Bloomington, Indiana - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by nymbus

Chocolate-Covered OREO Cookie Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Everyone else in the family raved- but it was really sweet, needs more crushed Oreo and the chocolate on top was a bit thick. That said, it has been requested for three birthdays in a row...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nymbus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

Roast Sticky Chicken-Rotisserie Style

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
This recipe is to die for. The ones who are giving bad reviews are ?$&!?*%? I can't imagine what they are doing to mess this up. It's absolutely wonderful every time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by toospoiledOSH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reva's Potato Cheese Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This was great. Right after blending, I aded a bottle of beer and 1/2 of cup of half-n-half. Now it's a soup to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baking Powder Biscuits I

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
These came out tender and rose high. If you don't have a pastry blender to mix the flour/butter mixture, cut the cold butter in bits and mix with small fork till crumbly. Also, don't over mix the dough. Stir till combined and roll out onto lightly floured surface. Roll dough over about a 10-12 times to get smooth and cut rounds with cutter or floured rim glass. I got eight biscuits using this method. If over mixed, they will be tough and not rise as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LA Homespun

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joplin, Missouri, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

Tomato Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I won't lie--followed the recipe exactly, and it just kinda tasted less like tomato soup and more like really watery tomato sauce. I thickened it up and used it the next day for a pasta sauce, but my normal pasta sauce tastes better so...probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loogootee, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I don't understand the reviews that said their cookies came out paper thin. As much as these people claim to have "followed the recipe to a T" they clearly messed up somewhere. These are the best cookies I have ever had. I drop LARGE spoonfuls onto a baking sheet and make giant cookies! My fiancé calls them my "JACCCs", Jumbo A** Chocolate Chip Cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fgradowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winamac, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Flatlander Chili

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I tried this recipe and it was very good. I did have to substitute and omit some of the ingredients because of a lack of supply at home though. i was unable to put the celery and green pepper in and instead of the tomato juice and tomato sauce I used a can of diced tomatoes and a tomato paste mixed with about a cup and 1/2 of water. I also added 2 fresh garlic cloves to the recipe. I don't know if you can call it the same recipe, but it did turn out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilyalmond

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

Breakfast Pies

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Definitely keeping this on my "make again" list! Perfect to make ahead of time and grab on my way out the door. I opted to use a homemade whole wheat biscuit dough instead of store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fgradowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winamac, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This is the BOMB!!!! I added white chocolate chips and used milk chocolate chips instead of semi-sweet. It didn't last long at all! Just make sure you have lots of milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muncie, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I had no anchovy paste, but used everything else. Absolutely superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loogootee, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brown Sugar Smokies

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Always a party hit! I've made this recipe for years. I like it, but it's crazy greasy and high in fat. The next time I make it I will try turkey lil smokies and turkey bacon. Wish me luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ewa Beach, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Robbi's M&M Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Delicious! And I'm picky, I followed one person's advice and put the dough in the fridge for about 10 minutes before baking each batch. It was successful. They did not spread thin. Also, I used coconut oil as shortening. Coconut oil is wonderful for baking cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ewa Beach, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

French Bread

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I've made this bread about fifty times, the first time as is and the second time following several reviews. It's the latter which always hits the mark, every time. Basically, first I proof my yeast --using the two cups of warm water, 5 tsps of yeast, and then throwing in about 2-3 tsps of sugar. Then I add the flour, salt plus an extra teaspoon, a tablespoon of melted butter, and I follow the rest of the directions exactly. Turns out great every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loogootee, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
This is my favorite ever beef stew, and one I have made repeatedly. In fact, I've made it so often that friends will request it. I have got this down to a science: 1) I always just buy the cheapest meat at the cheapest store. This adds some more prep work, as I cover it with tenderizer and flour and then brown it, but I'm okay with that because it means I save money and the meat is still deliciously tender. 2) I like to add a few more spices (generally just some basil/oregano) 3) Also, this is the perfect place to use your left over veggies. My fave is to add zucchini or yellow squash when it's available and I got some left. I cut 'em into crescents. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loogootee, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
This tasted pretty similar to what we had in Hawaii. I think next time I will add more smoke and less salt. That is just a personal preference. It was very easy to make and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ewa Beach, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Paleo Pancakes

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Used coconut oil, too dense, definately needs more almond milk-not too impressed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doeeyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

Bill's Blue Cheese Dressing

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Great recipe! I made it twice, the second time I cut way down on the mayo because I like a more milky flavor vs a mayo flavor. I didn't have any dry mustard so I used a splash of regular mustard. I used gorganzola instead of blue cheese (which is almost the same).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hawaiian Smoked Sausage

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I made this for a pitch in. Everyone liked it. I used peach jelly because I already had some. The rest was exactly to recipe. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ewa Beach, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Curry Pumpkin Soup

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I had to substitute 2% milk for the half and half, I omitted the pumpkin seeds, I used fresh pumpkin puree instead of canned, homemade vegetable broth instead of canned, and I added some Worcestershire sauce in addition to the soy sauce. I thought it turned out great! I will make this again and again! Next time I will be sure to get some half and half or heavy cream because I think that would give the soup a much better flavor and texture. I also plan to steam and puree some cauliflower (or possibly add some other type of squash like butternut) to add to the soup along with some extra vegetable broth so it’s not too thick. I think the addition of the cauliflower or squash would give it some more dimension.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ductapelosergirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Beans and Rice

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
I really enjoyed this. i was really craving this meal for a while and it hit the spot. My husband thought it was a little boring though. I added more of the cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilyalmond

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States