Lafayette, Indiana - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Turkey 'n Stuffing Bake

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
We made this last night and the entire family loved it. I forgot to save the fried onions for the top so we tossed on some cheese, lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Photo by Barbiesbenz

Deep Fried Turkey Rub

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
it's crispy, juicy and awesome!! I'm gonna do it again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbiesbenz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Photo by Barbiesbenz

Sweet Potato Casserole II

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
My husband love it so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbiesbenz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Margarita Slush Punch

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I made this for a baby shower, but I revised it a bit, using the technique I saw on a video on this website: I mixed the concentrates, the powdered sugar, 2 cans of water & some (sorry, I'm not much of a measurer), Margarita mix for flavor in a bowl. Then I poured the mixture into a plastic bag that was inside a pitcher for stability (the recipe is best divided into 2 gallon size zip lock bags). Then, I put those in the freezer over night (or however long ahead you want). Then just before serving, I put the frozen mixture in a punch bowl and added two cans of lemon-lime soda and two cans of club soda and mixed it until it was all slushy. Everyone loved it and said it was very refreshing!...and I only now realized I forgot to add the garnish of thinly cut limes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Camp Zama, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Margarita Punch

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I made this for a baby shower, but I revised it a bit, using the technique I saw on a video on this website: I mixed the concentrates, the powdered sugar, 2 cans of water & some (sorry, I'm not much of a measurer), Margarita mix for flavor in a bowl. Then I poured the mixture into a plastic bag that was inside a pitcher for stability (the recipe is best divided into 2 gallon size zip lock bags). Then, I put those in the freezer over night (or however long ahead you want). Then just before serving, I put the frozen mixture in a punch bowl and added two cans of lemon-lime soda and two cans of club soda and mixed it until it was all slushy. Everyone loved it and said it was very refreshing!...and I only now realized I forgot to add the garnish of thinly cut limes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Camp Zama, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Flan

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Was looking for a gluten free but delicious dessert, so I decided to try this recipe for a baby shower and it turned out perfectly! The only changes I made were to increase the carmelized sugar to 2 batches of 3/4 cup (I increased the 2/3 to 3/4, but that still wasn't enough, so I repeated it...next time I'll do 1+ cup with some water) and to use almond flavoring instead of the vanilla. Everyone LOVED it--even people who didn't usually like flan! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Camp Zama, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Barbiesbenz

Five Minute Ice Cream

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I tried this recipe!! Awesome!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbiesbenz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Made these for the first time last night- AMAZING! Even my picky nine year old and husband gobbled them up! My 12 and 8 year olds loved them and couldn't wait to have the leftovers for lunch today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Horseheads, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hot Corn Dip

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
I made this for a cook out we had at my new job,no pressure to make something delicious right? This turned out great! I did add some taco seasoning for extra flavor. Personally, I think it could have used a little heat,but I didn't want to set my new co-worker's mouths on fire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcollins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
These are the best pancakes ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruth1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ugly Dip

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I made this for my sons birthday party and the guests ate every last bit! If you warm up the cream cheese in the microwave for a bit, it mixed up very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Ham and Onion Pie

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
LOVED IT!! Great winter dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Ginger Glazed Mahi Mahi

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I am not a fish lover at all, but I made this tonight to placate my husbands love of seafood. I doubled the sauce,except for the honey(4T instead) because I was afraid it would be too sweet. I also baked instead of pan frying the fish. I set the oven to 365 and cooked the fish for ten minutes. I felt like it wasn't cooking fast enough so I turned up the heat to 400 and cooked for another 8 minutes. It came out flakey and tender.I tried to thicken the sauce, which I removed before baking the fish, with corn starch but it never quite thickened the way I thought it would, but it was still very delicious. I served it with broccoli and rice. I felt the sauce had a strong enough flavor to hide the fishiness of the mahi mahi, which was a HUGE plus for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcollins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

World's Best Lasagna

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Made this for Mother's Day one year, and everyone said it was the best lasagna they'd ever had. The only change I made was soaking the noodles in hot water for 30 minutes instead of boiling them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie Q

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Easy Stovetop Chicken Teriyaki in Orange Ginger Garlic Sauce

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
This was very flavorful and oh so yummy! I ended up making this into more of a stir fry. I added broccoli and served over rice. Next time I will add cornstarch to thicken up the sauce as I found it a little runny. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcollins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I liked this as it is. But I believe the next time I make it, I am going to substitute the Asian pear for pineapple. The main reason is the pineapple has more acidity and will tenderize the meat a bit better than the Asian pear. All in all a very good recipe. I spent 2 years in Korea and this dish brought me back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chuckenstein

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Shredded Beef Chimichangas

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
This was easy to make and was quite tasty! I ended up modifying the beef slightly. I sauteed some onion and garlic, and added a can of green chilies. Then I added the already cooked beef and mixed it all together to put into the tortillas. I think without the addition, I wouldn't have enjoyed them as much. I also took someone else's advice and put cheese in the tortillas. Yum. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irisheyes_14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Naples, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Rice II

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Easy to make with a mild, but good flavor. I ended up burning the bottom layer of rice because the burner was up too high, but mixed in it tasted really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irisheyes_14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Naples, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fettuccine with Sweet Pepper-Cayenne Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
This was a very qick and easy weeknight meal. I did add a can of diced tomatoes and some diced chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcollins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Baked Ziti IV

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Our church was hosting a dinner after the funeral of one of our members. One of the ladies organizing it asked me to bring baked ziti. I'd never made it before and came to my trusty Allrecipes. I chose this one and just had one of the ladies tell me she loved it. Thank you for a great recipe! I did make some minor changes after reading some reviews. I used *all* Italian sausage, tossed the meat in w/ the sauce and then tossed the pasta w/ *that* to make sure the sauce got into the tubes. I also mixed the sour cream and ricotta together and layered, pasta, ricotta/s.cream mix (sprinkled that layer w/ basil and oregano and a little garlic powder) put the provolone down and then finished w/ the rest of the pasta/sauce/meat mix and topped w/ mozzarella and parm. cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Horseheads, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States