Bloomington, Indiana - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Pork Stew in Green Salsa (Guisado de Puerco con Tomatillos)

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
We love this recipe! I have developed a Boston Butt roast (pork shoulder) ritual. I bake or boil the roast on day 1 and serve with potatoes/carrots/onions. Day 2 I use the leftovers to make this fabulous recipe. Day 3 I use THOSE leftovers to fill burritos. Yummy X3!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Buchanan Calkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LA Homespun

Chocolate Chip Shortbread Cookies II

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
I only had a stick of butter so I cut this recipe by 1/4 (24 servings) which gave me a dozen using my Pampered Chef medium scoop. I melted the butter and mixed well after each addition. I did not add coconut extract or pecans...they came out perfectly and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LA Homespun

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joplin, Missouri, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

Cold Southwestern Bow Tie Pasta

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
The blend of spices makes sweet and sour in a bad way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilyalmond

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

White Bean Chicken Chili

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I made this tonight and WOW! I honestly have never had chicken chili before and I didn't think I would like it all that much. I made a few alterations because I couldn't find tomatillos. I followed the suggestions of other reviewers and used a jar of ChiChi's salsa verde in the place of the tomatillos. I used 2 cans of diced tomatoes with green chilis (smaller cans, I think they were around 12 oz each. I cut the chicken breast up and browned it in a separate pan before adding to the soup. I used a whole bag of frozen corn, and I used 2 cans of canellini beans (with juice). I used 1/2 tsp of all the recommended spices listed, along with an extra 1/2 cup of water. It turned out AMAZING! SO much flavor! I topped it with sour cream, cheddar, and fritos, but honestly, it was great all on it's own! Definitely a winning low fat/cal recipe! TRY IT! **** Update**** I made this again tonight... rather than using white beans, I used 2 cans of pinto beans and 1 can of black beans. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice Dyer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sparkling Punch

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Huge hit! Next time I need to make a double batch. It went too fast. We kept a bottle of brut nearby for those who wanted it spiked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ewa Beach, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Nikki's Creamy Crock Pot Potato Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I like it. I don't love it. I will make it again but with many changes. I added broccoli. I would also double the onion and garlic and spices. Except the pepper. I would half that. Maybe even less. I would also add more cheese. I used turkey bacon because it was all I had. I wouldn't recommend it if you're ok with eating pork. It was good, but not the way real bacon is! Note: I like food with A LOT of flavor. If you prefer toned down flavor, you will LOVE this recipe (with less the pepper).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ewa Beach, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Meatball Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
This soup is delicious. Second time I made it I added frozen dumpling noodles with the broth and all other veggies (omitting the parsnips)to boil and simmer for 30 minutes. Five minutes before serving I added fresh spinach and a tablespoon of lemon juice for a nice alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by webervn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mango Salsa

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
This was EXCELLENT exactly as is. Used it on a piece of salmon and my husband said it was the best meal I have ever made. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roscoe, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Swiss Chard

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
This is a solid recipe that's been around for years. I add the vinegar at the table because my DH prefers it without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Nisswa, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peruvian Arroz con Pollo

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Maybe I didn't make it the right way, but for all the effort, I didn't enjoy it that much. All the ingredients looked like it was going to be delicious, but it was just kind of blah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blackened Tilapia with Secret Hobo Spices

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
This is my 'go to' recipe for tilapia. My family loves it. We don't add the bread but the spice mixture plus some lime/lemon is so tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven-Roasted Asparagus

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
This is my favorite asparagus recipe. If you have the opportunity, try it with Macademia nut oil. It's fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ewa Beach, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This is a great, quick recipe. I was looking for something to use up a jar of salsa and a pkg of cheddar cheese. Amazing! Invited my neighbors over to try it with us and they loved it as well. 5 stars for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Harris Capp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

West African Peanut Soup

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
This was good--it reminded me a lot of the "fancy ramen" I make when we're feeling poor, where I just take cheap 50 cent ramen packets, cook it, add some veggies and a scoop of peanut butter. So to make it fancier, I added African spices and seasoning. Probably wouldn't make again following this exact recipe, but definitely good, still as this was no doubt a lot healthier than the "fancy ramen."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loogootee, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Layered Chocolate and Peanut Butter Bars

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Baked for 18 minutes, added 1 cup oatmeal rather than 1-1/2 cup in recipe and it was the perfect amount. I also added a few more tablespoons of chocolate chips for the topping. Not too sweet...very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LA Homespun

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joplin, Missouri, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
As written this is pretty bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Meadows

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nymbus

Chocolate-Covered OREO Cookie Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Everyone else in the family raved- but it was really sweet, needs more crushed Oreo and the chocolate on top was a bit thick. That said, it has been requested for three birthdays in a row...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nymbus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

Roast Sticky Chicken-Rotisserie Style

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
This recipe is to die for. It's absolutely wonderful every time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by toospoiledOSH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reva's Potato Cheese Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This was great. Right after blending, I aded a bottle of beer and 1/2 of cup of half-n-half. Now it's a soup to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baking Powder Biscuits I

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
These came out tender and rose high. If you don't have a pastry blender to mix the flour/butter mixture, cut the cold butter in bits and mix with small fork till crumbly. Also, don't over mix the dough. Stir till combined and roll out onto lightly floured surface. Roll dough over about a 10-12 times to get smooth and cut rounds with cutter or floured rim glass. I got eight biscuits using this method. If over mixed, they will be tough and not rise as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LA Homespun

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joplin, Missouri, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States