Indianapolis - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Lime Chicken Soft Tacos

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
This is a go to recipe for me when I need a fast meal, or a special meal for company. Always a big hit! I have added the lime zest to this for a delicious add in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Middletown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This is a very good recipe if you want to avoid wheat / flour. Cookies taste wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caesar Salad Supreme

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
This is so delicious and I would recommend it to anyone who likes Caesar salad. I used the exact measurements and made it a mini food processor. Next time I would make the croutons in the oven vs frying fan to get them crispier. We had it with French onion soup and a glass of red Italian wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

American French Onion Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
The technique of baking the onions and finishing them on the stove is genius and gave me time to get other things done. Layering the flavors intensifies the deliciousness (deglazing the pan with vinegar and wine). The consistency of the soup was perfect. I used balsamic vinegar and red wine in place of the sherry and asiago and gruyere in place of the sharp cheddar and Monterey Jack I used more thyme and a bay leaf in the stock. We had Caesar salad with it and a glass of Italian red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
My husband said it was the best gumbo he ever tasted in his life. I made it last Sunday and it took from 10:30am to 1 pm to have everything in the pot. I rated it 4 stars because I changed the spices so much to add more flavor. Here are comments and changes: 1. Used 5 skin on chicken thighs vs duck legs and took skin off after browning 2. Used 1.75 lbs andouille sausage because I did not use cray fish 3. Cooked roux in oblong cast iron pan so only took 20 min 4. I did not add 2 more TB of flour because we wanted soup bowls not plates 5. I used a lot more stock 2.5 32 oz boxes( for Roux I used his amount of stock and added extra in soup pot) 6. I used Chef John's thyme and cayenne but added a large sprinkle of garlic powder and 2T of Emerl's Bayou blast and file powder in the end 7. I strained off a lot more fat and used 2T in the rice instead of butter 8. Chopped green onion and parsley sprinkled on rice 9. Loved John's tips of using some fat from meat for roux and using pickled okra 10. Only make this when you have a day off and for friend's and family who appreciate gumbo I made this last Sunday and making Chef John's American onion soup this Sunday
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cracked Sugar Cookies I

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
These are delicious and so easy to make. I'll be writing this recipe down for the recipe box! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mountain Apple Cobbler

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
After reading several reviews, we cut the sugar to one cup and only used 8oz Mt. Dew. Still needs a little tweaking, but man these are YUMMY! We will peel the apples next time and season the apples with cinnamon and sugar before baking. I think then, it will be a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scrapper9494

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Edgewater, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I started making soup every Sunday for football season so I am standing in front of a TV watching the Red Zone instead of sitting in front of a TV. I made this soup last Sunday and will make it many times again in the future. The only thing I changed was adding twice the red chili paste like other reviewers, sliced shiitake mushrooms, more broth, and cooked longer because I wanted the red onions softer. It was a challenge trimming the fat off the chicken thighs but worth the flavor and moistness breasts do not give. I appreciated Chef John's tip straining out the ginger, lemon grass, garlic cooking in chunks and using the lite and regular coconut milk. I served it with 1/4 cup basmati rice. This was so tasty it was gone in two days. I am making Chef John's gumbo today. Go Colts!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Turkey Chili

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I have recently become obsessed with Chef John's recipes, videos, and reviews. My husband made this chili on Friday night and did not change anything. The flavor and consistency were excellent. Last night I took the left overs and made a pasta bake with 8 oz Campanella pasta and shredded Vermont white cheddar in an 8x8 pan covered @ 350 for 30 min and uncovered for another 15 min. The chili had such wonderful intense flavor that I did not need to add anymore spice. This is very spicy and not for kids as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Potato Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
This soup can be compared to O'Charley's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ang Avers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Pork Chops I

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I had my doubts about this recipe but I'm glad I was wrong! I had thick pork chops and wasn't sure if it was going to cook evenly in the oven, but they came out juicy and tender. I did not have white wine on hand so I created my own gravy to go on top...so I can't speak for the sauce the original recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChowHound

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brunch Egg Bake

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Yummay! can substitute most any ingredients form the fridge and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Souvlaki with Tzatziki Sauce

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Outstanding flavor and just like my Greek neighbors made in Chicago! Tzatziki saucs was a perfect celebration for my garden's 1st cuke!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Death by Chocolate Mousse

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I subbed choc biscuit cookies from fresh market for oreos. Mousse is light and exactly what I was looking for. Perfect for hot summer picnic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Sugar Tea Cookies

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Great flavor, but mine were thin. I measured flour carefully, so I'm guessing it was measured without sifting and possibly settled. Also, a measurement on size (3/4" balls baked best). Walnuts have the shell on 'em in my world, so that was 2". Great cookie if more flour and 3/4" ball was baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Orzo Pesto Pasta with Bacon

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I created this recipe when our family was in need of something a bit different for dinners. It is the favorite dish of our pickiest eater. Win, win!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ang Avers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Crumb Muffins

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
These are delicious. Added 1 tsp vanilla extract, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, and 3/4 tsp cinnamon to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini Brownies

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I can't imagine myself making these again. What a weird taste. Neither my husband nor I really liked them. . . I don't really understand the rave reviews--these are definitely not traditional brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by just_plain_v

Super Easy Salmon Cakes

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Great recipe! Very easy steps to follow. MY family loved them. Thanks ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_plain_v
Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fig and Arugula Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
We really enjoyed this salad. It was very simple and easy to make. The combination of sweet from the honey and figs worked wonderfully with the bitterness from the arugula and the balsamic. I had never thought to use fresh figs in a salad before seeing this recipe. I am glad I tried it. I will definitely serve this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States