Lafayette, Indiana - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Thai Green Curry Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
We loved it. A bit spicy for the kids but perfect for my husband and I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meredith Keeney

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stacey's Hamburger Seasoning

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I thought this was a great mix of seasonings - I made cheeseburgers and thought they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Baked Onion Rings

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
These were so easy to make and tasted so yummy. Will no longer eat deep fried onion rings This is a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Delphi, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caramel Popcorn

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Unfortunately I refuse to make this again. I ate so much of it I'm pretty sure I gained 10 lbs. You can't stop eating it---that's how awesome it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Strawberry Upside Down Cake

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This cake is incredible, and my guests LOVED it! I made a couple of adjustments. To the batter: I microwaved a 2 cup measuring cup full of chocolate chips with 1/4 cup water for a minute, stirred and then blended into the batter. I added 1 cup more marshmallows and baked the cake in a 10" X 2". It took about 1:5 minutes before the knife came out mostly clean, but I served it hot with a pile of whipped cream. Next time I'll try it with ice cream! The top (which becomes the bottom) was crunchy while the center was like chocolate lava cake- moist and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baxtersbistro

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Best Brownies

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I just took these out of the oven. Of course I just couldn't wait and I'm typing this as the roof of my mouth is burning, but , these are some good brownies. I followed the recipe exactly but I don't own an 8x8 pan. I used an 8x12 pan and only left them in the oven for 15 minutes. I also did not make the frosting because I have no honey on hand. They are GREAT just the way they are!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Lemonade Ever

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I made this last night and it was really good. I followed the recipe exactly too! My biggest problem was finding decent lemons at the local WalMart in Indiana (imagine that).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I followed recipe exactly with the exception of baking it at 425 for about 20 minutes. Awesome....absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amy's Cilantro Cream Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I really love this sauce; it's tasty and very easy to make. DH's only complaint was that it's a bit heavy, so it isn't really something to serve as an appetizer. But it's perfect for a party or something where you just have dips and finger food, *or* as the main sauce in an entree. I serve it with Southwestern Egg Rolls (and again, those are supposed to be an appetizer, but they're kind of heavy, so I use them as an entree with this sauce).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie Q

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Slow Cooker Lentil and Ham Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I thought this was pretty good and the hubby loved it. I ended up making this on the stove. I liked how the vegetables stayed just a little crunchy to balance out the tenderness of the lintels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcollins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Tzatziki

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I made this last night to go with “Dash’s Donair” in place of the Donair sauce that goes with it. We were afraid the Donair sauce would be to sweet, and it was. This Tzatziki sauce is wonderful. I only had 2 hours to let it sit, but it was still great. The next day, however, it was EXCELLENT, and tastes just like the sauce at our favorite local Greek restaurant. I did as others suggested and grated the cucumber into a towel and squeezed as much liquid as possible, I also used Greek yogurt and our sauce was very thick and creamy. Next time, and there will be a next time I may process either the finished sauce or the cucumbers before I add them to the sauce to have a less chunky sauce. Kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Dash's Donair

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I made “Dash’s Donair” last night and we loved it! I made the meat just as the recipe calls for only tripling the recipe as I have 4 boys to feed. It was quite a hit; I am giving it only 4 stars because we did not care for the sauce. The sauce did pull together nicely, only stirring a few times after the vinegar was added as others said. However it was way too sweet for our tastes, but we gave it a shot. We are use to gyros here and thought the meat was very similar to what we get at our local Greek Restaurants. I also made the “Tzatziki” sauce on this site as a back up to the Donair sauce and we loved it. We will be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Fish Tacos with Honey-Cumin Cilantro Slaw and Chipotle Mayo

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
We loved this recipe!! I made fish sticks for my 3 young boys, but they wanted, ate and loved the fish tacos. We marinated the fish the full 4 hours, and were happy we did. I will use this technique with other fish dishes,it gives great flavor. We had extra sauce, mayo and slaw so I took it over to my mom's for her to give it a try. Rave reviews from them too. Any leftover slaw is AWESOME on a turkey sandwich!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Tasty! I enjoy tuna salad with pickles and curry so this recipe is a keeper for me. I ended up making tuna melt sandwiches with this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irisheyes_14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Naples, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Hoppin' John

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
My entire family loved this. We used 2 lbs sausage as all my boys were insisting 1 package would not be enough, but then they love meat overkill. One pound would be plenty! We will be making this again, its an easy weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Winter Blossom's Often Requested Ham Salad

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I made this last night with MY leftover $8 huge ham. I used regular yellow mustard as I did not realize brown mustard was called for. I really liked it, but will be try this with the brown mustard next time. My husband and small son loved it on crackers, as did I, but I really liked it as a sandwich for my lunch today. The flavors were much stronger the next day, I may ease back on the onion & relish just a tad unless I am making to use that day or night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Pasta veggie bake

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I made this for a potluck, and actually, everyone loved it, but I made some revisions: I had to use pre-cooked bacon because prosciutto isn't available where I live, also, I thought it would become really soggy if I put it in the butter/tomato mixture, so I just mixed the bacon and some extra minced garlic right into the veggies and pasta before tossing them with the butter/tomato mixture. Which brings me to the butter--it's too much. Next time, I will use only 1/4 cup of butter mixed with most of the oil from the sun-dried tomatoes. Oh, I just read other reviews and realized I was not alone in thinking it was too much butter and needed some of the sun-dried tomato oil!! Anyway, it was delicious when those changes were made! Next time, I want to put in pine nuts and maybe even some pesto...definitely some fresh basil! Oh, ps, I used gluten free pasta and it worked fine...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Camp Zama, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Penne Pasta with Veggies

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I made this for a potluck, and actually, everyone loved it, but I made some revisions: I had to use pre-cooked bacon because prosciutto isn't available where I live, also, I thought it would become really soggy if I put it in the butter/tomato mixture, so I just mixed the bacon and some extra minced garlic right into the veggies and pasta before tossing them with the butter/tomato mixture. Which brings me to the butter--it's too much. Next time, I will use only 1/4 cup of butter mixed with most of the oil from the sun-dried tomatoes. Oh, I just read other reviews and realized I was not alone in thinking it was too much butter and needed some of the sun-dried tomato oil!! Anyway, it was delicious when those changes were made! Next time, I want to put in pine nuts and maybe even some pesto...definitely some fresh basil! Oh, ps, I used gluten free pasta and it worked fine...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Camp Zama, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hummus Layer Dip

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I made this for a birthday party and all was eaten. I did not use the cream cheese, just started with the hummus. It was wonderful served with warm Greek style pita. Great change of pace from layered taco dip found at EVERY party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Turkey 'n Stuffing Bake

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
We made this last night and the entire family loved it. I forgot to save the fried onions for the top so we tossed on some cheese, lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States