Indianapolis - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Waffles I

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Very good starter recipe. Whisking eggs til frothy definitely lightens up the waffles. I used soy milk and added a scoop of Jay Robb's Vanilla Whey powder to try to add some more protein (and some vanilla flavoring). It didn't add a ton of vanilla flavor but I did get my protein from it. Definitely will keep this recipe. It's easy to make and I always have the ingredients on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChowHound

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Good Old Fashioned Pancakes

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Wow. Tender, golden, fluffy delights. You don't have to change a thing on this recipe. I ended up with inch-thick cakes with a crispy crust. I fried them in coconut oil on a nonstick pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bourbon Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
This is a great recipe! I personally added 3/4t ginger and extra red pepper flakes. This can be adjusted based on what you prefer. Overall it was a '10'!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Oatmeal Bar Cookies

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I read the reviews and made a few major tweaks myself. First of all I doubled the recipe, subbed pecans for the walnuts, added some whole flax seed (about 1/2c) and toasted all of them first in the oven for about 15 min. I swapped the amounts for the applesauce and butter, and actually used vegetable oil. I used half the amount of flour, but used whole wheat, and added one egg and a tsp of salt. Because of the reviews, I tasted the batter before baking to test for blandness and it was fine - I used the full amount of brown sugar and added a pinch of ground cloves for spice. I put in two of the small boxes of raisins that I had in my cabinet. I spread it in a jelly roll pan and baked for 25 minutes, and they are perfectly seasoned and chewy like those big Quaker breakfast cookies. Maybe next time I'll play with other sweeteners (honey, maple syrup) to make more clean/whole food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muncie, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Latin-Inspired Spicy Cream Chicken Stew

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I really enjoyed this! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eating Indy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

Dry Rub for Ribs

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Great quick basic rub! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eating Indy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Photo by Tracy Ann

Large Salmon Patties

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
The dill weed gives these patties more flavor than the restaurant version. REMEMBER: remove the spines from the canned salmon and throw them away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

Poultry Seasoning

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This is perfect exactly what I needed and I had all these on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARCIA99116

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fortville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Salsa Meatloaf

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Followed to a T, only I used turkey instead of beef. We really enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mushroom Rice

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
This is a good base recipe that you can add on whatever you would want to make for your more liking. I did adjust some other stuff to make it more like my preference; added yellow onion (chopped) instead of green onion, and added a small amount of cumin and caraway for additional flavor. Very nice side dish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by montycat

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Brownies

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly. These were very bland and dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommafourtimes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best 100 Calorie Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I haven't made these yet, but my cycle class instructor did ... and, boy, were they good! I'll be making a batch very soon now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James 1588

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I made and loved this cake! Family, friends & coworkers raved!!!!! This recipe used to be accompanied by the recipe for the Raspberry Reduction Sauce the cake is drizzled with in the picture. Where did it go? I searched this site and it's gone. Luckily I already have it printed out, but it's a shame future bakers won't have it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D*Man

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Braised Corned Beef Brisket

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
This recipe is to die for! It is one of my husband's favorite dinners. I was skeptical, as I didn't really care for corned beef (too salty, and I like salt). However, after I made this, I am in love! I follow the recipe as written, only I add a little more water (maybe 1/2 cup) to keep the drippings from burning. I steamed cabbage in some chicken broth to have on the side. Every year around, or just after, St. Patrick's day, we stock up on the corned beef that is on sale in the store and freeze it. I made this with a brisket that had been in the freezer for a year and it was still delicious! Give this a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Whole Wheat Applesauce Biscuits

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I took the advice of past reviewer and used all honey as sub for sugar. I also used canola oil. They turned out sweet and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nilegurl20

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Poppy Seed Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
This was a delicious, lemony poppy seed bread. I'm a bit disappointed in the glaze, hence the 4 stars. I added 1/2 C lemon juice and some lemon rind to the batter. Anyway---quite tasty, and I'll be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Teriyaki Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Oh, I so loved this recipe! Made no modification, and it turned out just so wonderful!! I was really appreciative that I could make the Teriyaki Sauce from the scratch. This one was not too rich or too sweet to me. I don't like the store-bought Teriyaki Sauce in general as they tend to be too sweet, too rich, or simply missing something. I didn't need to wrap with the foil, with 30 min each side along with every 10 min brushing of the teriyaki sauce did a great job, it was moist and tender when they came out from the oven. The top side of chicken was very well looked like the typical teriyaki chicken with thickened teriyaki sauce on top, and the other side of the chicken was moist, as the juice from the chicken was about 1/3 of the baking dish and kept the another side well moist, so this side, the sauce was a bit thinner looking, but the sauce was already well absorbed in the chicken, so no downside as to the taste. This recipe will be definitely part of my routine dinner meals :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by montycat

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Spanish Rice

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Very tasty---went well with our cheese quesadillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Mushroom Gravy

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Mmmm! I made this tonight to go over some mashed red potatoes. This was dashed good. Not as thick as some gravies, but the potatoes just soaked this up. Followed to the letter and it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Oh, wow! This pie is incredible!! I followed the directions to a T, and everything turned out beautifully and deliciously decadent. Mmmmmmm. Perfect Valentine's Day dessert. Thank you for such an EASY and delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States