Gary, Indiana - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Cheesy Potato Salad

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
Totally awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA
Living In: Hickory, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I added a small amount of cream to each serving and 1 cup cubed Vetveta cheese to the pot of soup. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA
Living In: Crown Point, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Butternut Squash Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I made this soup Saturday. I didn't add any spices due to personal preference, just salt to taste. I used 4 cups chicken stock and one 8 oz package cream cheese. I blended it using my immersion blender. My husband and I just loved this soup! I think I will make a big batch to serve on Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA
Living In: Crown Point, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Maple Glazed Sweet Potatoes

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Did this recipe w/o the coconut-- maple syrup provides for a complex, but not-overbearing sweetness that really makes for an amazing side dish. Naturally sweet and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

Spicy Watermelon

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
This Spicy Watermelon is very similar to the spicy watermelon cups I purchase at my local Flea Market. I enjoy having during the summer months. The salt & heat really bring out the sweetness of the watermelon. And this recipe saves me buckets of money, since my local flea Market sells their cups for $5 bucks a piece. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LGREEN36

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA
Living In: Merrillville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Pudding IV

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
I used to make the banana pudding recipe in the Nilla Wafer box-as did my mom. It was traditional and I didn't like any other recipe, until now. I used this recipe a couple of times and it is a hit in my house. It is quick, easy and tasty. It is my new fav dessert go-to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBDAN54

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA
Living In: Merrillville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Coconut-Lime Sorbet

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Outstanding! For everyone who claims this "isn't sweet enough", double-check your ingredients. Coconut milk is what you buy in the intl food/Thai section of the store. This is NOT what you want. The correct ingredient, 'cream of coconut' is insanely sweet, and is located in the liquor section, with the cocktail mixers (lime juice, grenadine, sweet and sour mix, etc).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHAEL JACKSON
Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Island Treasures

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Loved this recipe! I added extra butterscotch chips and white chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvmac2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Muffins II

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
The spice ratios are way off. They would be better called 'Clove Muffins'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHAEL JACKSON
Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chantal's New York Cheesecake

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I love it, I'm a big fan of the oven bake cheesecake, no bake cheesecakes, no way...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Wilkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

Kickin' Collard Greens

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
I'm not a big collard green person, but I must say these recipes are something I will be trying. Thanks allrecipes!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Wilkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

Vanilla Ice Cream

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
quick and easy, I used an icecream mixer. Was ready in about an hour, softserve style. Thanks! Taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This is like homemade Chef Boyardee! I found it a bit plain - if you saw the video, definitely spice it up as Chef John suggests. Even following his recommendations, it was still bland. I would also add a generous amount of frozen peas at the end of the cooking time, to help offse the blandness. The meat turned out great. Don't worry about the sauce being too watery - the pasta will suck it all in, and it will actually turn out a bit dry. I'll use less pasta next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHAEL JACKSON
Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Great simple and tasty recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Vegetable Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Easy peasy and hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Loved this! Used a chuck roast instead and skipped the bay leaf (I don't have any).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I had all the ingredients on hand. Quick to throw together and flavorful! Like others, I shredded the chicken a few hours in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Fried Chicken

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Not sure if I did something wrong or what, but this just did not turn out. The chicken was soggy and the taste was very off. Not using this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cuilleann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caramel Frosting VI

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I used dark brown sugar & it came out excellent! Rich & dark. The next time I make it I will exchange the flour for cornstarch. I tend to taste the flour. I have sensitive taste buds I guess, lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LGREEN36

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA
Living In: Merrillville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Macaroni and Cheese

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
My Kids Loved it!!! I omitted the onions, they don't care for them. Finally I can get them to stop eating the nasty box kind. I win for me, YaY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LGREEN36

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA
Living In: Merrillville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States