Columbus, Indiana - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chicken Milano

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
I guess my expectations were raised by the many glowing reviews that this recipe has received.I cannot say that it was excellent.It was good enough. I have tried similar recipes on this site that in my opinion, are better.However, thank you for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Chef John, thank you for another delicious recipe.It was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Tapioca Pudding

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Fantastic! My mom loves tapioca pudding and I made it as part of a celebration dinner. I used Minute tapioca, which I think is more like instant than quick-cooking, So I mixed the egg in after the mixture boiled, without the 5 minutes of cooking. I used a mix of fat contents in milk to make it about 2%. I also added a little extra sugar (because my family likes it more sweet) and served it cold with nutmeg on top. Creamy and delicious flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

Mom's Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Orange Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Wonderful and moist. I used some coconut oil and greek yogurt in place of butter. My advice would be don't be shy with the zest and juice- it really makes these cookies shine and doesn't taste odd like I was afraid it would. I only had a small orange so I made some cookies plain and they were drier and didn't set as well. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

Whole Grain Waffles

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Very tasty! Moist and not too dense. I used mostly applesauce for oil and used all whole wheat pastry flour. I also used oat bran instead of wheat germ. I tried the following flavor combinations, mixed into the batter: pb + dry-roasted peanuts, raspberries + mini chocolate chips + fresh lemon zest and juice, mashed banana (be careful because too much will make it mushy) + chopped banana + cinnamon, and dried cherries + toasted walnuts. The peanutty one was a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Tasty! I think that the result of this dip depends on the freshness of the ingredients, like the cilantro. Will make again, wouldn't skip the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

Veggie Sneak In Meatballs

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I think the meatballs would hold together a lot better if you squeezed the moisture out of the veggies (or at least the onions) in a cheesecloth or towel. Probably a good flavor, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I made this for Easter exactly as written. It was very moist and delicious! In fact, it is very similar to what my mother used to make when I was a child - and so it was extra special. Thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Great texture, lacking in flavor though. Decreased cheese, used a whole onion and added some mushroom and spinach, mixed ham and sausage for meat. Very good with ketchup, though! Will try red peppers with the potatoes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

Taco Seasoning I

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Awesome! Used ground cayenne pepper and added to 1 lb shrimp. Might increase the heat next time. Why did we ever buy packets, anyway?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Awesome cake! Sooo easy and fast, but so moist and everyone loved it. Halved it for a 9 inch circle cake. I used mostly dutch process cocoa and 2tbsp hershey's cocoa. Also used half half-and-half and half 2% milk for the milk :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Awesome frosting!! Used 2% milk and halved the recipe, covered a one-layer 9 inch circle cake with a bit left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

Baked Teriyaki Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Wonderful recipe! I used 1/3c of brown sugar , lite soy sauce and chicken drumsticks. It was adequately sweet ( without being cloying). The blend of flavors was excellent. We enjoyed dinner, thanks to you! I will definitely be making this again .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Thank you for your recipe. However, we did not care for the combination of zucchini and lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ultimate Double Chocolate Cookies

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Wonderful! Very chocolaty and rich. Accidentally only used 8 tbsps butter (half butter and half coconut oil) so the cookies didn't spread out much at all. Looked kinda like a truffle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Be VERY careful if you want to try almond extract. I read a review to try it and added a tiny bit. Three out of five people tried it for pi day didn't like it and thought it was too strong. Also use real vanilla if you can, it makes much of the flavor. Other than that, a fantastic pie! I beat it well for the full time and it was silky and fluffy. It filled a smallish homemade oreo crust well. topped with chocolate shavings, served with whipped cream on the side but I think it's great without. I also used 4 tbsp. dutch process cocoa powder like one reviewer said, mixed well and it turned out great (except for the fact that I spilled cocoa all over the table, chair and floor when trying to move my mixing to appease movie watchers nearby). Very tasty, will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Photo by GIANNA

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I thought I hated tomato soup until I tried this recipe. It's delicious!! So flavorful and beats that nasty Campbell's any day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GIANNA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hummus III

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Great! Good lemon and garlic flavor. I'd like to try other flavors, as well. Used the advice of reviewer SonjaL and blended it in my mini food processer. One can of chickpeas is about 1.5 cups. I stuck with just paprika and took this to a class party. We liked it and I enjoyed that it is healthy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

World's Best Lasagna

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
First made this for Christmas 2013. Is destined to become a classic dish for our Christmas Day dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States