Elkhart, Indiana - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Classic Waffles

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Good basic recipe. Light and fluffy but could of had a bit more flavor. I will probably add a bit more vanilla and sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dreamskape

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oregon Salmon Patties

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Very good... served over crisp mushrooms cooked in butter as another reviewer suggested. Added garlic to onions and ladeled the lemon sauce with a pinch of dill added over the top of patties. Served with side of asparagus. Everyone loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Gardner Vance

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rotini with Asparagus, Salmon and Cherry Tomatoes

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This was perfectly good, very simple but it needed something...it was lacking in flavor. We smoked the salmon on the grill first, and instead of olive oil I sautéed the onion and tomato in a little bacon grease and it still was missing something. However, I will make this again as it was very fresh tasting and was a good spring dish to put together quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salsa II

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I made this salsa because jar salsa is hard to find in Costa Rica and I needed it for an enchilada recipe I was trying. I was really surprised how well this came out even though I made a few changes. Besides scaling it down to 8 servings, the changes I made were the addition of minced garlic, no cayenne because I did not have any and I did not cook it….I just used it uncooked. It was so good that this will now be my “go to” recipe when I need a salsa for chips or cooking! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dreamskape

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Ziti I

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I tried this recipe thinking that it was going to be like other Baked Ziti recipes but was surprised to find that it wasn't like the other recipes at all. It is excellent and reminded me of lasagna.. just with different noodles. The fact that it called for sour cream instead of cottage or ricotta cheese was an added plus. We live in Costa Rica and cow cheese is VERY expensive here so being able to use sour cream is a money saver for us! Hubby said I can make this anytime! He loved it even more than I did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dreamskape

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TAWNEY112

Blue Cheese Chipotle Venison Burgers

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
mmm, flavorful, moist and very spicy! I did add a bit of extra adobo sauce to the burger mix, and instead of banana peppers, I used some canned mixed hot peppers to the onion mix. I wasn't convinced the spicy and blue cheese would be a hit, but it definitely was great. We cooked these a little rare, and I didn't use quite as much blue cheese. Oh, and made them into 8 patties - they would have been huge otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Lemon Cookies

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
WOW!!! I followed some of the other suggestions and these cookies SING in your mouth! I call them Lemon Zingers. Followed the recipe with the exception that I didn't use the powdered sugar ( I tried it that way before and they looked awful) and I didn't use the Lemon Extract (as I never have any). I used the Lemon Cake Mix, 2 Eggs, 1/3 cup oil, 1 TBS. Real Lemon Juice, and yes 1 Package of Unsweetened Lemonade Kool-Aid Mix (mix for 2 Qrts.). I then used a cookie scooper (equivalent to 1 TBS. of cookie dough) and dropped the balls into regular sugar and coated them. Baked at 375 for 9 min. WOW!!! If you want them to be thick keep at rounded tablespoons, if you want a flatter cookie, press down on the cookie a little bit with the bottom of a glass. These are a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Silver Lake, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marinated Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Best marinade I've had yet for pork! Only made a few changes. Did not have any sherry so substituted white Zinfandel. Because our family likes a hickory taste when grilling, I added a couple of drops of liquid smoke. Family loved it so much we are making it for Easter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Waffles

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
easy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Sinful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Gardner Vance

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Truly five stars....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Gardner Vance

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HighSpeedHero

Honey Walnut Shrimp

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
I accidentally bought small size shrimp but I maneuvered around and got it to work! It looks great and tastes fantastic. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HighSpeedHero

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mango Chutney

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Love it! I was worried based on a previous chutney attempt, but it came out fantastic! Excellent with my chicken curry. I used 1/10 of the recipe amounts and cooked it almost the same times on a very low heat. Did not add raisins or nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Brussels Sprouts with Crispy Bacon

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
First time cooking fresh Brussels Sprouts was a success! I followed the recipe but omitted the last butter and sautéed cooked bacon with the sprouts before serving. Would add more garlic in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bacon Cheese Frittata

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Very easy recipe. Made my first frittata! I added Italian seasoning and garlic. Omitted the onion. I also accidentally did not read the recipe and combined all ingredients, but came out the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Herb Grilled Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
This recipe is very tasty! Tastes like something you would get in a fine restaurant! And very easy! I cut back the Olive Oil to 2 Tbsp to cut back on calories. I marinated it for a couple of hours, then baked it in the oven at 400 for 35-40 minutes. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Use corn tortillas. I made this recipe with both corn and flour tortillas. Even with being heated before being filled, the flour tortillas turned out mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KidsAreReadingUsborneBooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wooster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter and Pumpkin Dog Treats

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
My dogs LOVE this recipe! I altered the recipe too. I used a whole small can of pumpkin, 2 hefty spoonfuls of peanut butter, a few shots of cinnamon, 4 eggs and then added flour until I got a rolling dough consistency. 40-50 minutes in the oven and I had the happiest dogs on the block!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kacy Patterson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pretzel Salad II

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Good, but a bit too sweet for me. I will probably try this again but will reduce the powder sugar to 2/3rds cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dreamskape

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Raspberry and Almond Shortbread Thumbprints

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Made these at Christmas time and they were Awesome and so quick and easy to make! Great recipe if you are in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dreamskape

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States