Indianapolis - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Homemade Hamburger Buns

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
This is such a great recipe, and saving so much money by making them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Providence Forge, Virginia, USA

Asian Ginger Grill Marinade

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
We did steaks and grilled veggies with this marinade. No time to let it sit so I just doused everything on the grill. The husband said it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cherry Pie Filling

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Delicious, and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Graycebee

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I really love this. I made the mistake of simmering it with the lid on, which made it sort of watery. That was my fault so I give it 5 stars. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Graycebee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cabbage Rolls

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
My family LOVED this recipe!! The only adjustment I made was substituting Crushed Tomatos for Whole. I loved the dill flavor! Will definitely fix again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarlingCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilkinson, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Made this successfully, (meaning made deliciously), with mushrooms (16 oz) and two zucchinis instead of chicken. Followed everything to a T, but did a bit less dill; I find it very strong. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Mexican Casserole

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I thought this was a good basic recipe. I am a cook that grows fresh herbs and always modify a recipe from this. Cumin, fresh garlic and fresh cilantro was a need, and I also used some spiced up tomatoes as well. Loved it, Oh and used the tostidos with lime. YUMMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Providence Forge, Virginia, USA

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
This is a great recipe. I didn't give it 5 stars because I tweaked the recipe a bit, but it was fantastic! I used all butter, SugarLeaf (Stevia and cane sugar mix), fresh honey roasted peanut butter, and added Craisins and chocolate chips. I also did what others recommended and added an extra 1/2 cup of oats (I didn't have quick oats, so they were the "Old Fashioned" oats). The cookies turned out great; I did keep mine in for 15 minutes per pan and the result was slightly darker cookie than a "regular" peanut butter cookie but the edges were slightly crisp and the center was chewy. Not too peanut buttery, and not too oatmeal-ish. This is the perfect marriage of my two favorite cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChowHound

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chops

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
With the suggested changes included (from other's tips), it is 5 stars. Here is what I did: Added seasoned salt to each side and browned the chops in oil. Added condensed beef broth into pan after chops cooked to get the bits from browning. Added mushroom soup and about 1 extra can water. Tossed in a handful of frozen diced onions and a minced garlic clove along with a pinch of general seasoning from our local olive oil shop that has a few dried red bell peppers, parsley, thyme. Next time will also add 1-2 T white wine. Cooked on high for 6 hours and did not add potatoes or green beans (hub doesn't like). Served over mashed potatoes with peas on the side. These were tender and very tasty. Can't wait to eat the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2BakeGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Party Pinwheels

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
These are always a hit and great to make the day before! I took another reviewer's suggestion and added raw corn cut from the cob and that just adds a sweet crunch that is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amatriciana

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Used 3 very thick slices of bacon; peppered to taste, (despite what one reviewer advised in adding salt, I felt the bacon provided plenty of that!); since I didn't have any fresh basil or parsley, used dried of both, to taste; added a splash of white wine to the skillet after the onions and garlic had cooked. This was a delicious pasta dish and a great alternative to my usual marinara sauce. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Macaroni Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Oh dear me. This was phenomenal and I found it quite difficult to stop eating. I halved the recipe, and since I didn't have any pepper, omitted it. I also added two chopped hard-boiled eggs, because that's the way my mom always made macaroni salad, and---what can I say?---I love it that way. Very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Juicy Roasted Chicken

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Delicious! Makes wonderful gravy. Added mushrooms around the chicken while it roasted--cooked up just right. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Key Lime Pie VII

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
I love key lime and this recipe is phenomenal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Club Marinade - Dry Dock,The Monterrey Whaling Co. & J. Ross Brown

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Great for Chix breasts and Steaks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. E. Dixon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Rineyville, Kentucky, USA

Banana-Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Delicious. 1/2 C sugar; 2 C zucchini; omitted walnuts and cranberries. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Steak Marinade in Existence

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I wasn't sure about the Basil in this recipe, but so many reviews said it was wonderful that I thought it must be worth a try. It was FANTASTIC! Marinated some "value" cuts of beef for 5 hours for grilling at a family picnic and everyone raved about how wonderful they were and wanted the recipe. I did use three small cloves of fresh garlic instead of powder, but that was my only tweak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muncie, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Crumble Pie

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Delightful pie. I was so excited to try this! Added 1/4 C of flour, 1/4 C white sugar and 1/4 C brown sugar to the apples. I think I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asian Glazed Chicken Thighs

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Doubled the sauce so that I had an ample amount to marinate and also use to baste and serve with. Used a mix of siracha and Thai garlic chili paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CeliaBelia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Bread

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Per another's review, I added 2/3 C lemon juice, which was a good call. I love super lemony breads. I didn't have any walnuts, so I used pecans. I'm still on the fence about adding nuts to a bread that just seems to beg me to use poppyseeds instead. :) Left off the glaze because I just didn't feel like making it. Either way, this is delicious and my husband has been really enjoying it for his breakfasts this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States