Carmel, Indiana - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2015
My teenage daughter made these today. She weighed out the ingredients per the footnotes. We used almond flour. She cooked them for 12 minutes before taking them out, but realized after they cooled that they were not done. She put them back in the oven and they did puff up this time. We will be making these again, next time using less sugar with the egg whites and cooking longer. After hearing how hard macarons were to make, we found this recipe easy to follow and turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirsten Johnson Chou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Red Beans and Rice

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
I followed the recipe to the letter and it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Coq Au Vin

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
Hands down, the best recipe on this site. I followed the recipe exactly as Chef John directed and it was perfect. My husband was very impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chigirl4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pineapple Stuffing

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Great side for ham. Served at Christmas dinner and was a huge hit. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dlprince

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bacon Wrapped Pork Medallions

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Family loved it. Only thing I did different was placed medallions on prepared backing sheet since I did not have a oven safe skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Butternut Squash Soup II

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
used sweet potato added nutmeg and cinnamon veg broth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TN Monkeymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I followed the directions exactly. They turned out perfect. I will say I dried my beans before mashing. I did add corn to mine instead of onion and green pepper. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime Thomas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winchester, Indiana, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Its just ok. I followed recipe exactly. It is dry and its not very sweet. I tried this recipe since it called for 1 cup of brown sugar whereas other called for 1 cup sugar and 1 cup brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TN Monkeymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Minestrone Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I usually don't like minestrone soup that is served at most restaurants and I made this soup at the urging of my husband. I LOVE this soup. It wasn't as hard as I thought it might be and it does take some time to make. I watched the video and I made it exactly like he said (the first time I made it I added too much pasta, but it was still good). I used the Swiss chard as listed and although I don't think I had ever had Swiss chard before it really added to the dish. I have and will make this soup again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Living In: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
My husband loves the salsa verde served at one of our local hole in the wall taco joints so I decided to make this recipe. He LOVED it. It was exactly like what we get at the taco restaurant and maybe even a bit better. I will certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Living In: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Risotto with Truffle and Parmesan

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I had never made risotto before and I wanted to find a good basic recipe. Although time consuming, as I expected it to be, this is so good and creamy and exactly what I was looking for! I left the truffle out because I didn't have any and the first time I made it I added a bit of extra cheese. My husband thought it was way too rich so when I made it the second time I used the exact amount of cheese the recipe called and it was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Living In: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broiled Tilapia Parmesan

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This was such a hit with everyone. I followed the suggestions of others and added a few bread crumbs, garlic salt and cayenne pepper. I made the mistake of adding lemon juice and lemon pepper to the fish first and it was too lemony
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TN Monkeymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Aw-some Coleslaw

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Wow. I dream of this while its marinating. I've made this 4 times now. I make it just as directed and it is amazing. Like most say, definitely make it ahead of time so it can marinate in the dressing. A+++ for this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime Thomas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winchester, Indiana, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Cake X

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
So wonderful! Made in Bundt pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TN Monkeymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Seafood Salad Supreme

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
I really hate it when people rate a recipe that they didn't make per specifications, but I have to admit, I omitted and substituted and tweeked this recipe. However, I stuck with the bones of it; such as using white onion instead of green, used way more mayo (I think that was due to the amount of seafood I used), used celery but not bell pepper (didn't have it), forgot the lemon juice (duh!),and left out the cheese. I'm just not a huge shredded-cheese-in-a-pasta-salad type gal. I used more Old Bay and Parsely, too, probably due to the large amount I made. Unintentionally, of course. So I'll be eating it for days. Thank God it's a 5 star!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOldis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Living In: Anniston, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Curry Salad in a Hurry

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
This recipe is awesome!!! I used a "buttery garlic" rotisserie chicken from WalMart. I omitted the apple (didn't have) but did everything else. This recipe is AWESOME! Oh, I added a little salt to bring out the flavors. Thanks for sharing!! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOldis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Living In: Anniston, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Maryland Lump Crab Cakes

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I wanted so bad to think that this recipe was going to be "the" crab cake recipe but it fell short. The flavor was so-so and the cake itself was dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ande16

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
My daughter and I made this tonight. We both LOVED it. And she was so proud of her creation. This was excellent! I did use another recipes suggestion on cutting down the soak time by simmering them for 2 minutes then letting them soak an hour. Turned out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOldis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Living In: Anniston, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Celery

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This is a "going home" recipe! Celery paired with the cream cheese/ sour cream mixture really hit the spot with my favorite cranberry jello dish, along with Christmas leftovers. When I first made it, I didn't have any olives, and it was tasty w/o them. In fact, the next time I make the "stuffing," I think I will put in fewer olives. A friend enjoyed it as a dip with potato chips, and I will eat it on crackers. I liked the addition of chopped olives with pimintoes, and the color the pimentoes provided. Thank you, Linda, for posting this "classic."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYBRENDA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muncie, Indiana, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Roast with Sauerkraut and Kielbasa

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This is the second time I made this for New Years. We love it. Make sure to use the juice from one of the sauerkraut containers and leave out the kielbasa until the last hour. Served with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States