Grayslake - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Southern-Style Barbecue Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
By itself, not so good. The vinegar overpowered everything else. To fix that, all I did was add more hot sauce and ketchup. It's super thin so you can always cook it down to thicken it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Velis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grayslake, Illinois, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Parmesan Crusted Chicken

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
This is so ridiculously good. It's unbelievable how so few ingredients and such quick and easy prep can result in such a delicious, moist chicken. The only change I made is to season the chicken with salt, pepper, and garlic powder before topping them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Garlic Dip

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
This was really good - I liked being able to make a dip like this at home without a mix. I served with multi-grain gluten-free crackers and wavy potato chips. It just needs a little bit less milk and way more garlic. ;-) UPDATE: I made this a second time and can say that it's a MUST to use fresh crushed/minced garlic -- do not try to substitute granulated or jarred garlic, it simply doesn't work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pancakes

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
All the times I've made them they have been good. If they turn out rubbery, your only suppose to flip once, if they turn out greasy, add less butter or whatever you use to make it not stick. And I have even made it without the oil and it turned out well. So try it with or without the oil. At the same time you need to add a little more flour to make them thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Velis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grayslake, Illinois, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buffalo Chicken Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Absolutely loved this soup...taste just like deconstructed buffalo chicken. Only made two minor changes...use 1/3 cup Franks instead of 1/4 cup (we like spicy). Lastly garnished soup with blue cheese crumbles. This recipe was simple to make...it is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Savory Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
These were delicious. So yummy, they were gone in a flash. I used canned white crab for the filling. I also added the white wine to the filling instead of putting it in the pan. This was a happy accident because it totally worked! Only thing that's absolutely lacking from this recipe is salt. I ended up adding quite a bit of salt to the filling, a bit of pepper, and even a few dashes of hot sauce before the flavor finally popped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

PHILLY Smothered Chicken with Brown Rice

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This was surprisingly good. I used baby carrots and they worked fine. I also left out the bacon and didn't miss it (I'm sure it'd be great with it, but we didn't have any). When making the sauce, make sure the broth is really hot - pretty much boiling - so it melts the cream cheese, otherwise you will be whisking the lumps out forever - I found a flat whisk to be just the trick for that. Also, season the sauce a bit after whisking - it's a little on the bland side as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven Scrambled Eggs

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
These were great! They turned out super fluffy. Very easy way to feed a crowd for brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chantal's New York Cheesecake

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This was an absolute hit. Everyone was raving about it - even days later! I made it exactly as directed, only to make it gluten-free, I substituted gluten-free cookies for the crust and used sweet rice flour in place of the all-purpose flour. I also used skim milk and it still turned out delicious. I did not use a water bath, and it still turned out perfect, so don't go through the trouble! A word of warning though, this cake rises like crazy! It was almost touching the top of my oven by the time I went to turn the oven off. Don't worry though, it sinks back down to normal as it cools. It comes out very thick and creamy. Don't look any further - this is it!!! Thanks for the great recipe, Taliesen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sunshine Muffins

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Very good sweet change on corn muffins. I add a can of creamed corn and serve with honey butter. Thanks for submitting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Jane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Lovers Brownies

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
YUMMY :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanWilke51

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

Festive Tossed Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
A friend bought this to a pot luck and it was fantastic, enjoyed by everyone. A really nice combination of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Jane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Saucy Bars

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
mmmmman...those are really good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanWilke51

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

Glorified Hash Browns

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I love the cream cheese in this recipe much better than the normal sour cream. I added diced chicken and some green pepper to make it a complete casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Jane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Skillet Pork Chops Florentine

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Great idea to do something different with pork chops. Don't forget to season the chops before sauteing them - I used salt, pepper, and garlic powder. I used garlic and onion pasta sauce and omitted the spinach (hubby doesn't like it) and the onion. I suppose you could use a florentine-style pasta sauce as a shortcut. I just poured the sauce in the pan with the chops when they were almost done, topped them with the cheese, and let it simmer until the cheese was nice and melty. I served this over brown rice pasta so it was kind of like a pork version of chicken parmesan. I'd definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Macaroni and Cheese

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Excellent recipe. My family did not care for the mustard, however, I did. Great recipe for someone who has never made mac & cheese from scratch before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Jane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Eclair Cake

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I love cooking with my young granddaughter (9) and this is one of her favorites. We add a package of softened cream cheese to the filling for a really rich flavor. This is a hit at pot lucks, bible studies, and church functions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Jane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This was a great basic recipe - exactly what I was looking for. I had brown rice leftover in my fridge, so it was already cold. I didn't have any cooked chicken, so I chopped up two small chicken breasts and cooked them up before adding all the other stuff. Like other reviewers, I was able to just add the eggs (I used 2) near the end by creating a well in the rice and scrambling them there. It distributed very well. That way I was also able to eliminate the extra butter and the extra step. I also was able get away with using only 2 teaspoons of oil in the whole dish. I think it worked well because I used a good non-stick skillet. If you don't have a non-stick skillet, you might have a harder time when using less oil and/or butter. I also didn't use anywhere near the full teaspoon of black pepper and it was still a bit too much. For some more flavor, color, and texture, I added some julienned carrots. I'd totally make this again. I'd like to try substituting beef and/or pork! Thanks for the great recipe, Lisa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

My Grandmother's French Dressing

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Really, really good and super easy to make in my food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Three-Ingredient Green Bean Casserole

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This was okay. It was certainly easy to make and the colors of the beans and bacon together made for a pretty dish. I loved the taste combination of the bacon and the green beans, but I wasn't a huge fan of the French dressing element. I used homemade French dressing and a lot of it pooled at the bottom rather than sticking to the beans. If you try this, I'd recommend using the thicker store-bought dressing. I might try this in the future using ranch dressing instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States