Elgin, Illinois - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Ranch Dressing II

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Thanks for an excellent recipe. Like many other home cooks, I am increasingly reluctant to buy commercially prepared, shelf stable products because of the use of chemicals and preservatives. I'm even beginning to experiment with making my own mayo. This ranch recipe is tasty and is so easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peach Blueberry Pie

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Make sure that you are using quick-cooking tapioca. The pie is done when it bubbles through the slits in the top crust. Follow this rule rather than a strict baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I made it his exactly as the author submitted it and it was amazing! Totally making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Riverview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Restaurant-Style Buffalo Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I made the recipe exactly as the author submitted and it was really tasty! Totally making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Riverview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream Cheesy Cubed Zucchini with Lemon and Oregano

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I think this is an excellent recipe as I am always looking for ways to eat more vegetables and for easy ways to cook them. This is a very quick side dish and I think it would be good to accompany many kinds of dishes including an omelette, or chicken breast, or as an addition to a canned or dry soup. Very versatile. As others suggested, I also love the idea of trying it with a little parmesan cheese. Thank you for this quick and healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This recipe was so easy to prepare and it turned out great. I did not have any buttermilk on hand so I substituted one cup of 2% milk and added one Tablespoon of vinegar. I let that stand while I measured the other ingredients. Many reviewers have mentioned that sugar should not be added to "real" cornbread. I thought this had a nice sweetness. I did not add honey or butter when I ate it. I did not think this was overly sweet. I'm happy that I tried the recipe. And I thank Bethany for sharing her grandmother's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Annie's Fruit Salsa and Cinnamon Chips

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
While I enjoyed this, I wasn't as wowed as I hoped to be. My husband hates fruit, so I made a half batch of this for myself. Despite others warning to avoid adding sugar, I did anyways - and I'm glad I did. My fruit must have been super tart or else I'm a TOTAL sweet tooth because even with it (and 1 1/2 T peach preserves), my salsa wasn't sweet enough for my liking. My chips were also only mildly sweet. The real disappointment however, is that this doesn't keep well AT ALL. You really need to eat this in one sitting, which is why it's perfect for parties (but even then, this will start looking pretty dull the longer it sits). All said and done, this was fun to try but nothing to write home about (sorry!). Thanks anyways, Annie. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
SUPER YUM! Both my husband and I absolutely LOOOOVED these!!! Of course, I am a sucker for all things potato (mashed, baked or fried - I just can't get enough!), so I knew I'd enjoy every last bite. :) Not only were these SUPER easy to prepare, they were absolutely delicious! Other than subbing a touch of bacon grease for the butter called for (just enough to coat my potato slices), I made no changes. It took about 15-20 minutes for my potatoes to cook thru at which point I piled them in the center of my cookie sheet, slightly overlapping each slice. I covered everything with cheese, bacon and onion, turned off my oven and allowed the residual heat to do it's magic. I then drizzled our "fries" with Ranch dressing. These paired perfectly with the boneless buffalo wings we had for dinner. I felt like I was eating at Buffalo Wild Wings, but for half the cost (SLAM DUNK!). Thanks SO much for sharing your awesome recipe, Michelle! I'll be turning to this again and again for sure. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Greek Style Garlic Chicken Breast

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I would have followed the recipe exactly but 1 cup of olive oil seemed like a lot to me. Many other reviewers also suggested reducing the oil to a half cup. The only other change I made was to use the zest of the lemon that I juiced. I marinated the chicken breast for a few hours and then baked it in the oven. It smelled great while it was baking. It got done very quickly. The chicken breast was moist and flavorful. Thanks for an excellent recipe. It was very good, easy to prepare, nutritious and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Harvest Salad

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
SOOO good!!! Even my salad hating bro-in-laws loved this!!! I can't believe I almost forgot to review this wonderful salad (tisk, tisk). I made this for both Christmas Eve and Christmas day dinner. Everyone who tried this couldn't believe how tasty it was. Admittedly, I did make one significant change that I believe MADE this. I added a 1/2 lb. of crumbled bacon to each salad. Because I was making this for a special occasion, I splurged for walnut oil. A local store sells flavored balsamics and EVOO's and their roasted walnut oil is TO DIE FOR!!! Other than adding bacon, my only other (minor) changes were tossing my avocado with a little lemon juice (to prevent browning), slicing my onion VERY thin (with a mandoline) and toasting my walnuts on the stovetop rather than in the oven (personal preference). If you are looking for a delicious, company worthy salad to serve at your next gathering, look no farther. This fits the bill perfectly! Thanks for sharing your recipe, Tiffany! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Hummus III

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
YUM! This was SO good!!! This New Years, my hubs and I decided to nosh on a couple snacks in lieu of making a special dinner as we usually do. I wanted something easy to prepare and this fit the bill perfectly! Following "The Head's" tips ensured an extra delicious end result. I found that 4 T of tahini, 3 large cloves of garlic, 1/2 t cumin / salt and a pinch of cayenne were spot on. I started with 1 oz. of fresh lemon juice as per "The Head's" suggestion and ended up squeezing the other half of my lemon into my hummus (I can't say exactly how much I used - prolly somewhere between the 1/4 c. called for and Head's suggested ounce worth). I also added 1 T of EVOO (garlic infused) to my hummus and drizzled another tablespoon on top. My only other change was to remove the outer hull from my garbanzos. I find that my hummus always has a creamier texture if I do this. NOTE: I too had to add a bit of liquid to achieve a dip-like consistency. I just kept adding reserved bean liquid until I reached the consistency I desired (approximately 1/4 - 1/2 c.). Garlic Parmesan pita chips and carrot sticks were perfect dunkers for this incredible dip! I absolutely love hummus and this didn't disappoint! Thanks for sharing your recipe, RC2STEP. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

No-Cream Pasta Primavera

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Not bad. Since I already had quite a few of the veggies called for handy, I decided to give this a try. While I enjoyed this, my husband didn't. Having said this, I do think this would have been MUCH better without the balsamic (and I even used a good quality one). The balsamic added a sweetness that just doesn't belong, IMHO. It also turned my pasta an ugly brownish color, so much so that my hubs asked if it was the whole grain variety.... Other than cutting back on the balsamic (or omitting altogether), my only other suggestion is to sub crumbled feta or goat cheese for grated Romano. Either would add an awesome flavor punch and pair beautifully with the bounty of earthy roasted veggies. All in all, this was good, but not exactly what I was expecting or hoping for. If for nothing else, I at least got a few day's worth of veggies in my diet. :) Thanks Amanda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Megan's Amazing Spaghetti and Meatballs

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I hate to be Debbie Downer, but neither my hubs or I liked this at all (sorry!). For one, this sauce is WAAAAY too thick! My grocer doesn't sell 16 oz. cans of crushed tomatoes but it's a good thing they don't. Even after adding an entire 28 oz. can of tomatoes, my sauce was super thick, almost a tomato paste consistency. Another problem I had with this recipe was partly my fault. Setting my burner to medium burned my meatballs! Admittedly, I should have stirred every now and then, especially since I simmered everything in my Dutch oven (which isn't non-stick). Everyone's stovetop is different and apparently mine runs hot. I never thought I'd say this, but Jeremy's Italian Spaghetti Sauce & Meatballs blows this out of the water. Maybe this will float your boat, but it didn't do anything for us. Thanks anyways, Megan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Thai Chicken with Basil Stir Fry

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I'm sorry, but neither my hubs or I liked this at all. Not only did this taste NOTHING like our local Thai restaurant's chicken basil dish, it was SUPER bland to boot. Thai basil / ginger might have perked this up a bit, but to be quite honest, this dish simply lacks oomph and authenticity. For starters, I've never had Thai basil chicken with anything other than ground chicken. Secondly, the sauce in traditional basil chicken is SPICY! This sauce was tangy (from the addition of rice wine vinegar) and very mild. Lastly, restaurant-quality basil chicken is made with FRESH veggies (chiles, bell pepper, onion, mushrooms, etc.) and WHOLE basil leaves which wilt as they cook (like spinach) and infuse the sauce with amazing flavor. Maybe this will float your boat, but it did absolutely nothing for us. Thanks anyways, Gabrielle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Eggnog Thumbprints

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
WOW! What a great cookie!!! I've been wanting to make these for a long time, but some of the negative reviews have scared me away. A former co-worker of mine bakes hundreds of holiday cookies every year and posts her creations on FB. I was pleasantly surprised to see that she made this EXACT eggnog thumbprint recipe and knew right away that I'd have to give it a try! If you follow SHOLLISMD's directions closely, these turn out perfectly. Using my small PC scoop, I was able to make just shy of 4 dozen bite-sized cookies. My pastry tool kit made piping the rum filling SO easy! Depending on your oven, these might take the full 11 minutes to bake (or longer), but mine were spot on at the 10 minute mark.... If you're looking for a unique cookie to celebrate the season, look no farther.... These are superb! Happy baking everyone!!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
This was excellent! I only give 4 because of personal preference changes. It only took 3.5 hours on high in the slow cooker. I also prefer homemade dumplings. I used a polish dumpling recipe, transferred the broth to the stove, put it on a simmer and cooked the dumplings for about 15 minutes. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 12katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Byron, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cranberry Chutney I

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I think this recipe has too much vinegar. I made it as directed. It's probably not fair to compare this to a typical cranberry sauce which is often very sweet. I like the suggestion of one cook who thought that using orange juice instead of water would be a good idea. I think I'll like this better on a turkey sandwich. So, I'm going to keep an open mind about it and probably cut back on the vinegar next time I make it. The spices are very nice. I would not change them at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

D's Taco Pizza

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Pretty good! While I prefer a more traditional pizza, this was a fun change of pace nonetheless. My husband especially enjoyed dipping his tortilla chips in the remaining taco sauce. :) I think I would have liked this much better had my crust crisped up. Despite baking my Boboli crust directly on my oven rack, it was pretty soggy. I'll try a different crust next time or bake this as a deep dish pizza using frozen bread dough instead (this seems to crisp up better, IMHO). All in all, this was a great compromise between my husband's request for tacos and my taste for pizza. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Daisy! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Oh. My. Goodness. This was SOOOOOO good!!! I admit, after reading all of the reviews I wasn't sure this was going to be anything special. I even thought of trying a different recipe altogether - but I'm really glad I didn't! This is absolutely superb AS WRITTEN!!! DO NOT be tempted to make any changes (at least initially). This soup is not bland in the least. Top your soup with cheese, some fresh cilantro / scallion and crushed tortilla chips (or strips) and voila! - a satisfying, warming bowl of awesome deliciousness! Thanks SO much for sharing your recipe, Doug! I will be making this often, subbing chicken when turkey is not an option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

No Bake Pumpkin Pie I

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Oh yum! While I prefer baked pumpkin pie, this sure was delicious! My only gripe is that this was not as smooth as it would have been if it were baked. I think I'll process my puree in a blender or food processor to ensure it is velvety smooth next time. I will also use a standard pie shell instead of a graham cracker one (just my personal preference). All in all, this wasn't bad considering the Thanksgiving dessert I was planning to serve was a total flop. :) Thanks for sharing your recipe, Cathy! I'm glad I gave this a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States