Indianapolis - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Proudmuslima64

Best Brownies

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Wonderful and simple recipe. I did use whole spelt organic flour instead of the white wheat and it was simply delicious. Light and fluffy. I did not use baking powder because it contains aluminum and is bad for your heath. I substitued it with baking soda. No problem or change in taste. I am going to make this agian tonight for my wonderful husband. MashaAllah InshaAllah......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Proudmuslima64

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Saarbrücken, Saarland, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Old Country Pork and Sauerkraut

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I could not locate my old standby Pork and Sauerkraut recipe so I found this one instead. It was very close to Grandma's recipe. I like caraway seeds which is not in my normal recipe. The caraway seeds gave it a little extra something special. I had to make ours without tomatoes (allergies) but I am sure that would have tasted delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly D. B. Woodward

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

Super-Delicious Zuppa Toscana

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
A quick review of the fat and calorie content led me to omit the bacon and substitute 1% milk for the cream with 3 tbsp cornstarch as another reviewer suggested. I also used only 4 medium potatoes which was plenty. I had frozen spinach and used about half of a 10 oz package
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommafourtimes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Eggplant

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
After reading all the reviews I decided to try the recipe as it was submitted. The star rating is based on the original recipe. It was pretty good, but like others I found 1/2 C olive oil was not necessary , and we thought it was a bit bland...so, next time I made it I only used olive oil spray. I also doubled the garlic, added 1 small chopped onion and instead of bread crumbs I used 1 cup of cooked brown rice. With these few changes it was more to our liking. It was a very good basic recipe though. Thanks Elaina.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tracy Ann

Rum or Bourbon Balls

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

Doggie Biscuits I

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Mine turned out like batter, too, and I added more flour and oats, but consistency only allowed me to make balls. Just watched the video and it says to use 3/4 cup water, while the recipe says 1-1/2 cups. That's the difference! I'll cut back on the water. They are baking now and smell delicious, even though they won't be as cute as I'd hoped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Piadina Romagnola (Italian Flat Bread)

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I make this recipe at least twice a month. It is wonderful and goes well with everything from eggs to soup. We especially like it with virgin olive oil and raw milk cheese in the evening for a snack. I do not use table salt, instead I use Himalayan Pink Salt. It is the ONLY salt that has not been polluted by man in one way or another. Today I am making a batch using organic spelt flour and kefir milk instead of wheat flour and sourcream and milk. I'm sure it will be the best ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Proudmuslima64

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Saarbrücken, Saarland, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
What can I say.....this is simply the best recipe for chocolate chip cookies ever!!! I do omit the baking powder because it contains aluminum, and there are many clinical studies stating that baking powder is linked to Alzheimer's disease. It doesn't make that much difference in taste and is so much better for your health.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Proudmuslima64

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Saarbrücken, Saarland, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Magic Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I have made this several times and it is such a great and easy cake to wow my husband with. I like to make two small cakes with one batch and then freeze the second one. I just let it sit on the counter until thawed and it is just like it came out of the oven. I also use spelt flour instead of wheat, which is better for your digestion and if you may be diabetic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Proudmuslima64

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Saarbrücken, Saarland, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Potato Pie I

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
This is the first time I made sweet potato pie and it was very nice. I do have to admit that I added extra spice. I use organic cylon cinnamon so I doubled the amount and it brings such a fruity flavor to anything you bake, its the best. I did not have any milk on hand so I used cream instead and it came out very rich and creamy, more of a thick pudding than a dense filling. Will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Proudmuslima64

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Saarbrücken, Saarland, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
A wonderful pudding. I personally do not use cornstarch, instead I use spelt flour and it turns out great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Proudmuslima64

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Saarbrücken, Saarland, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Proudmuslima64

Very Simple Spelt Bread

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
This is going to be a staple in our household. I made a half loaf in a small spring form and it turned out wonderful. So easy to mix. And it was the bomb the next day toasted for breakfast. And a night snack of a slice of bread with real butter and raw honey is better than any cake out there. Living in Germany we love hearty breads and this one is just that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Proudmuslima64

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Saarbrücken, Saarland, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Proudmuslima64

Chantal's New York Cheesecake

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
This is the best and easiest cheesecake I have ever made. I live in Germany and made this for my Osteopath and when I saw him on the next visit he had to pause and take a deep breath and say, 'This is the best cheesecake I have ever tasted.' Mind you, I live 20 minutes from France and they are know for their cheesecakes. I have tried this cake with cream cheese and with creme fresh, depending on what I had on hand, and had great success with both. The creme fresh tends to be lighter in texture, but not on flavor. I make my own grahme crackers from organic spelt instead of wheat. I use the recipe from here for the crackers. They are wonderful as well. I do add my eggs last and it seems to make it even creamier in texture. I have also made half the recipe and used a small spring form pan and it worked out great. This is definately a keeper. I try to make one a month, if not for my wonderful husband and I, then to family or neighbors. What a great gift to give, yummy cheesecake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Proudmuslima64

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Saarbrücken, Saarland, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Smoky Black Bean Burgers

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I subbed chipotle powder (1 t) for liquid smoke and added chopped onions. Great recipe. Can't believe more restaurants won't step up their game on this. We served it on toasted bread w chipotle mayo (3 T mayo, one t chipotle powder) and cheese. Glorious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tom Szaller's Great Pan or Bird Stuffing

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I always skip not only making stuffing but also skip consuming stuffing that others make as its not my favorite. This thanksgiving, I decided to give it a shot and used this recipe, and much to the delight of everyone at the table, it was a HIT! Even with my teenagers! Who doesn't agree that bacon makes everything better? The flavor is like no other stuffing I've had! The reason I give it 4 not 5 stars is because it does take a lot of prep, dirty pans and time. I would suggest preparing all but the bread a day ahead and then add the bread the day of baking to keep it from getting soggy. I also used chicken broth and drippings from the turkey instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Green Salad with Cranberry Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This salad was over the top delicious and I would make it again. I added 1 T of Chef John's mango cranberry sauce because I had made it, used 2 t red wine vinegar and 1 t of raspberry balsamic, and used part craisons and cranberries, toasted pecans instead of almonds, craisons, and soaked the red onion. I did not add any sugar because the craisons have added sugar and so did the cranberry sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Pot De Creme

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
My husband and I loved this desert and both thought it was a perfect ending to the Thanksgiving meal. I did not want to buy vanilla beans or a bottle of rum so I used 1/2 t of Vanilla extract and 1/4 t of rum extract. I missed the step on covering them so they came out as a firm custard which worked out. I baked them for 45 minutes. The roasted pecans and real maple syrup on top was killer. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grecian Green Beans in Tomato Sauce

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I made these for Thanksgiving to be healthier and because they have a lot of flavor. I added 2 cloves of chopped garlic, 28 oz chopped tomato with the juice, and a pinch of cinnamon and cayenne pepper, cooked 40 min with lid on and 5 without so the sauce would be thicker. There was just my husband and myself and I plan to make Alton Brown's baked brown rice to go with the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Roast Turkey and Gravy

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
My husband said this was the best Turkey he ever ate in his life. It smelled so good as it was baking. I did not deviate from the recipe at all but did not make the gravy to make the dinner healthier. I also made Chef John's Mango Cranberry sauce, other recipes from All Recipes: Grecian green beans, green salad with cranberry vinaigrette and pumpkin pots de creme, and Ina's sausage stuffed mushrooms and her glazed carrots. Here is the recipe for the herb butter: 1 stick of softened butter, 3 cloves chopped garlic, 1 teaspoon of- lemon zest, poultry seasoning, black pepper, rosemary and 1.5 teaspoon of kosher salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
So delicious and much better than the Libby's can recipe! I used dark brown sugar in place of the white sugar, replaced the corn syrup with 1 tablespoon of molasses and 1 tablespoon of honey. Also added 1 T of whiskey and 1 t vanilla. Subbed about 1 and 1/2 t pumpkin pie spice instead of spices and threw in a sprinkling of dried orange peel. This is the bomb! Making it again tomorrow for Thanksgiving~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2BakeGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States