Dekalb - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Best Baked French Fries

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
This is a recipe that should be kept on the side for just about any easy main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Apple Bundt Cake

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Added 1c apples as recommended. More spice helps too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Photo by Brandy

Angel Food Cupcakes

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I tried something a little different with this recipe. Instead of water, I added pink moscato. The cupcakes didn't rise as well as I would have liked, but it was my first time making angel food ever. I filled the cupcakes with a strawberry sauce and topped with a vanilla mouse icing. They turned out wonderful! This is a great basic recipe that you can improvise on and make it your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Added celery, carrots, thickened it a little bit with plan to make Irish soda bread to go with it. Green is Irish right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Sugar Cookie Frosting

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I never wanto to buy frosting. It is easy to make, use for decorating what you bake. This is a simple recipe that will work everytime. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Lemon Pie Bars

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Very good and easy to make; the original cookie bar recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Easy Lemon Cookies

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Great; easy to make, bake and I used lemon juice and zest to substitute for lemon extract
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Lemon Curd

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Perfect and used the microwave as recommended. That was easy, less clean up. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Seven Layer Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
This is something good to have in the refridgerator ready to go for a light dinner and I substitute with what is on hand. The dressing for this is thick and I would sub mayo with other
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Yummy Garlic Croutons

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
This is q great idea on what to do with leftover bread. If I make bread pudding with it again, I will gain ten lbs. Salad with croutons is much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Grandma VanDoren's White Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I used an antique bread bucket mixer to do the kneading and THAT is a method for making bread 100 years ago. It worked out great. My Mom used to make 6 loaves at a time and we lost her recipe. I was glad to find another nice antique recipe. Making bread should be an inheritance of Grama's talent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Cream of Broccoli Cheese Soup I

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
I used this recipe to used leftover mac n cheese (homemade) and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Red Beans and Rice Burrito

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
This is my recipe and most readers used more than 1/4 cup red beans and rice on each tortilla.It will also vary if using larger tortillas.Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marie bond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Crisp IV

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
It was a great recipe. I doubled the amount of apples and reduced the crisp, to make it a little less sugar/caloric and it still is great with vanilla ice cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
It is the best according to those who have tried it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

A Nice Slow-Cooked Pork

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
While some people criticized this recipe for being too watery, there is an easy fix for this: Make a gravy! Ladle the excess liquid into a saucepan. Thicken with cornstarch or flour until it reaches a creamy consistency. Add salt and pepper to taste. I even sliced up a few mushrooms from the crock and threw em in there. It is hands down the most delicious gravy I have ever tasted! You can pour desired amount onto the dish when it's done. It makes a huge batch so save it to pour over mashed potatoes another night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanna Rosinski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

Blueberry Pie

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
perfection
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Easy to make and I followed recommendations. I used frozen bluebberries and it worked out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
This is a great recipe and I used some of the variations recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Banana Crumb Muffins

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
7500 voted this as an ecellent recipe and it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States