Grayslake - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Hoppin' John in the Summertime

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Unbelievably wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Jane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy French Toast

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
This was good, but not great. I added a little nutmeg and extra vanilla, and I subbed brown sugar for white. The flavor was good, but it turned out dense and kind of soggy in the middle. I was only able to get 8 pieces of regular toast. If I try this recipe again, I will use thicker bread and just dip it in the batter instead of soaking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jennie's Heavenly Slow Cooker Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Yummy! This was excellent. Couldn't find chive cream cheese, so I cooked onions and garlic in the butter before adding the salad dressing mix. Didn't have any wine, so I used a whole can of chicken broth. I poured the sauce over six chicken breast halves and still ended up with plenty of sauce to be had. I let it cook for about 8 hours on low. It was delicious and the chicken fell apart in your mouth. I served over rice and the sauce with it was fantastic! I'll try pasta next time. My husband cleaned his plate twice. You HAVE to try this recipe - you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cottage Cheese Chicken Enchiladas

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Double enchildada sauce, feel free to mix filling ingredients together (chicken and cheeses), much easier to assemble and tastes great. Was a hit at church pot luck, I used mild green chili enchilada sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Jane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Steak n Ale Pie

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Have had a taste for this since returning from Britain. Made a side of mushy peas to go along:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CTom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Banana Bread

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Great simple recipe. I also used br sugar as well as white, added vanilla, salt, and nutmeg. Thanks for posting, a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Jane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Borscht

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I omitted the beef stew, added vegatable stock and put all in my Vitamix for a yummy, creamy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Mikus
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chili Con Queso Dip II

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This was yummy! I just threw the cheese and chili together into a glass bowl and microwaved and stirred it in cycles until the cheese was completely melted. The only thing is that it develops a skin quickly after it sits out. I think this would probably be best served in a dip crock or warmer and that might fix that problem. Also, I halved the recipe, and it made a ton. I can't imagine how much 2 lbs of cheese would have yielded! I served with scoop chips, which worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

A Very Popular BBQ Sauce

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Very good! Thank You..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Round Lake, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

Pecan Crusted Salmon & Stir-Fried Garlic Noodles

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This is excellent! And so quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grayslake, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Breaded Center Cut Pork Chops

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
My fiancee gave this rave reviews. He loved the breading. I only had plain bread crumbs and used garlic pepper seasoning instead of lemon pepper. I halved the recipe for 3 chops, but I also double-breaded each of them, so I had about the right amount of breading. I had way too much flour left over though, so don't use as much of that. These didn't come out as moist - maybe because they were in the oven too long? And when we were cutting into them, the breading kept slipping off the chops. My fiancee liked that, but I didn't. I would definitely use this recipe again because of my fiancee, but I'll probably try cooking them a little differently to improve the moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Polish Sausage

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This was pretty yummy. We used a pre-cooked polish sausage, so we only needed to boil it for about 10 minutes. The sausage came out super tender and juicy. We served it over rice. My fiancee thought it was a tad bit too sweet for polish sausage, but I thought the sweetness was nice and subtle when paired with the flavor of the Worcestershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hash Brown Casserole II

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This was truly yummy with a couple small changes: I used cream of potato soup instead of cream of chicken, used seasoned salt instead of plain salt, and added an additional cup of corn flakes on top. Could have used a bit more salt though. Beware: this recipe makes a HUGE casserole! It was filled to the brim of my largest mixing bowl, so it was a little hard to combine the ingredients well enough, but I managed. We ended up with enough for three different meals. By the way, it reheats very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This was really good! Cooked it on high for about 6 hours and no burning at all. We substituted 1/2 cup of beef broth with red wine, but I think it needs a little more flavor in general, maybe some more spices. I ended up having to add salt. I served it with place-and-bake crescents and they were awesome with the gravy. Overall, good comfort food for a chilly autumn day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pecan Pie Bars II

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
These were delicious. Made them exactly as directed. Brought them to work and everyone gobbled them up and complimented me incessantly. A few tips: 1. Grease your pan really well - sides and bottom. 2. Pat the dough into the pan with a rubber spatula - it doesn't stick to the dough. 3. Let the cake part cool for at least 10-15 minutes before pouring on the gooey mixture. 3. When you take it out of the oven, the middle will still be liquidy. You cannot serve immediately. If you let it cool overnight, it'll be a little more solid (still gooey) and ready to cut in the morning. Wonderful Autumn treat. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Green Grog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
This was yummy! So easy to put together and fun-looking! Everyone who tried it loved it and all the reviewers are right - you can't taste the rum at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Spiced and Iced Cookies

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
These were so moist and soft and yummy! The chocolate chips and pumpkin complimented each other nicely! They almost have the consistency of a muffin....wonderful! I substituted half of the white sugar for brown sugar and omitted the nuts. I didn't have time to make the icing and they were still really tasty! Watch out - they barely spread at all in the oven, so don't make them too tall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chunky Potato Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Oh. My. God. Sooooo good. Perfect comfort food for the first cool day of the season. I've never made soup from scratch before and this was easier than I expected. Took a little while, but totally worth it. Reheats well too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheddar Biscuits

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
These were amazing and super easy! I only had pancake and waffle mix on hand, not all-purpose baking mix, and I was so surprised at how great they still tasted. I can only imagine how awesome they will be when I use the proper ingredient! I used fancy shredded cheese instead of regular, which I think helped the consistency. Can't wait to make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Au Gratin Taco Bake

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Good, easy, comfort food meal. I used a Rotel and Mexicorn instead. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States