Elgin, Illinois - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Simple Macaroni and Cheese

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
I was starving and discovered that I had just enough milk, cheddar cheese, butter, and elbow macaroni at home. So, I thought I should be able to make a quick mac and cheese. I found this recipe and was delighted that it was so easy and I thought the result was great. It hit the spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheddar Ranch Dip

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
YUM! Made this for a Fourth of July BBQ / cookout and was very pleased with the results!!! I pretty much followed this to the letter with a few exceptions. Instead of using bacon bits, I fried up 4 pieces of bacon. I also used lite sour cream and added a couple sliced green onions (some to my dip and the rest as garnish). I prepped this the night prior to allow all of the yummy flavors to blend. To offset the not-so-good-for-you BBQ fare on the menu, I served this with a variety of fresh veggies - baby carrots, radish, cucumber, snap peas, grape tomatoes and orange bell pepper. I bet this would be great with chips tho.... All I can say is WOW! Thanks for sharing your simple, tasty recipe RONNAS. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Firecracker Grilled Alaska Salmon

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I'm not sure why my reviews are being edited, especially considering my opinions are always fair and non judgmental. Some recipes are better than others, simple as that. So, here's my second attempt at writing an honest review. This was just so-so for me. I much prefer Aytom's Slammin' Salmon. The marinade isn't thick (like this one) and can therefore be used as a dressing as well. When served atop a bed of mixed greens, Aytom's salmon makes for a nice, light dinner. I guess I'm also not a fan of wild salmon. I know it is the "king" of all salmon and is favored for it's rich flavor, but it's just not for me. I felt the marinade didn't have a chance to shine because each bite was overwhelmingly fishy. As suggested, I served this with a side of rice and a stir-fry medley of baby corn, shitake mushrooms and snow peas. Everything complemented each other nicely, but was just not to my liking. I may make this again, but will use a milder salmon when I do. Thanks anyways, Christine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Blue Cheese and Bacon Potato Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Again, I'm not sure why my reviews are being edited considering my opinions are always fair and non judgmental. You win some, you lose some. Every reviewer should have the opportunity to write a fair, unbiased review and likewise, cooks should use their best judgment and understand that not every recipe will be a winner for everyone. So, here's my second attempt at writing an honest review. I thought this was just OK. My in-laws and (potato salad hating) hubby liked this, so maybe it's just me??? I guess I prefer a slightly sweet potato salad, or at least a less tangy one. The mustard vinaigrette was just a little overkill for me - and ditto for the blue cheese (and I LOVE the stuff!). All in all, this was decent, but nothing to write home about. Thanks anyways, Krissy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Pretty good! Considering I am the only one who cares for beans in my family, I am excluding my hubby's opinion from my review. While I thought these were tasty, the cook time was a bit off for me. I even soaked my (fresh, brand new) beans overnight - not only to ensure they'd cook in the suggested 2 hour time frame, but also to clean them of any debris and remove any indigestible sugars that contribute to flatulence. I ended up cooking my beans for almost 2 /12 - 3 hours. I had to constantly juggle the heat setting on my stove because my beans were barely simmering on medium-low but bubbling away on medium. I was concerned that all of the liquid would quickly evaporate, even tho I was checking the pot every 10 minutes (and I had to add almost 2 cups water at that). Since I didn't want to be chained to the stove all afternoon, I guess the extra hour had to be the compromise. Cooking hiccup aside, these were mighty tasty and complemented my Tex-Mex pulled pork sandwich nicely. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Terry! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Old English Cream Pie Filling

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I was skeptical of making this as I have made many pastry or vanilla creams and this one seemed to simple-how could it be good, right? It is delicious! I will even use this in my pastry tarts. Look no further for a simple and delicious vanilla cream?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Watertown, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I'm not sure why my reviews are being edited considering my opinions are always fair and non judgmental. Some recipes are hands down winners and some just aren't. Opinions are just that. So, here's my second attempt at writing an honest review. I did not care for this at ALL. For one, this was VERY tangy! There was barely any sweetness to balance the tangy-tart vinegar, mustard and lemon flavors. Secondly, this had an oddly spicy aftertaste (from the Sriracha) that just didn't belong, IMHO. I rarely ever toss good food, but this time I couldn't resist. Maybe this will float your boat, but it did absolutely nothing for me. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Caprese Burger

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I'm not sure why my reviews are being edited considering my opinions are always fair and non judgmental. Some recipes are hands down winners and some aren't. So, here's my second attempt at writing an honest review. Neither my hubs or I were all that impressed with these burgers. The concept is GREAT, but the end result is lacking. Our burgers shrunk to tiny little patties, but the real deal breaker was how overcooked these were. My hubby suggested that we use chuck or round next time (at minimum 80% lean beef), and I have to agree. All said and done, I absolutely am in love with your idea and think this has real star potential, but I'll definitely make a few changes to ensure a better outcome next time. Thanks for sharing your unique recipe, Sarah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Awesome Pasta Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Awesome is right! What a fantastic salad!!! I made this for our Father's Day cookout with my in-laws / bro-in-laws and everyone RAVED and helped themselves to seconds!!! Since I was feeding mostly men (my MIL and I were the only females in the bunch), I wanted something hearty to serve alongside our grilled sausages and brats. Because I was feeding a small crowd, I halved this. I knew I hit the jackpot when my father-in-law asked that I make this the "go-to" salad for every get-together from now on! My pasta salad hating hubby likened this to an Italian sub and I have to agree. Having said this, I do think my personal changes made this extra tasty. Since I am not a fan of olives, I replaced them with thinly sliced (partially seeded) peperoncini peppers, about 1/2 of a 16 oz. jar's worth. I also added about 1/2 of a finely diced red onion and 1/4 c. of fresh grated Parm cheese. I used Olive Garden's signature Italian dressing (the full 8 oz. called for - half right after I tossed everything together and the other half right before serving) and really enjoyed it in this. All I can say is WOW! Totally worthy of any summer BBQ and 100% man approved. Thanks for sharing, Irlandes! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

French Onion Dip From Scratch

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
YUM! I've been wanting to make this for some time and am SOOOOOOO glad I finally did!!! Taking time to caramelize the onions REALLY makes a huge difference and is what sets this dip apart from store-bought ones. Admittedly, I did make a few changes that I think made this even better (I'm not sure I would have liked this as much had I not done so...). As others recommended, I decreased the mayo by half and upped the sour cream to 1 1/2 cups worth. I also added a few dashes of Worcestershire sauce / pinch of sugar to my onions as they cooked (and I cooked them in bacon fat, not EVOO) and a couple of sliced green onions to my finished dip, mainly for color. My final change was to up the amount of onions to 2 cups total - but I would add even more next time. NOTE: It took about 25 minutes for my onions to caramelize, but I had to turn my burner to the lowest setting the final 10 minutes to prevent them from scorching. Overall, a VERY good, basic dip that the man in my life loves. Booyah! Thanks for sharing, CCUMMINS. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I enjoyed the pancake. I would call this a hearty pancake. It does puff up very high in the pan. I thought the batter was too thick so I added a little more milk so that it would be pourable. Using a 1/4 cup measure produces a pancake with a 5 inch diameter. The flavor is good. I used fresh blueberries because that's what I had at home. I just sprinkled a few onto each pancake as they cooked. I would make this recipe again. It's certainly way better than any packaged mixes. And of course, you won't miss the chemicals and preservatives. Fresh and homemade is always best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberries and Cream Trifle

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
FANTASTIC!!! I was craving a light dessert that screamed summer and this was it! This was just sweet enough and didn't leave me or my dinner guests feeling heavy afterwards (as most desserts do). While I enjoyed this, I do prefer TABKAT's strawberry angel food dessert a *tad* better - but only because I like that the strawberries in hers are coated with yummy glaze. :) NOTE: To help control portion sizes and for a fancier presentation, I made individual trifles. I layered all ingredients in stemless wine glasses and garnished with a sprig of fresh basil (too cute!). I also used all fat-free ingredients and no one could tell the difference. I will DEFINITELY be adding this to my "keeper" file for sure. Thanks for sharing your yummy recipe, Michellelauren! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Grilled Shrimp Caprese

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
This was alright. The shrimp were TO DIE FOR and hands down the best part of this meal. The pasta however, left much to be desired. It did nothing to complement the shrimp and as others have warned, is super thick with the mozzarella added. I think the sauce would have been FAR better without the mozzarella. Even with half of it, my sauce was thick and stringy and I ended up with a big clump of noodles. :( All said and done, this was good but not worth the extra calories / carbs. Rice or lightly dressed pasta and a green veggie would complement the shrimp nicely - and that's how I'll serve this from now on. Thanks for sharing, Gretchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Taqueria Style Tacos - Carne Asada

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Not bad! I've had my eye on this recipe for a while, but the seemingly lengthy prep involved kept me at bay. To my pleasant surprise, I discovered that this comes together rather quickly if you make this in steps (so don't let the marinating, toasting, blending and chopping scare you away!). Although tasty, I really do wish I would have used flap or skirt steak tho.... I was hoping for a taco similar to my local taqueria's beef tacos, but this was only slightly like theirs. HOWEVER, leftover meat was the BEST part of this recipe (and was the makings of SUPER yummy empanadas)!!! While I'm not sure I'd make these tacos again, the meat / marinade is a winner in my book. Thanks for sharing, STANICKS. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Nacho Cheese Sauce

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Pretty good! While I don't think this tasted *exactly* like the nacho sauce at the movie theater or ballpark, this was yummy nonetheless. Admittedly, I did lighten this up a bit (fat-free milk, 2% cheese) so that is likely the reason my sauce wasn't as tasty as it could have been. Either go all out or go home on this one. Make this with the GOOD stuff. It's that simple. :) Thanks for sharing your recipe, Mary Ann. You made nacho night extra special!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Four Egg Yellow Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
This is a truly excellent cake, if you like yellow cake. I only use box cake mixes as a last resort. I followed the directions on this recipe exactly and got beautiful results. It is not overly sweet. I agree with another reviewer, that it is great to eat without frosting. This will be my only yellow cake mix forever. I was extremely impressed with the results even though I don't really like using shortening in a cake batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
YUM! My mom asked me to make carrot cake for her Bday. I wanted to make a completely from scratch cake similar to my grandmother's recipe and finally decided upon this one because of it's similarity to hers. While I thought this was VERY good, I do think I'll cut back on the carrots, fruit and nuts next time. I will also sub chopped pecans for walnuts (since I was making this to share, I went with the traditional walnut but actually prefer the taste of pecans). I really wanted to taste the cake itself, but there was just too much going on with each mouthful. Cutting the carrots, coconut and nuts by half and the raisins to a quarter cup would be much more to my liking. As I did this time, I'll continue to add 1/2 t ground nutmeg and 1/4 t ground cloves (I felt this needed a little more than just cinnamon). Since I do not own the pan size called for, I baked this in a 9 x 13 in. baking dish and reduced the total baking time to 45 minutes which worked great for me. All in all, this was quite tasty, especially when frosted with cream cheese frosting and sprinkled with toasted coconut! Too bad my carrot cake-hating husband missed out.... My parents and I thought this was the BOMB. :) Thanks for sharing your granddaddy's famous recipe, Brian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Fish Tacos Ultimo

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Fantastic! Being that there are only two of us, I scaled this accordingly (1/2 lb. tilapia / 1 filet). With all the yummy fixins', my hubs and I were completely satisfied. The fish itself is VERY tasty and could EASILY stand on its own (it's THAT good). The sauce was a bit tangy for me tho.... I think I might sub sour cream for yogurt next time - or simply reduce the lime a bit. Because I am watching my sodium intake, I served our tacos with sliced cucumber and jicama that we dipped in guacamole. This made for a fantastic, light meal on this beautiful Midwest spring day. :) Kudos to rev'd up chef for such awesome take on the ordinary fish taco. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Amy's Barbecue Chicken Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Tasty! My hubby grumbled a bit (he's not a fan of salads), but I really enjoyed this. :) I absolutely LOVE the idea of subbing French's fried onions for the tortilla strips found in the famous chain's salad! I scaled this in half to feed two HUNGRY adults, and to make this a little more authentic, I made a few changes. To start, I subbed Iceberg / Romaine lettuce (bagged mix), added some julienned jicama and a generous handful of shredded Monterey-Jack cheese and cut way back on the cilantro (maybe 3 T total). I seasoned my chicken with Montreal BBQ rub and had my hubby baste it with a little BBQ sauce while he grilled it. When it was time to eat, I plated my salad a little differently (again, to mimic CPK's salad). I tossed my lettuce, beans, corn, jicama, cheese and a little dressing together (just enough dressing to lightly coat everything), then plated it. I surrounded each salad with chopped tomato and avocado and garnished with fried onions and chicken. I finished it all of with a drizzle of BBQ sauce and leftover dressing. To change things up next time, I think I'll sub tortilla strips for the fried onions and just add a chopped green onion to my salad. All in all, this rocked my taste buds and totally satisfied my craving. Thanks for sharing your recipe, AMYEH! This was PHENOMENOL!!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Lil' Devils

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I did not care for these at all. I have a HUGE sweet tooth and am fond of just about any chocolate-PB combination - EXCEPT for this one. :( The PB / marshmallow fluff mixture was really good on its own (I literally licked my bowl and spatula clean!), but when combined with the cake mix, it was purely sugar overkill. The bars had a gritty texture, most likely from the cake mix. The PB taste was also barely noticeable even tho I added 1/4 cup more than called for. My bars crumbled a bit (which was a nuisance), but the real deal breaker for me was how sweet these were. Maybe these will float your boat, but they didn't do anything for me. Thanks anyways, Susan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States