Indiana - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Orange Cream Fruit Salad

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
This is really good! I used grapes, pineapple, mini marshmallows, mandarin oranges and bananas. I skipped the apple. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yoder, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Brownies

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Took another reviewer's advice and mixed by hand with a spatula; baked for 30 mins. Perfect brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tequila Sunrise Cocktail

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Super easy and very yummy! If you use cold OJ there's you can skip the straining the juice and tequila with the ice cubes. It will be cold enough over the ice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baslhicks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Restaurant-Style Buffalo Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Ok' not fabulous by any means.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ang Avers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Milano

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
I guess my expectations were raised by the many glowing reviews that this recipe has received.I cannot say that it was excellent.It was good enough. I have tried similar recipes on this site that in my opinion, are better.However, thank you for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Chef John, thank you for another delicious recipe.It was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Low Carb Cauliflower Leek Soup

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
I agree that 8 cups of broth is too much - I prefer a thicker soup. I also cut back on the fat by only using the olive oil, and instead of cream I blended in a package of silken tofu for texture and protein. I also roasted the veggies for 30 minutes to add some depth of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muncie, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly

Not Thousand Island Dressing

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Mike Harvey - this recipe is FANTASTIC! A Reuben is my favorite sandwich, and I couldn't wait to fix a corned beef to have this sandwich spread. The actual sauce recipe is delicious, but.....when you read the Cook's Note at the bottom, and follow those instructions on how to use the sauce to make a Reuben, the sandwich is OUT OF THIS WORLD - AWESOME!! The hard boiled eggs really add a nice richness to the dressing. Our sandwiches were so filling that I only served fresh sliced tomatoes and fresh peaches/blueberries with them. I don't think I will ever make another Reuben without this recipe. Thanks for taking the time to submit this recipe, Mike. A winner in this house!! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by Molly

Cantaloupe Bread with Praline Glaze

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
This is a really great recipe to use up very ripe cantaloupe. I made the bread portion, but not the topping. We like to toast the bread for breakfast and I knew the topping wouldn't work in the toaster. The one change I used in bread recipe was to sub 1/2 c. applesauce for 1/2 c. of the oil. I knew one cup of oil would make the bread have a super moist texture. Even with subbing out part of the oil, the bread has a moist, almost sticky feeling to the texture. I made 5 smaller (3 1/2 x 6) pans rather than 2 big pans, baking them for 45 minutes. The taste is wonderful and the house smells amazing while it is baking. I appreciate this recipe for the simple fact that I hate wasting food, and this is a great use for ripe cantaloupe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Sweet Dijon Basa Swai Fish (or a fish of your choice)

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
My husband and I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apensacolacook0528

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fillmore, Indiana, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Photo by Molly

Alla Checca

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
A great, simple recipe to use up leftover pasta and fresh tomatoes and basil from the garden. The tomato mixture sat for 9 hours and was delicious in this dish. Leftovers were very good, cold the next day for lunch. Served this dish with 'Tomato Bruschetta' and 'Apple and Brown Sugar Corned Beef' both AR recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by Molly

Apple and Brown Sugar Corned Beef

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
This review is for the meat only portion of this recipe. We really enjoyed the taste of this meat with the 3 ingredient broth. The apple juice gave the corned beef a wonderful flavor. The meat was very moist and sliced nicely. If I am pressed for time and cannot make the oven braised version of corned beef, I will definitely use this crockpot method. Looking forward to Reuben sandwiches with the leftovers. Served this with 'Alla Checca' and 'Tomato Bruschetta' both AR recipes. Thanks tonmeilleurami, for sharing your recipe. It is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I thought there was a mistake when mixing the batter-it was sooo thick, surely there wasn't enough wet ingredients. Frustrated, I poured in a splash of milk and a tiny bit more oil...not much though. Then stirred in frozen blueberries and threw them in the oven without sprinkling the sugar on top because, frankly, I thought they'd end up in the trash. But I was totally surprised when these came out moist and delicious and pleasantly sweet! I added the zest and juice of a whole lemon and used the extract as well and the lemon flavor was wonderful. Instead of the two whites I also used a whole egg because I love the flavor and texture that yolks bring to baked goods. These are great-especially considering they are so low in fat. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Made according to recipe except added an extra half cup of raisins. Great texture and beautiful appearance. Just too much cloves for me. I am softening another half cup of butter on the counter to make another batch and cut the cloves to one quarter teaspoon. I am a personal chef and my son's teacher wanted me to make him some oatmeal raisin cookies. I just can't send this first batch to school with my son. The overpowering cloves made me cough. I believe with that small modification this will make a very delightful oatmeal raisin cookie. I think the amount of cloves is just a matter of personal preference. Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: New Albany, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Navy Bean Soup I

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
My family loved this! I did make a few changes because of what I had on hand. I used northern beans instead of the navy, used chopped carrots in place of celery but added about 2 tsp of celery seed, and took others advice and used chicken broth in place of water and boullion (sp?). Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracee Workman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Indiana, USA

Apricot Muffins

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
It seemed a waste to drain all this flavorful apricot liquid into the sink, so I added some sugar, cornstarch, and a tiny splash of almond extract, simmered it, and reduced it down into a fresh jam to serve with the muffins - a perfect complement! As for the recipe itself, I agree with another reviewer - these make closer to 18 than 12 standard muffins. I added some vanilla, substituted milk+vinegar for buttermilk, and topped them with demerara sugar before baking. I also used California apricots (the darker, larger halves, as opposed to the small whole dried Mediterranean apricots).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENSPIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Red Velvet Cupcakes

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
This was an enjoyable cupcake that received many compliments. The cake itself was not terribly sweet, but the frosting was VERY sweet (I didn't even add all the sugar and people were still commenting on the sweetness). Overall, they balanced each other out. I found the cake to have a nice texture- moist enough without being greasy at all; and dense (in a good way) rather than heavy. Bonus: they were gorgeous little things and the batter was so amazing I could've made myself sick on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Eggplant Supper Soup

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I'm making this for the second time tonight... It is fantastic as is... I change nothing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christie Leonard-Garcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowell, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini Pie III

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
The family and neighbors gobbled this up and were shocked when I told them it was zucchini! Of course, they wanted the recipe! What a refreshing take on zucchini! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracee Workman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Indiana, USA

Hillbilly Punch

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
We used sprite zero and didn't think it was too sweet, but it is a sweet drink. It is a perfect evening beverage for a hot day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracee Workman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States