Dekalb - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Tamra's Microwave Tilapia

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Substituted dill for tarragon and left out the vinegar and it still is quick to make dinner in 5 minutes. Thanks Tamra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Who doesnt like brownies or chocolate?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Classic Goulash

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Its pretty basic; I used cilantro spiced diced tomatoes; did not add italian spice or soy sauce, instead throw into it what you have, red / green pepper, celery, carrot etc and splash with Worstershire. Creative in the kitchen depends upon what you have on hand and in mind. Put Merlot next to it, and who will complain?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Lemon Curd

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I make this often to substitute jam etc on bread. Using microwave as others had, makes it even simpler. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I used additional spices (nutmeg, ginger) and 1 1/2 raisins. Its an excellent recipe and when so many (3000+) like anything on this website, its always good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Photo by Leanna Rosinski

Jalapeno Poppers of Champions

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
This recipe was good. I used Anaheim peppers instead of jalapenos because sometimes jalapenos are too spicy for me. I added one cup of shredded monterrey jack cheese to the cream cheese. I also used real bacon. For some crunch I crushed up some homemade tortilla chips and coated the cream cheese side of the peppers before wrapping them in bacon. I pan-fried them before putting them in the oven to get em crispy and render off some of the fat. They were good, but I will probably tweak the recipe some more next time to add more flavor. Great starter recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanna Rosinski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

Salmon Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
This was ok. After making it, I thought it needed more yogurt so I about doubled it. Although I love salmon, I still think this recipe needed something sweet and acidic to cut through the fishiness (especially since it's canned salmon) and add more flavor. Next time I think I will add sliced grapes, diced onions and lemon juice. Decent base recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanna Rosinski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

Sweet-n-Sour Kielbasa

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
Instead of a big dinner at Christmas, because there are sooo many of us we do appetizers! This was very good! I think when I make it again I will cut back on the red pepper flakes to please everyone's taste. The kids and the elderly thought it a bit spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellygirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shabbona, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

Boston Brown Bread III

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
This is a good thing to bake. Thanks for sharing this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
This is easy to make and its nice to read other reviews to know how to make raisinkane's taco spice. Spice is enough to drive away a cold but not too much to make something "too hot". Temp is just right. I dont have a slow cooker so made it on the stove, easily. Just let it simmer for a couple of hours. It works. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Snickerdoodles I

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
I refridgerated them for an hour before rolling them up and baking them. All the advise is helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Bean Relish

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
If you like k.idney beans, know they are healthy, this is a good side to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Classic Bran Muffins

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
This can be for dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Sweet and Chunky Tomato Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Sugar Cookie Icing

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Perfect for a Chicago style pizza, quicker, better, less expensive AND looks better than other ones I've made at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Taco Stew

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
This is a great recipe to modify having the same old beef stew. I used stew meat; added tomatoe soup as noted, a splash of worsteshire and added some cheese (a litte) to it. I made the ranch beans and should have replaced them with kidney beans like others. Its good and if you like it to blast you with hot spice follow the other advise; top with salsa; hot sauce (on the side) and those who like it milder top with cheese, sour cream, guacamole etc. Its so good to see other reviewer recommendations. It always makes the best better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Photo by Leanna Rosinski

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Fantastic recipe! I made as directed, except I sauteed the spinach in 1/2 TBSP salted butter, and omitted the bacon (didn't have a good sale at the store and I don't particularly care for bacon in my entrees). The chicken was terrifically moist and the pepperjack gave it a nice kick. It's a great base recipe - I will definitely add my own tweaks next time I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanna Rosinski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
These were easy to make, bake and take over to church to give to visitors. I cut them out with a heart shaped cookie cutter to say "we welcome you here and appreciate you". Perfect gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States