Lafayette, Indiana - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Peach Cobbler Dump Cake I

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
very simple and good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jim lighter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pekin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asian Pork Burger

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
I am not sure what went wrong here, I followed the recipe (sans apple, we had none) and it was a big sloppy mess. There was no way to form them into burgers. I tried to add a binder, no such luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Traditional Creamy Coleslaw

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
I usually use "slaw magic" a seasoning package and we love it, but I was out so I tried this. We will not be using slaw magic anymore!!! Not only did my family love it but it recieved rave reviews at my church carry-in!! We liked the zip of the horseradish , but only used 1/3 the amount for the carry in as there were many older people who can't do spicy and it worked perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Meatballs and Sauce

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
Wow these were soooo good, and very easy to make with packaged meatballs. I used a 2.5 lb bag of meatballs with the same amount of sauce, and had none left over. We just ate them as appetizers, next time I will dbl the sauce and serve them over noodles. And when I say next time, I mean later this week!!! I did add one package of a jus gravy mix (low sodium) and will do so again or maybe use beefy onion soup mix as the sauce was Very thick, great for appetizers, but I would want thinner over noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Honey Mustard Dressing II

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
This was very good!!! I took this to a progressive dinner where we were to bring a salad dressing and a few toppings. It was a hit . I made 4x's the recipe and as people were torn as to regular or Dijon mustard I used 2Tb regular and 2Tb Dijon. While super tasty, next time I will use 3 to 1 regular to Dijon and I think it will be perfect. My kids were comming up with all kinds of stuff to dip into it, and they usually stick to boring Ranch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
I've made this recipe several times, INCREDIBLE!!! Everytime!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAMON.PDX

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chapala, Jalisco, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julie

Pastry Cream

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
This turned out wonderful! I can, however, see how people could have problems with this recipe if they have never made a custard type recipe before. A critical part I find to be missing is to temper your egg mixture with about 1/2 cup heated mixture before combining them all together, so you won't have egg chunks. Slowly pour in your 1/2 cup heated milk while constantly stirring, then take that warmed up egg mixture and slowly add this to the remaining heated milk, again while constantly stirring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

High Temperature Eye-of-Round Roast

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
We made this for our family Christmas dinner and it was loved by all! I had a 7lb roast so I cut it in half to avoid long cooking time. I followed the recipe exactly and it was seasoned nicely with just the salt and pepper. It was a little over done for our preference (we like MR) but the tenderness of the roast more than made up for it. Next time we may try 20 min per/lb rest time as others did or cut the 2 1/2 hrs to 2 or less
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Thai Green Curry Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
We loved it. A bit spicy for the kids but perfect for my husband and I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meredith Keeney

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

SMUCKER'S® Stuffed French Toast

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
I actually made it using strawberry jam and my stepdaughter loved it!! I plan to make it again tomorrow only adding PB to the cream cheese and making a pb&j version! I loved cutting the bread and will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina P

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cowboy Casserole

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Very tasty... my husband loved it. Followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Coulter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bacon and Macaroni Salad

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Made this for a family BBQ. Adult and kids all loved it. I made a couple changes: used grape tomatoes (no seeding required), omitted olives (1/2 family doesn't like them, would have made a nice addition), added green pepper. At first I didn't add all the dressing, after refrigerated overnight, it was a bit dry. I added remaining dressing, perfect. The more veggies the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Coulter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Pot Roast

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Delicious but hot... my only change would be reducing Cayenne to 1/2 tsp. Moist, shreds great for tacos or on rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Coulter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stacey's Hamburger Seasoning

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I thought this was a great mix of seasonings - I made cheeseburgers and thought they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Baked Onion Rings

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
These were so easy to make and tasted so yummy. Will no longer eat deep fried onion rings This is a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Delphi, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caramel Popcorn

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Unfortunately I refuse to make this again. I ate so much of it I'm pretty sure I gained 10 lbs. You can't stop eating it---that's how awesome it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Strawberry Upside Down Cake

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This cake is incredible, and my guests LOVED it! I made a couple of adjustments. To the batter: I microwaved a 2 cup measuring cup full of chocolate chips with 1/4 cup water for a minute, stirred and then blended into the batter. I added 1 cup more marshmallows and baked the cake in a 10" X 2". It took about 1:5 minutes before the knife came out mostly clean, but I served it hot with a pile of whipped cream. Next time I'll try it with ice cream! The top (which becomes the bottom) was crunchy while the center was like chocolate lava cake- moist and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baxtersbistro

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Best Brownies

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I just took these out of the oven. Of course I just couldn't wait and I'm typing this as the roof of my mouth is burning, but , these are some good brownies. I followed the recipe exactly but I don't own an 8x8 pan. I used an 8x12 pan and only left them in the oven for 15 minutes. I also did not make the frosting because I have no honey on hand. They are GREAT just the way they are!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Lemonade Ever

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I made this last night and it was really good. I followed the recipe exactly too! My biggest problem was finding decent lemons at the local WalMart in Indiana (imagine that).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I followed recipe exactly with the exception of baking it at 425 for about 20 minutes. Awesome....absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States