revisions: I had to use pre-cooked bacon because prosciutto isn't available where I live, also, I thought it would become really soggy if I put it in the butter/tomato mixture, so I just mixed the bacon and some extra minced garlic right into the veggies and pasta before tossing them with the butter/tomato mixture. Which brings me to the butter--it's too much. Next time, I will use only 1/4 cup of butter mixed with most of the oil from the sun-dried tomatoes. Oh, I just read other reviews and realized I was not alone in thinking it was too much butter and needed some of the sun-dried tomato oil!! Anyway, it was delicious when those changes were made! Next time, I want to put in pine nuts and maybe even some pesto...definitely some fresh basil! Oh, ps, I used gluten free pasta and it worked fine...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Camp Zama, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hummus Layer Dip

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I made this for a birthday party and all was eaten. I did not use the cream cheese, just started with the hummus. It was wonderful served with warm Greek style pita. Great change of pace from layered taco dip found at EVERY party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Turkey 'n Stuffing Bake

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
We made this last night and the entire family loved it. I forgot to save the fried onions for the top so we tossed on some cheese, lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Photo by Barbiesbenz

Deep Fried Turkey Rub

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
it's crispy, juicy and awesome!! I'm gonna do it again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbiesbenz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Photo by Barbiesbenz

Sweet Potato Casserole II

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
My husband love it so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbiesbenz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Margarita Slush Punch

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I made this for a baby shower, but I revised it a bit, using the technique I saw on a video on this website: I mixed the concentrates, the powdered sugar, 2 cans of water & some (sorry, I'm not much of a measurer), Margarita mix for flavor in a bowl. Then I poured the mixture into a plastic bag that was inside a pitcher for stability (the recipe is best divided into 2 gallon size zip lock bags). Then, I put those in the freezer over night (or however long ahead you want). Then just before serving, I put the frozen mixture in a punch bowl and added two cans of lemon-lime soda and two cans of club soda and mixed it until it was all slushy. Everyone loved it and said it was very refreshing!...and I only now realized I forgot to add the garnish of thinly cut limes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Camp Zama, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Margarita Punch

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I made this for a baby shower, but I revised it a bit, using the technique I saw on a video on this website: I mixed the concentrates, the powdered sugar, 2 cans of water & some (sorry, I'm not much of a measurer), Margarita mix for flavor in a bowl. Then I poured the mixture into a plastic bag that was inside a pitcher for stability (the recipe is best divided into 2 gallon size zip lock bags). Then, I put those in the freezer over night (or however long ahead you want). Then just before serving, I put the frozen mixture in a punch bowl and added two cans of lemon-lime soda and two cans of club soda and mixed it until it was all slushy. Everyone loved it and said it was very refreshing!...and I only now realized I forgot to add the garnish of thinly cut limes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Camp Zama, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Flan

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Was looking for a gluten free but delicious dessert, so I decided to try this recipe for a baby shower and it turned out perfectly! The only changes I made were to increase the carmelized sugar to 2 batches of 3/4 cup (I increased the 2/3 to 3/4, but that still wasn't enough, so I repeated it...next time I'll do 1+ cup with some water) and to use almond flavoring instead of the vanilla. Everyone LOVED it--even people who didn't usually like flan! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Camp Zama, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Barbiesbenz

Five Minute Ice Cream

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I tried this recipe!! Awesome!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbiesbenz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Made these for the first time last night- AMAZING! Even my picky nine year old and husband gobbled them up! My 12 and 8 year olds loved them and couldn't wait to have the leftovers for lunch today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Horseheads, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hot Corn Dip

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
I made this for a cook out we had at my new job,no pressure to make something delicious right? This turned out great! I did add some taco seasoning for extra flavor. Personally, I think it could have used a little heat,but I didn't want to set my new co-worker's mouths on fire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcollins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
These are the best pancakes ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruth1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States