Grayslake - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

After-Thanksgiving Turkey Soup

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
This soup is awesome! My family loves it so much that even when Thanksgiving is at someone else's house I either have to beg for the carcass or still cook a turkey at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jalapeno Popper Spread

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Seriously addicting dip. I've had to give out the recipe on several occasions already. I've baked it and microwaved it and been satisfied either way. I tried just using just the parmesan on top and I also tried adding panko crumbs to the parmesan on top as someone suggested. Either way, the top gets a little too tough when it cools off a little. I've since started to simply add the parmesan to the cream cheese mixture. Problem solved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Chicken Thighs Tandoori

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
I decided to try this recipe based on the reviews even though I was a little leery of the combination of the ingredients. I'm so glad I did. It was wonderful. Followed the recipe exactly and was not dissapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Steak Marinade in Existence

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
This tasted very good, but perhaps I let my steak marinade too long. The lemon juice started to "cook" the meat so parts of it had a wierd texture. I also used a rather thin cut round steak. I'll make this again with a thicker cut of meat and keep an eye on the marinade time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Coconut Cream Cake I

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
My fiancee, the coconut lover, gives this five stars. This turned out beautiful: incredibly moist with a lovely light coconut flavor, but not too sweet. It baked perfectly in the oven in 30 minutes. I also had the dillema of not being able to find coconut cream, so I mixed together half a can of the sweetened condensed milk and a full can of coconut milk for the cream, and I made sure I only poked holes halfway through the cake. It took me a long time to whip the cream to the right consistency, but the end result was worth it. Added a bit of coconut extract to it and only half the sugar. I made it on a Wednesday night and it sat in the refrigerator until Friday night when I made the frosting, so everyone is right about it being better eating it cold and after letting it sit for a day or two before eating. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Memorial Day Best BBQ Chicken and Pineapple Kabobs Ever

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
This is a great recipe for kabobs alternated with pineapple chunks. I cut meat in 1" chunks and then marinated just over 24 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Jane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Memorial Day Best BBQ Chicken Ever!

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
This is a great recipe for kabobs alternated with pineapple chunks. I cut meat in 1" chunks and then marinated just over 24 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Jane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

5-Minute Guacamole

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Fantastic guac! I like it smooth and simple and this was perfect. The only change I made was adding some lime juice. This will be my go-to guac recipe from now on! Thanks!!! Tip: if you add a dollop of sour cream into the mix, it keeps it from going brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

15-Minute Dinner Nachos Supreme

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Me and my husband love this meal. He keeps asking for it whenever we go by ground beef. I recommend this dish to any family that wants a meal that makes families want to eat together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Velis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grayslake, Illinois, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar and Garlic

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Fantastic! I just followed the recipe and listened to the other reviews. Will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morton Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Tamale Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
This has the potential to be a very good slow cooker recipe. Made as is, with only the addition of a can or drained rotel, the end product was dry. It had all the right flavors but the meat mixure need to be doubled as well as more moisture added. Additional enchilada sauce and not draining the rotel would probably help greatly. I also used black beans instead of kidney beans just out of personal preference. Cooking time could have been shortened by atleast one hour but it would probably vary in different slow cookers. Additional cheese would also be good if added in the final hour of cooking as well. I will definately make this again with a few modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Angel Food Candy

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
So glad I found this recipe. I call it sponge candy and is very similiar to a cadbury product sold in Europe called Crunchies. I did not have dark corn syrup but regular corn syrup worked just fine. A digital thermometer made it easy to know when to remove the heat. Don't be alarmed by the vinegar smell is will cook off. Do make sure that when you add the baking soda you quickly but completely mix it into the sugar. It will foam high so be sure to start with a large enough sauce pan to begin with. If the baking soda doesnt completely mix it it will become trapped in the little air pockets of the sponge candy. This is what would leave a strong baking soda taste. Lastly, like other members have mentioned be sure to COMPLETELY COOL the sponge candy before breaking and coating in chocolate. Only issue i have is how to break evenly without to much candy flaking away. All in all a great recipe and will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Swiss Cashew Tossed Salad

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
LOVED this. Take the dressing up a notch: use red wine vinegar, Dijon mustard, and red onion. Using bagged Romaine keeps it super-easy. Lots of requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KikiBean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

Drop Biscuits and Gravy

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Absolutely love these biscuits and gravy. My husband said they are better or as good as any he got when he lived in the south. So simple. I use reduced fat breakfast sausage and still came out great. Will make this recipe for many years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Captain Crunch Chicken

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I make this often. People of all ages love it. Its good when you use a mango of pineapple salsa of chutney for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Parmesan Chicken I

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I thought that this recipe was good. I didn't have rice so I served it over cooked egg noodles. Very simple and easy to make. Next time I think I'd modify a little to increase flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Delightful flavor, baked up beautifully, total muffin-top texture! -In order not to add to my own "muffin-top", I substituted unsweetened applesauce for the butter and did 1 cup of white sugar with 1/2 cup turbinado sugar. Absolutely recommended, I think these will be a big hit with the hubby and the girls at work. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meaglet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Grayslake, Illinois, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

Cinnamon, Spice and Everything Nice Cookies

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I cut the recipe in half (I need 5 dozen cookies like I need a whole in my head) and they turned out terrific. The dough was stiff which made it very easy to work with. I did use dark molasses but turned out great. I even made a larger cookie for a cookie sundae. Baked in a 6in cake pan for 13 minutes. Dusted the bottom of the pan with sugar, pressed in the dough and then sprinkled sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome Roast Beef

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
This was easy and delicious. Great way to cook less tender cuts of meat. Both my husband and I prefer beef on the rare side but this was still really good. The meat was very tender. I added a little cold water mixed with a tablespoonful of corn starch to make a thicker gravy. Will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Strudel Muffins

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
So easy to prepare and bake. The best use for all the extra apples I had laying around. The muffins were very moist. I did use closer to two cups diced apple and added more cinnamon to the strudel topping. Next time I'd probably add a little more cinnamon to the batter as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States