Indianapolis - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
So delicious and much better than the Libby's can recipe! I used dark brown sugar in place of the white sugar, replaced the corn syrup with 1 tablespoon of molasses and 1 tablespoon of honey. Also added 1 T of whiskey and 1 t vanilla. Subbed about 1 and 1/2 t pumpkin pie spice instead of spices and threw in a sprinkling of dried orange peel. This is the bomb! Making it again tomorrow for Thanksgiving~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2BakeGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Roast Turkey

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
As I prepared the brine in '14 I was also preparing my Drunken Wienies recipe. I poured about 1/4 C of the thin sauce into my brine since the brine was at the cooling stage and I was actively preparing the wienies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ang Avers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

German Rice

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I made this today, and I liked it. This was my very first time to cook (and eat) German rice, so I didn't have any comparison to make. My personal liking was to add more spice, although this original was indeed comforting to eat. Relatively easy cooking. 3 cups of uncooked rice made "really" a lot, more likely 12 servings or "Party size", well more than 7 servings that the recipe called for (was what I thought first). But anyway, I kept eating, eating, so maybe after my eating, it looked more like 6 servings left, or I alone could have eaten 6-serving (I am feeling very heavy now). Next time, I will increase the amount of raisins (want more raisins to the proportion of rice), and will cut some olive oil. The juice and grease from the brats were plenty to cook sausage. Also I will experiment with additional spices together with using the onion soup base, instead of chicken soup base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by montycat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Snowdrops

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
What an easy recipe! Had limited time & guests on the way. I experimented with recipe as listed (great) and tried rolling in cocoa powder & rolling in finely chopped pecans. I also added choc chips and 1 Tbl espresso powder. Fav was pecans. Very nice! Left them a little "undercooked" and they came out fine. They look a bit undercooked when done. perfectly light, crisp & chewy. All varieties were eaten before I could get a pic. Prettiest were powdered sugar, then pecan...then cocoa. All delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Milano

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
After all the rave reviews, I was disappointed. I tried using fat free half and half, since another reviewer said they substituted half and half for the cream. Since it was fat free it curdled. The sauce was thin- not at all like I expected. There are some recipes where you can substitute fat free products but this is not one of them. I used the tomatoes in olive oil and I think it was too oily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommafourtimes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Almost-Professional Buttercream Icing

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
This is a perfect vanilla buttercream frosting. Used all butter. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach Rice

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
I made this today, but made so much modification based on the other reviewers. The star 2 is based on the original, as it would have been 2-star had I made this without modification, this is why: I would definitely increase the amount of rice to 1 cup for 6 servings (1/3 cup is simply not enough for 6). I would also increase the milk to 1/2 cup, not 1/4 cup for more smooth texture. And then, modify the amount of salt accordingly based on the liking. 1/2 tea spoons of salt for 1/3 cup rice mixture is way too salty and unhealthy to me, considering the fact that salt is already in the soup and cheese on top. Also I think 1 can of soup mix (10.75 oz) and 4 oz cheese for 1/3 cup rise is not the right proportion, need more rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by montycat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Very Easy Potato Bacon Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Very easy to make and so good on a cold Autumn day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Karen's Fried Green Tomatoes

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I have never been particularly impressed by fried green tomatoes, but I had some green tomatoes left over from my garden after a hard frost and hated to waste them. I found this recipe to be fantastic. My only concern was that duplicating it as written would have produced a dish with far more saturated fat than I was willing to accept (one serving of this side dish would have meant ingesting 50% more than the recommended daily allowance of saturated fat from the American Heart Association, even for healthy adults without heart problems). I realize that this is not a diet dish, but a simple substitution resulted in 1/3 of the saturated fat, 1/2 the cholesterol, and still delicious flavor. I substituted a 50-50 blend of olive oil and Smart Balance Buttery Spread with flaxseed oil, along with a cut from two eggs to one, resulting in a heart-healthy recipe without any apparent loss of flavor. I don't want to sound like a food Nazi, but there simply is no reason to cook the tomatoes in a cup of butter when there are much more healthful alternatives that do not mean giving up anything! This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cardamom Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Delicious flavor; followed the recipe exactly, only necessity forced me to use vanilla almond milk instead of regular. Yum! Also, didn't roll these out 1/8" thick because it was too sticky to use a rolling pin on; instead, I just made thumb-tip sized drops on the cookie sheet, and that seemed to work fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Corn Bread

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
This was my first time making corn bread and it was quick and easy to make. This is a full proof recipe for corn bread. The sour cream makes it very moist. It has the right amount of sweetness! It gives jiffy corn bread a run for their money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jbair062

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Turkey Breakfast Sausage

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
This was quite good. Not gonna lie, I was skeptical that this would truly taste like sausage, but--I was wrong! :) Yum yum. My husband especially liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Scallop-Topped Portabello Mushrooms

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Delicious recipe! This is a keeper, and it is good enough for a special occasion. I don’t understand the very low ratings from those who referred to Heinz bottled chili sauce or from those who said it was poorly put together. I found it incredible, and I saw no reference to anything from Heinz. As others have done, I used Srirachi chili sauce. For those who do not appreciate a spicy flavor, be sure to use it sparingly, because even a little makes it surprisingly spicy. I liked it, but I have lived in Sichuan and am used to much heavier spices. I have used Kewpie mayo while in Japan, but I found that U.S. mayo with a bit of (liquid) sushi seasoning sauce (which is basically rice wine, with sweetener and a few spices) was a fine substitute. My Japanese wife and I both gave this recipe five stars. As an aside, my only serious detour from the recipe as written was to add freshly grated Romano cheese, which complemented the other flavors nicely. I recommend not cooking the scallops as long as recommended. Scallops, like shrimp, are perfect when barely done. Any more cooking toughens them, changing the texture significantly. Sautéing them until they are browned and then cooking them even longer under the broiler is far too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
1/2 butter, 1/2 shortening. Divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tracy Ann

Mushroom Pork Chops

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I fried the chops in Crisco. Oil is healthier, but doesn't brown as good. Used 2 cans of soup with" a little" milk, a small container of fresh mushrooms and one slice of red onion minced. Tender and delicious!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

Chef John's Mango Cranberry Sauce

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I am adding this to my Thanksgiving menu. I chose Chef John's cranberry recipe over others because of the complexity of flavors he uses with the mangos and spices. I agree with adding hot sauce at the end and the amount of sugar he uses. I will update my review after I make it but if you want something more sophisticated give this a try. I plan to make it the day before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holly Jones

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
sha-zam! A little sticky when you skip the chilling, but tender and light cookie results. Excellent recipe. I added a pinch of cayenne pepper & doubled the cinnamon. Cookie keeps well and has been a huge hit every time I've made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cinnamon, Spice and Everything Nice Cookies

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I made these for my coworkers and they got rave reviews. These cookies are absolutely delicious! Followed the recipe to the letter. I'm already planning on making more and freezing them (after the baked cookies are completely cooled) for the occasional snack. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lime Chicken Soft Tacos

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
This is a go to recipe for me when I need a fast meal, or a special meal for company. Always a big hit! I have added the lime zest to this for a delicious add in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Middletown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This is a very good recipe if you want to avoid wheat / flour. Cookies taste wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States