Elgin, Illinois - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Slow-Cooked Chili

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. For one thing, this needs WAY more liquid. The juice from two cans of diced tomatoes is not nearly enough! I was quite disappointed that there was nothing to dip my bread bowl top into. :( Flavor-wise, this was "OK," but my hubs and I agree that we've had much better. Thanks anyways, jrgh17.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I'm sorry, but I didn't care for this at all. The meatballs are definitely the best part of this recipe, but they were still too bland for my liking. The sauce was the real deal breaker tho.... It was flavorful but SUPER runny! A bit of tweaking would make this better, but there are far superior recipes out there that do not require nearly as much effort. I'll stick with those from now on. Thanks anyways, Jeremy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Devil's Steak Sauce

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
WOW! What a fantastic sauce!!! I'm not a fan of steak sauce, but if all of them taste this good, I'm sure I'll quickly change my mind! This tastes complex, but takes no time to whip together (winner!). It was the perfect complement to our bacon-wrapped filets. Thanks for sharing your unique recipe, Bernard. I'll be making this again for sure! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

The Best Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
WOW!!! These were SOOOOO good! I needed a side to serve with stuffed pork chops and this turned out to be a fantastic choice. Other than not being creamy enough for my liking, these are nearly perfect as is. I added a bit of warm milk until I achieved the consistency I wanted (just eyeball it) and voila - perfectly creamy mashed potatoes! Thanks SO much for sharing your fantastic recipe, Christina! These are the most flavorful spuds I've ever eaten! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Gel's Green Beans and Beef

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Meh. This was just so-so. This has great flavor, but the cooking instructions didn't work for me. I was hesitant to add the cornstarch slurry (my beef mixture was not nearly saucy enough to justify adding it), but at the last minute I decided to go for it. I ended up having to moisten everything with some of the broth from the Raamen noodles I planned to add to the skillet. With my change, this was pretty good. For a quick weeknight meal, this is worth a second try. Thanks anyways, Angelica. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Pork Chops Stuffed with Smoked Gouda and Bacon

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
OMIGOSSSSHHHH!!! My dinner guests RAVED and commented that these were the best chops they'd ever eaten! Other than tripling everything and subbing 1 1/4 in. thick center-cut pork chops for thicker cut ones, I made no changes to this recipe. THESE ARE FANTASTIC AS WRITTEN!!! NOTE: The smoked Gouda in this is key. It really enhances the bacon and grill flavors. If you need a perfect entree to wow your guests, these are sure to impress! Thanks for sharing your awesome recipe, Darla! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
I like to bake and thought this recipe sounded good. Gave some to relatives, friends, and work associates. Everyone loved them but me! Who wouldn't love chocolate and bacon? That would be me. The cupcakes were such a hit that I would make them as gifts in the future...people raved!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Meh. This was just so-so. I agree with many of the reviews on here. This needs SPICE!!! Italian-seasoned tomatoes will only add some flavor. I suggest subbing a HOT Italian sausage and / or seasoned tomato sauce and adding a handful of your favorite herbs to liven this up a bit. Without major modifications, this is a very bland, ho-drum dish. Maybe this will float your boat, but it did nothing for me. Thanks anyways, SADIEQQ. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Greek Chicken Burgers with Feta

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I'm not sure I'd ever make these again. Although the burger itself is SUPER moist, the flavor is just so-so. As the recipe submitter suggests, these do need some sort of sauce. I purchased a container of roasted red pepper hummus to serve on our sandwiches - which also made a great dip for the pita chips I served on the side! Maybe these will float your boat, but they just didn't wow me. Thanks anyways, Katie! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Zippy Rice Pilaf

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
YUM! This is the best tasting rice I've had in a LONG while. It has just the right amount of zip and complements spicy Mexican foods nicely (or anything else for that matter). I do suggest that you lightly toast your rice first tho.... It helps prevent the grains from sticking together. Other than adding a hefty squeeze of lime, I have no suggestions for improving upon this fantastic recipe. I'll be adding this to my "keeper" file for sure. Thanks for sharing, Elizabeth! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Pasta and Vegetable Saute

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
SO good! Even my picky husband woofed this down (and that's saying a lot!). :) Although nearly perfect as is, I did make a few substitutions. I halved everything, omitted the green bell pepper and mushrooms altogether and used almost an entire 15 oz. can of baby corn in their place (all I could find - my grocer only sells pickled baby corn in smaller jars). My choice of pasta was ditalini. A garnish of shaved Parmesan hit the spot. All I can say is WOW! I am so happy to have stumbled upon your recipe. Thanks ANGCHICK! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
SOOOOO, sooooo good! I've been hesitant to try this because it's similar to another recipe I like to make (Faye's salsa chicken), but the two are actually different in many ways. By far, this is the moistest, juiciest chicken I've EVER had!!! Browning it first really makes a HUGE difference. The cumin is also a nice addition but you need to add more than a pinch of it to taste it. NOTE: I was afraid that my garlic would burn to a crisp when browning my chicken, but it didn't (just watch it and adjust the heat if it starts to burn). A pasta and veggie side rounded out our delicious meal. Thanks SO much for sharing your recipe, Karen! I'm kicking myself for waiting so long to give this a try. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Balsamic-Glazed Salmon Fillets

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This is the BEST salmon I've had in a long while! From prep to to oven, dinner was on the table in just under 30 minutes (hooray!)!!! I even had time to prepare a couple of quick sides! A bottle of our favorite wine made this a very special meal. Thanks SO much for sharing your recipe Isybel! My hubs wants me to make this again next week! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Byrdhouse Blistered Cherry Tomatoes

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This was absolutely delicious!!! Aside from a few minor tweaks, this is a winner for sure! Other than subbing garlic infused olive oil for the butter called for and using heirloom tomatoes in place of cherry ones, I made no significant changes - and I'm glad I didn't. It did take a little longer than a minute for my tomatoes to "blister" but otherwise, this is perfect. Thanks for sharing, SunnyByrd! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

'Calabacitas Guisada' (Stewed Mexican Zucchini)

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Pretty good! While I prefer my zucchini crisp-tender, I enjoyed this quite a bit. It took me a couple of bites to get past the texture, but the flavor was so good I quickly adjusted. :) Since I was only serving two adults, I halved everything (except the tomatoes). I used an entire can of tomatoes, but I partially drained them. I also used the largest zucchini I could find. All in all, I enjoyed this, but do think this would be a lot better if the zucchini were sauteed rather than steamed. Thanks for sharing your recipe, EnjoyMyRecipe! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Simple But Awesome Lemon Pepper Pork Chops

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
It's a RARE occurrence when the side dish is better than the main one, but that was the case this time. :( Prep couldn't have been easier, but the chops themselves were nothing to write home about (sorry!). Although seasoned nicely, my chops were SUPER tough. I recall thinking that I should either reduce the temperature or adjust the baking time, but didn't. Now I'm wishing I had trusted my gut.... I also regret not cutting the butter / oil by at least HALF. This recipe calls for FAR too much liquid! Despite sealing my chops REALLY well (I even DOUBLE sealed them), most of the liquid oozed out. I had to place everything on a cookie sheet to collect the juices that were dripping down into my oven. My husband and I rarely ever share the same culinary point of view, but we both give this a thumbs down. Maybe this will float your boat, but it did nothing for us. Thanks anyways, Matthew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Strawberry Basil Margarita

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
SOOOO good!!! My in-laws gave me a bunch of basil and two containers of sliced strawberries. I had a plan for the basil, but I had no idea how I was going to eat all of the strawberries myself (my husband HATES berries of any kind). I remembered saving this recipe a while back and when I found it in my recipe box, I knew I had to give it a try. Because this only makes two servings, this was perfect for me! Before you snub your nose at the thought of adding basil to a fruity margarita - STOP! Although noticeable, it complements the strawberry flavor nicely. Thanks SO much for sharing your recipe, Muffinmom! Being the margarita fanatic that I am, I'm very glad to have another unique recipe to add to my "keeper" file! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Tacos De Matamoros

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
SO good! My hubs requested tacos for dinner tonight. I remembered stumbling upon this recipe a couple of week's ago, thinking the preparation method seemed unique and wanting to give it a try. I'm so glad I did! These were the tastiest (albeit basic) tacos I've made in a long while! Queso asadero, tomato, onion and a dash of taco sauce made these extra yummy. Mexican rice and frijoles rounded out our casual meal. Thanks SO much for sharing your recipe, Rhonda! You made taco night extra special. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Grilled Sausage with Potatoes and Green Beans

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
YUM! My MIL recently gave me a package of kielbasa that I couldn't decide what to do with. This recipe came up in my search results, so I decided to give it a try. I am SOOOOO glad I did!!! It's amazing how basic ingredients can taste so darn good! If you're in a pinch and need a cheap and filling meal, this is just the ticket. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Tonya! I know I'll be turning to this often now that I am back to work again! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Slow Cooker Mock-Roast

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
This was not to our liking at all (sorry!). My hubs ate his helping, but admitted that he choked it down because he was hungry. :( I think it was the Mountain Dew soda that ruined this for us. I've made pot roasts with Coke before and think that I'll stick with that method from now on. If you like citrus-y flavored roasts, this may be the recipe for you but unfortunately it wasn't for us. Thanks anyways, Erika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States