Dekalb - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Donut Muffins

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
This is super easy. Today is National Doughnut Day and this was the gift to give (less calories just as good)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Carrot and Ginger Soup

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Very nice soup. I followed advice of others, adding sour cream to cream soup, chicken broth white pepper. Have this with some home made bread. There is no regret to make something different on a cold evening
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Tamra's Microwave Tilapia

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Substituted dill for tarragon and left out the vinegar and it still is quick to make dinner in 5 minutes. Thanks Tamra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Who doesnt like brownies or chocolate?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Classic Goulash

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Its pretty basic; I used cilantro spiced diced tomatoes; did not add italian spice or soy sauce, instead throw into it what you have, red / green pepper, celery, carrot etc and splash with Worstershire. Creative in the kitchen depends upon what you have on hand and in mind. Put Merlot next to it, and who will complain?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Lemon Curd

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I make this often to substitute jam etc on bread. Using microwave as others had, makes it even simpler. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I used additional spices (nutmeg, ginger) and 1 1/2 raisins. Its an excellent recipe and when so many (3000+) like anything on this website, its always good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Photo by Leanna Rosinski

Jalapeno Poppers of Champions

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
This recipe was good. I used Anaheim peppers instead of jalapenos because sometimes jalapenos are too spicy for me. I added one cup of shredded monterrey jack cheese to the cream cheese. I also used real bacon. For some crunch I crushed up some homemade tortilla chips and coated the cream cheese side of the peppers before wrapping them in bacon. I pan-fried them before putting them in the oven to get em crispy and render off some of the fat. They were good, but I will probably tweak the recipe some more next time to add more flavor. Great starter recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanna Rosinski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

Salmon Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
This was ok. After making it, I thought it needed more yogurt so I about doubled it. Although I love salmon, I still think this recipe needed something sweet and acidic to cut through the fishiness (especially since it's canned salmon) and add more flavor. Next time I think I will add sliced grapes, diced onions and lemon juice. Decent base recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanna Rosinski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

Sweet-n-Sour Kielbasa

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
Instead of a big dinner at Christmas, because there are sooo many of us we do appetizers! This was very good! I think when I make it again I will cut back on the red pepper flakes to please everyone's taste. The kids and the elderly thought it a bit spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellygirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shabbona, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

Boston Brown Bread III

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
This is a good thing to bake. Thanks for sharing this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
This is easy to make and its nice to read other reviews to know how to make raisinkane's taco spice. Spice is enough to drive away a cold but not too much to make something "too hot". Temp is just right. I dont have a slow cooker so made it on the stove, easily. Just let it simmer for a couple of hours. It works. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Snickerdoodles I

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
I refridgerated them for an hour before rolling them up and baking them. All the advise is helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Bean Relish

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
If you like k.idney beans, know they are healthy, this is a good side to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Classic Bran Muffins

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
This can be for dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Sweet and Chunky Tomato Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Sugar Cookie Icing

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Perfect for a Chicago style pizza, quicker, better, less expensive AND looks better than other ones I've made at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Taco Stew

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
This is a great recipe to modify having the same old beef stew. I used stew meat; added tomatoe soup as noted, a splash of worsteshire and added some cheese (a litte) to it. I made the ranch beans and should have replaced them with kidney beans like others. Its good and if you like it to blast you with hot spice follow the other advise; top with salsa; hot sauce (on the side) and those who like it milder top with cheese, sour cream, guacamole etc. Its so good to see other reviewer recommendations. It always makes the best better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States