Joliet, Illinois - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Slow Cooker Sweet-and-Sour Pot Roast

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
This would be just as awesome covered with Kitchen Bouquet, on all sides, before baking. Get it in your local grocery store, in the condiment aisle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Milano

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
OMG! This dish made me want to DANCE a jig!! I followed the recipe exactly and it is AMAZING! No need to tweak it at all. My family enjoyed it so much they wanted it again for dinner the next night. Although it was amazing, I didn't want the same thing two nights in a row so I compromised by making the sauce & adding SHRIMP!!! SUPER DELISH!! This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Leverett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Strawberry Daiquiri

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I used peaches instead of strawberries. No lime juice (out) but added spiced rum along with Bacardi. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I substituted buttermilk since I had no whole milk on hand. Also boiled the potatoes with skin on because the family likes the skin. Dee-licious, fluffy potatoes!! Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusanC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

Chicken and Dumplings III

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I'm going to make this today. I have used the dumpling biscuit method before and will again. But, I have never used the cans of soup. I will this time. I will as well as everyone else tweak this. Just a little. I will update this after we're finished with it. So excited.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bill flanagan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
QUICK, EASY, AND DELISH!!! Made this for dinner tonight & followed recipe exactly...WONDERFUL AS IS! Served over angel hair pasta w/cheesy garlic bread & my family couldn't get enough! I bet this would be good with chicken breasts or chicken tenderloins! KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Leverett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
This is a recipe I have made since I was a young bride. I got it from my mother, who had to feed 13 kids fast. We also seasoned the pork chops with garlic powder. And sliced potatoes on top of the chops before covering with the soup. We put salt, pepper and garlic powder on the potatoes too before adding the soup. Perfect everytime. Also, I didn't add any water or milk to the soup, but I will try this next time. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Savory Pork Stew

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Excellent as it was written. I added lots of extra carrots and used Better than Beef Base and water instead of broth (I had none). I also added a can of rinsed black beans as others had suggested and eliminated the corn. The pork came out so incredibly tender. The whole family loved it and I have two picky kids aged 4 and 6.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Broyles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Iowa, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mushroom Pork Chops

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
I've made a similar recipe for many years. Just never tried it with onion. I also peel and slice potatoes and season them with garlic powder and pepper. Then top them with mushroom soup in the same pan. Very, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Made this for my son's 12th bday today & it is absolutely AMAZE-BALLS!!! I usually don't rate recipes if I didn't follow exactly, but this recipe was a great base. I made adjustments because I couldn't find 18.25 size box cake mix & also because I'm not fond of baking cakes using box cake mix. Figured I would give this recipe a shot since the reviews were so great. I used 15.25oz Betty Crocker Super Moist Choc Fudge, 2 sticks of real butter (in place of the oil), 1/2 cup brewed coffee (instead of water), 4 eggs(added 1 at a time), 1 cup sour cream, 1 tbls vanilla, and the full 2 cups of mini semisweet. Baked at 325 in a dark nonstick bundt cake pan for 1 hour...or maybe it was 1 hour 5 mins. Anyway, the result did not disappoint! Literally MELTS IN YOUR MOUTH!!! Birthday boy was very pleased! **Forgot to put in the pudding mix, but the cake mix I used already had it in the mix. Not sure if it would have really made a difference** Still turned out SUPER MOIST & tastes like it was made from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Leverett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I was in a hurry so I steamed the green beans as. I sautéed the bacon, then added the onions and garlic. I mixed in a small amount of marinara sauce. Then added the cooked beans. I didn't need the broth and forgot the cayenne or paprika. It was still awesome. Next time I'll try it the right way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
This is so easy to make! I add some cinnamon to the water. It's delicious with pork tenderloin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paperdog77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Blueberry Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Love this!!!! Followed the recipe to the letter the first time --- yummy! Then I made muffins from this --- moist and delicious. Since I do not have the time to bake every morning, I froze the muffins individually with a vacuum food system in plastic bags using the pulse/gentle setting as not to crush the muffin. Before going to bed, I put a frozen muffin on the counter and microwave 15 seconds to warm it the next morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Pogemiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pontiac, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Basic Chicken Stock

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Terrific as it was. It froze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Broyles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Iowa, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Chimichangas with Green Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
These tasted good, but fell apart. Eating them was tricky. The grease soaked in to the tortillas and tasted delicious although it was very unhealthy. I had toothpicks all over the place but food was falling out while it was frying so I used forks pressing strategically to hold some ingredients in. Didn't work well and I burnt my fingers several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Broyles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Iowa, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma's Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I made this recipe and used refrigerated pie crust, 1 can of carrots, and 1 can of peas. Everything else was as the recipe indicated. My daughter, 5 1/2 years old, said it was the best dinner ever and that she would give it 12 stars, not 5. She, like me, scooped up bits of the crust with the veggies and turkey and the yummy sauce. Yum. My son, 3 1/2, he poked all the things separately. We had half the pie leftover. My parents warmed it up and thought it was superb. Mom thought brandy added to the sauce or sauteed mushrooms would be great additions. I might try that next time along with reducing the amount of peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Broyles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Iowa, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Daily Shake

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
I also like to add coconut oil and safflower oil for health reasons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peever, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Lasagna

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
great great great. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bill flanagan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Chops with Sour Cream and Mushroom Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Loved this. It was awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bill flanagan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven-Fried Pork Chops

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
very good. I too used the Italian bread crumbs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bill flanagan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States